We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phu Pai a grand resort overlooking the most beautiful valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Phu Pai Art Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Phu Pai Art Resort
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Mae Hong Son
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Phu Pai a grand resort overlooking the most beautiful valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is my second time at Phu Pai and I still love it. It appears there is a new Manager running the show, as things seem to be a lot better around the resort. However one can not beat the location and the setting of this amazing place. Being High season at the moment that had really jacked up the price. Breakfast buffet had loads of choices but as always in SEasia the burners neither get turned on or not looked after, so food is forever cold under those beautiful stainless steel buffet containers. We booked for 4 nights and were told due to high season we could stay 3 nights in one villa but would have to move to the Honeymoon suite for the fourth night as they were full ( the price went up another $20 ) We agreed to this. We did however speak to the Manager, once we arrived ,maybe she could rearrange things for usto stay in our villa. That was not possible as a large group would arrive for one night. We even offered to still pay the same price and they should upgrade one of the group, not possible ! I have worked in the Hotel business for many years and if there is a will there is a way. The honeymoon suite was not worth the money as the bed was hard , the gap between the windows invited all the mosquitos and there ws absolutely nothing different from the other villas. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and the infinity pool is amazing. We could do our meditation and yoga in peace and serenity.

Room Tip: every villa has a great location and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crapfoodbites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    52
    14
    13
    3
See reviews for
22
51
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here in november 2012. Booked a standard and deluxe room. The standard room we thought had a better view (view determines room type) than the deluxe room, but that might be a matter of taste. Both rooms were very nice on the inside. Nice bed, very spacious, great sinks and an ok shower. Cool lay out of the rooms. Clean and well kept.

The view from the pool and the restaurant was truly amazing. Because located on a hill the Pai valley can be overlooked. Superb. Only a bit far from Pai city, but there was, according to us, not too much interesting going on. Restaurant served good food, but chairs are uncomfortable (as in so many places in Thailand). Bfst was ok, but nothing special.

They played music at the pool. A waste, because the silence and the scenary make this place stand out from the rest.

Service not too good, Friendly, but a bit unprofessional and not very foreseeing.

Room Tip: More expensive rooms do not necessarily have better views (as we experienced)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwv028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

If you are looking for peace and quiet in a beautiful setting, this is a great choice! Located just a few kilometers from Pai, this resort is set back in a quaint Thai neighborhood and looks out over a huge valley of rice fields. It couldn't be more lovely! The pool is an "infinity" pool, overlooking the rice fields afore mentioned. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. The rooms are well-decorated, "old Thai" style, very lovely. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. My only complaint is that the beds, in typical Thai fashion are quite hard and fairly uncomfortable. That being said, we have found this to be true at most Thai resorts that we have visited in our over 12 years here. We went in late October, just before the rice was to be harvested, and I would definitely recommend it then.

Room Tip: The only thing setting the Deluxe and Honeymoon rooms apart is the quality of the view from the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThailandTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

We had a good look around Pai (including almost all of the higher ranking places) before deciding on the art resort. Good decision. I just don't understand why it is not number one or two in the rankings as it simply blows away every other place that we checked out. Service is good, food  is good, rooms are excellent, surrounding environment is exceptional. It's about 3 kms from town, I have a motorbike so it's to an issue - 3 Kms could be a million bikes as it is truly beautiful - town aint so good! We got this for 1000 baht, i think it is probably the best value I have had in a long while.  I would recommend this place to anyone, even my mother .... And she's 83.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms are easily good enough. We got room only as there are stacks of places to eat in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

I visited this resort in june, so avoid the Thai Season in december and januari. Rooms are decorated in yellow combined with cement gray, and the resort is located in the rice fields. Food was very good, swimming pool has an amazing view over the valley.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsianTravelGuru11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We spent four nights in two side-by-side bungalows with our son. The rooms were gorgeous.
Spacious, clean and so serene we could barely rouse ourselves for a swim in the infinity pool. Restaurant service was a little sketchy the first day but, once we befriended the manager and learned to order the Northern Thai food the meals were excellent. After that we really enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A free ride is provided into town and back. Be sure to visit the night market which had excellent hand-made crafts not seen elsewhere in Thailand. Avoid the burning season if possible, as the smoke is the only irritant in an otherwise very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in bungalows away from the pool and restaurant area. It was so peaceful and quiet at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Phu Pai art resort review

We were supposed to stay for 3 nights in dec 2011 but ended up checking out of the  Phu Pai art resort after 2 nights due to the extremely poor service and pathetic room quality. 
The lack of warmth , or rather the absence of even a smile should have forewarned  us of the rocky road ahead. This neglect is unfortunately obvious in every aspect of the resort- the rooms (which you are required to share with several cockroaches , mosquitoes and lizards and even cats at times!),  the beds ( you might be forgiven for mistaking the mattress for  a concrete slab!), and the service - rude at best and non- existent at most times! 
I have a bad back and required a couple of additional comforters to soften the bed ( mission impossible) as they did not have any softer bedding option. We were told that they would charge for additional comforters ( first time I have ever heard that given that they are not exactly a cheap b&b), but we agreed. We reminded them repeatedly to send us the same. After personally seeking out the receptionist after the earlier 5 reminders failed to produce the desired results, we were assured that they would take care of it before we returned from dinner. At 11pm, of course, the comforters were yet to make an appearance. So once again my husband made the trip to the reception only to find all the staff Missing-in-action! Apparently, no service is available after 10pm. So he had to locate a security guard who took pity on us after he was shown photos of a comforter ( he spoke Thai and we didn't) and there was some major sign language and play acting involved as well! So he and my husband went into some of the unoccupied rooms of the resort and had to remove it from those beds and carry it back! 
When we finally had had enough and wanted to check out after day 2  (even though we had prepaid for 3 nights and couldn't care less if  we got a refund or not  ) , there was no surprise or even a remote idle curiosity about why, on the part of the manager and staff. It could have been a truly unique and great resort, but is undone by the overall neglect. 
I would recommend this only for those of true adventurous spirit that includes sharing your bed with cockroaches,  
Oh and do try not to have an emergency after 10 pm! 
Thanks to agoda for their responsiveness on this! Much appreciated. 

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSinSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Hong Son
31.9 mi away
Imperial Mae Hong Son Resort
Imperial Mae Hong Son Resort
#1 of 20 in Mae Hong Son
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pura Vida Resort
Pura Vida Resort
#2 of 30 in Pai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
31.3 mi away
Mae Hong Son Mountain Inn & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pai Village Boutique Resort & Farm
31.0 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#10 of 20 in Mae Hong Son
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
34.3 mi away
Golden Pai & Suite Resort
Golden Pai & Suite Resort
#4 of 20 in Mae Hong Son
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phu Pai Art Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Pai Art Resort

Property: Phu Pai Art Resort
Address: 92 Moo.1 T. Mae Na Theung A.Pai, Mae Hong Son 58130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Mae Hong Son
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Mae Hong Son
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phu Pai Art Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phu Pai Art Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing