We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$17
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/21
Priceline
$15
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/21
Travelocity$17
CheapTickets$17
Orbitz.com$17
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
10
11
12
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
10
11
12
9
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 46 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

MaeHongSon is (luckily) not yet a big tourist hotspot, so hotels are still mainly locally owned and run. Many guesthouses can be found here as well. Plenty of choice and at good rates.

Second time in a year I booked a room in this hotel. It has a nice atmosphere, especially the ground floor: lot of wood, including a beautiful shiny, squeeky floor and wooden stairs. And I like the staff. Kind, helpful and courteous.

This hotel has 3 floors, but you will not find an elevator to take you up or down: you will have to carry your own weight :-), For the luggage however they have a small elevator, so you will not have to drag that up or down the stairs. Otherwise the helpful staff will happily carry your bags to and from your room.

The rooms are good in size. Soberly furnished, nothing fancy. Kingsize bed, desk, chair, fridge, airconditioning. The rooms also have a recessed balcony with a small table and 2 chairs. Bathroom has shower with hot water, a washbasin and a toilet.
Wifi is available.

Right across from the hotel you can rent motorbikes allowing you to discover Mae Hong Son and surroundings.

When you arrive by bus at the central bus station then the hotel will be happy to pick you up if you give them advance notice. Of course they will also take you there too if you leave Mae Hong Son by bus.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rob_leuftink
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Returning from an overnight trek, I was REALLY looking forward to a hot shower. Surely this is one of the basic amenities any hotel should provide, but not here... I could just as well as have gone to the river and taken a cold bath instead. The bathroom was quite worn down, the sink was leaking and the workmanship on the faucet was very shoddy -- the whole faucet turned whenever you wanted to turn it on.

Mae Hong Son is a beautiful place and with a name like "Panorama" I was looking forward to a good view of the amazing scenery all around. Unfortunately that was also not to be... just a view of some dull buildings next door. If you stay in a place like Mae Hong Son, it's inexcusable not to have a good view of the beautiful landscape all around! The room itself was dark and matched the mood of cold shower... it could do with a few more lightbulbs...

The staff are also dishonest in how they market this hotel. On Agoda, they specify there is complimentary Wifi inside the rooms. This (and a hot shower) were among the main reasons I booked the hotel as I wanted to keep in touch with friends and family... but in fact there is no Internet in the rooms. You have to go to the lobby to access the Wifi and although complimentary, not nearly the same as having it inside the rooms.

Additionally, I had a confirmed quote from the hotel manager telling me the rate for an Economy room would be Thb 500 but when I got there, I was informed the price was now suddently Thb 600 due to the "holidays". No matter that I had a quote in writing (given 3 days prior) for the current date of stay... there had been a sudden price increase. If I hadn't wanted a hot shower so badly I would have gone elsewhere... only to check in and discover there was no hot shower.

Fortunately I only stayed one night; will definitely stay elsewhere next time.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank statdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panorama_MHS, Manager at Panorama Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Firstly, we would like to sorry that the unconsistent price of $3 different. This is our internal communication mistake and may cause from the limitation of staff's command of English. We'll improve this.
According to the mentioned problems, there are many points to be cleared:

1. There are 3 types of rooms available which are Deluxe, Standard, and Economy. Normally, before registering, guests are led to see rooms before making decision. In this case economy room was chosen by the guest.

2. As for the faucet and hot shower problem, generally, if guest inform our staff about the problem, according to our standard operating procedure: first action is to fix it immediately; but if it's unable to fix, we will offer a new room; and in case that all rooms are occupied, refund will be issued. Many times that the hot shower problem is easily handled by turning on a circuit breaker.

3. As advertised on Agoda that we have WIFI, this is true for most parts of our hotel. We have 4 buildings; the economy building is the farthest. The WIFI signal can be too low to work in some rooms.

Please note that generally, Thai people are friendly. If you need anything or have any comments, please let our staffs know. We'll try our best to make you satisfy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I've spent a week in this hotel. It is well located in the center of town. Friendly stuff and got free pick-up from airport. The price per night was 700 Baht, was supposed to include breakfast. The first night i've got a VIP (so i was told it is) room facing the main road. I couldn't sleep at night due the the extensive noise. I asked to move to a back side room. The beds are very comfy and this time is was much more quiet. From my windows I saw the back side of the temple. The entire building is very old, the lobby is very dark. The furniture in the room are old and some broken. The bath tub saw better days. The entire cleanliness is very mediocre. The curtain is the bath tub was filthy (!!!). Breakfast that was offered me was so dull (2 fried eggs, 2 toasts and a cup of tea), so i didn't bother having it. Bottom line - overpriced and will never come again to this hotel. There are so many better guest houses in town for the same price.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dorage
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panorama_MHS, Manager at Panorama Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

Thank you for your advices. We will consider all comments to improve our quality and services.

In a hotel business, we need to refurbish the hotel constantly. So, your recommendations will be considered.

You may forgot to mention about good things besides the location because you were a walk-in tourist and you mentioned that there are so many better guest houses in town for the same price, but you still stayed in the hotel for a week. If you really didn't appreciated I think you would have moved out from the first day.

Please note that generally, Thai people are always friendly. If you need anything or have any comments, simply tell our staffs. Everything can be done immediately to solve your problems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2016
Google Translation

Room tip: เลืดห้องชั้น 2-3
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews