We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mae Hong Son has more to offer”
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Mae Hong Son
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband and I went to Mae Hong Son for a month long volunteer position. We first chose Panorama Hotel based on the reviews. We were not at all impressed. The staff was not very helpful or friendly- most didn't speak any English and given how many people speak English in Mae Hong Son, this was a little surprising. Our room was dirty and shabby. You are charged extra to use WiFi in your room, though it is free down in the dark and uncomfortable lobby. My husband and I felt, in short, that the quality did not match the cost. The next day we moved to Johnnie Guesthouse and, while the amenities were very basic, were much happier. There are many other hotels and hostels in the area that have a much better value and a much better location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LullabellsCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panorama_MHS, Manager at Panorama Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

After I read your review, I searched for details of a couple from Vietnam in the hotel reservation system starting from last month and couldn't find the information. According to your review, I’m not sure if you are the REAL customer of the hotel or not or you may be our guest very long time ago. However, I will response your review issues.

1. Panorama Hotel is a family-owned business. Our staff’s command of English is quite limited. They can communicate only about rooms, amenities, and popular tourist attractions. In case that the staffs can’t answer inquiries, they will advise guests to walk to tourist information center, which is less than 5 mins from the hotel.

2. The WIFI in a room is the wide area WIFI service by the third party. However, their service was stopped by the company about 2 years ago. We NEVER charge for the WIFI in the room because good WIFI signal only available in the lobby area and in front of the hotel.

3. Prices of hotels in Mae Hong Son have 2 rates. Winter time (high season) is full price; Summer and Rainy season are promotion price. As for the Panorama Hotel, guests are always taken to see variety of rooms to choose before their check-in. Guests can make a decision whether to stay with us or not.

4. In case of any problem with the room, if you tell our staff, they will definitely solve your problem shortly. We also offer a new room or even upgrade room type.

I hope my response to your review is clear enough for everyone. Guests can leave messages to the hotel manager for further assistance. We will promptly take action after getting your message.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 42 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is hotel where you feel Thai.
Location is best, nearby - famous Crossroads bar, 3 minites walking - beatuful lake.

Rooms are clean and cosy. But the brilliant is management and staff. They can help you with all questions and problems.
Thank them very match.

Room Tip: Rooms with twin beds bigger than with king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I'm a regular visitor to Mae Hong Son, and always find myself here at Panorama Hotel. The hotel is situated right in the city center with many options of transportation. Standard room or deluxe are always my choice as the rooms are well-kept. Of course, you couldn't ask excellent condition from economy rooms, right?

The owners are friendly and very sincere, they are always there to help. Excellent family business style.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vasa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

MaeHongSon is (luckily) not yet a big tourist hotspot, so hotels are still mainly locally owned and run. Many guesthouses can be found here as well. Plenty of choice and at good rates.

Second time in a year I booked a room in this hotel. It has a nice atmosphere, especially the ground floor: lot of wood, including a beautiful shiny, squeeky floor and wooden stairs. And I like the staff. Kind, helpful and courteous.

This hotel has 3 floors, but you will not find an elevator to take you up or down: you will have to carry your own weight :-), For the luggage however they have a small elevator, so you will not have to drag that up or down the stairs. Otherwise the helpful staff will happily carry your bags to and from your room.

The rooms are good in size. Soberly furnished, nothing fancy. Kingsize bed, desk, chair, fridge, airconditioning. The rooms also have a recessed balcony with a small table and 2 chairs. Bathroom has shower with hot water, a washbasin and a toilet.
Wifi is available.

Right across from the hotel you can rent motorbikes allowing you to discover Mae Hong Son and surroundings.

When you arrive by bus at the central bus station then the hotel will be happy to pick you up if you give them advance notice. Of course they will also take you there too if you leave Mae Hong Son by bus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rob_leuftink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Returning from an overnight trek, I was REALLY looking forward to a hot shower. Surely this is one of the basic amenities any hotel should provide, but not here... I could just as well as have gone to the river and taken a cold bath instead. The bathroom was quite worn down, the sink was leaking and the workmanship on the faucet was very shoddy -- the whole faucet turned whenever you wanted to turn it on.

Mae Hong Son is a beautiful place and with a name like "Panorama" I was looking forward to a good view of the amazing scenery all around. Unfortunately that was also not to be... just a view of some dull buildings next door. If you stay in a place like Mae Hong Son, it's inexcusable not to have a good view of the beautiful landscape all around! The room itself was dark and matched the mood of cold shower... it could do with a few more lightbulbs...

The staff are also dishonest in how they market this hotel. On Agoda, they specify there is complimentary Wifi inside the rooms. This (and a hot shower) were among the main reasons I booked the hotel as I wanted to keep in touch with friends and family... but in fact there is no Internet in the rooms. You have to go to the lobby to access the Wifi and although complimentary, not nearly the same as having it inside the rooms.

Additionally, I had a confirmed quote from the hotel manager telling me the rate for an Economy room would be Thb 500 but when I got there, I was informed the price was now suddently Thb 600 due to the "holidays". No matter that I had a quote in writing (given 3 days prior) for the current date of stay... there had been a sudden price increase. If I hadn't wanted a hot shower so badly I would have gone elsewhere... only to check in and discover there was no hot shower.

Fortunately I only stayed one night; will definitely stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank statdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panorama_MHS, Manager at Panorama Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Firstly, we would like to sorry that the unconsistent price of $3 different. This is our internal communication mistake and may cause from the limitation of staff's command of English. We'll improve this.
According to the mentioned problems, there are many points to be cleared:

1. There are 3 types of rooms available which are Deluxe, Standard, and Economy. Normally, before registering, guests are led to see rooms before making decision. In this case economy room was chosen by the guest.

2. As for the faucet and hot shower problem, generally, if guest inform our staff about the problem, according to our standard operating procedure: first action is to fix it immediately; but if it's unable to fix, we will offer a new room; and in case that all rooms are occupied, refund will be issued. Many times that the hot shower problem is easily handled by turning on a circuit breaker.

3. As advertised on Agoda that we have WIFI, this is true for most parts of our hotel. We have 4 buildings; the economy building is the farthest. The WIFI signal can be too low to work in some rooms.

Please note that generally, Thai people are friendly. If you need anything or have any comments, please let our staffs know. We'll try our best to make you satisfy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I've spent a week in this hotel. It is well located in the center of town. Friendly stuff and got free pick-up from airport. The price per night was 700 Baht, was supposed to include breakfast. The first night i've got a VIP (so i was told it is) room facing the main road. I couldn't sleep at night due the the extensive noise. I asked to move to a back side room. The beds are very comfy and this time is was much more quiet. From my windows I saw the back side of the temple. The entire building is very old, the lobby is very dark. The furniture in the room are old and some broken. The bath tub saw better days. The entire cleanliness is very mediocre. The curtain is the bath tub was filthy (!!!). Breakfast that was offered me was so dull (2 fried eggs, 2 toasts and a cup of tea), so i didn't bother having it. Bottom line - overpriced and will never come again to this hotel. There are so many better guest houses in town for the same price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dorage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panorama_MHS, Manager at Panorama Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

Thank you for your advices. We will consider all comments to improve our quality and services.

In a hotel business, we need to refurbish the hotel constantly. So, your recommendations will be considered.

You may forgot to mention about good things besides the location because you were a walk-in tourist and you mentioned that there are so many better guest houses in town for the same price, but you still stayed in the hotel for a week. If you really didn't appreciated I think you would have moved out from the first day.

Please note that generally, Thai people are always friendly. If you need anything or have any comments, simply tell our staffs. Everything can be done immediately to solve your problems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: เลืดห้องชั้น 2-3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anuchart2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mae Hong Son hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
B2 Mae Hong Son Premier Hotel
#6 of 20 in Mae Hong Son
5 reviews
1.7 mi away
Imperial Mae Hong Son Resort
Imperial Mae Hong Son Resort
#1 of 20 in Mae Hong Son
187 reviews
12.4 mi away
Golden Pai & Suite Resort
Golden Pai & Suite Resort
#4 of 20 in Mae Hong Son
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baiyoke Chalet Hotel
Baiyoke Chalet Hotel
#11 of 20 in Mae Hong Son
53 reviews
0 mi away
Saksuay Klangdoi Resort
Saksuay Klangdoi Resort
#8 of 20 in Mae Hong Son
1 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gims Resort
Gims Resort
#2 of 20 in Mae Hong Son
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Address: 51 Khunlumprapas Rd. | (Center of the town), Mae Hong Son 58000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Mae Hong Son
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Mae Hong Son
Price Range: $17 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Panorama Hotel is located in the center of Mae Hong Son, close to the main town intersection. The great location makes it easy to explore all the sights and attractions of this quaint and dreamy town. In fact, Wat (temple) Hua Wiang is directly behind the hotel and can be accessed through the back entrance. Panorama is very close to the traditional market, walking street, and Jong Kham lake/park. Its only 1 km to the airport, and 1.5 Km to the bus station. Parking space is available for those arriving on motorbikes or in cars. You can easily get on or off the Chiangmai-Pai-Maehongson mini van in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing