We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place was totally Uninhabitable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andaman Legacy Guest House
Ranked #112 of 185 Hotels in Krabi Town
Reviewed February 8, 2013

In Western terms, the place was totally uninhabitable. Stairway with a leaking pipe been there for very long time. Couple towels and 2 buckets to hold water. Under towels were rotten wood, mold infestation all around. Had to evacuate totally from this place to another hotel for simply health reasons. Never seen this bad place in whole Thailand. Staff was extremely rude and could barely speak English. Don't believe the pictures when booking here.

Room Tip: In Krabi see the room, around the corners before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoiWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 93 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The Andaman Legacy Guesthouse is a nice little place and I think the bad reviews are a bit unfair....

I've paid B3090 (roughly £60) for 4 nights in the deluxe double room, which is £15 a night so not a lot of money considering some of the "posh" Krabi resorts are charging over £200 a night! Yeah it's cheap, yeah the rooms are fairly basic and yeah the decor could be better but you get what you pay for and this review is based on that fact.

The nice picture of the double bed with smart lighting on the hotel sites is my room!! They only have 2 of these so if you want to be sure call the hotel, the manager speaks very good English! My room has a nice firm bed, comfy pillows, hot power shower (electric not solar!!) with rain head and regular moveable head, TV, DVD player, dimmable mood lighting (romantic!!) and most importantly.... ICE COLD AIRCON!!

Service was absolutely superb, the manager speaks great English and organised us scooter hire as well as excursions and a transfer to Koh Samui for the next leg of our 4 week adventure. There is a "bar" of sorts, a lovely big fridge in the lobby is well stocked and you can buy from the reception at all hours.

Location is good for Krabi town, 7/11 is just 2 mins away and is open early & late plus there are some good bars and restaurants nearby!

If this was a £200 a night hotel it would get 1*, but it's not and for what I've paid it's well beyond expectations so gets a full 5*!!

:-)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were initially given a room which was damp and stank. The bathroom ceiling was black with mould spores. I've already got a bad chest from staying in a room with no window in another hotel, so did not want to stay in this room.

The woman on the desk was clearly annoyed when we asked to view another room. The next room had an outside shower - no roof - it was bucketing it down and the entire bathroom was 2 inch deep in water. Imagine all the insects later?

Eventually we were offered an 'upgrade' to the newer block. The room was better with air-con and cost us 100B extra a night.

On closer inspection when in the room, it was quite shabby. We are backpackers and have been travelling for almost 2 years so we have seen worse. But for a new room - the bed spread had a huge hole in it, the sheet had a black stain on it. The shower head was seriously scummy and we only had a cold shower.

On the plus side the hotel is in a good location and central.

Room Tip: if you really want to stay - check your room before handing over any money. Negotiate. We paid 700...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debstheleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The rooms were quite nice, the bed very comfortable, bathroom - it used to be beautiful, with all these stones on the walls, now there was mould all over it; the sink was blocked. Important - there is no hot water at all.. The receptionist told us it's because it was heated up by the sun. There was a small balcony with a view on the street, sometimes it got loud because of street workers. I didn't use the TV, maybe because there was only one socket in the whole room and I had to charge batteries. The service was very nice and friendly. The laundry was done ok, it actually smelled nice (in other places this was not the case). free wifi - only in some rooms (not on the 3rd floor). Free refrigerator in the lobby - a big one for all the rooms. The service allowed us to sit in the lobby and drink our own drinks. The location was good - near to the center. All in all I liked it.

Room Tip: Not in all rooms there is free wi-fi, ask the service before choosing the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalM878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked this hotel for two x 1- night stays either side of a trip to southern Thailand. It is well located and the superior rooms booked were just as on the website and of a really good standard for a budget hotel. Cleanliness was amazing and the facilities (bathrobes, slippers, DVD with films, TV) were way above what you would normally find from a budget priced hotel.
Sadly, at the beginning of the season we were too early to benefit from a restaurant for breakfast, but there are many local places only a few metres away.
It's really well located for both the town and the coast, making eating in the evening very easy without a long trek. Also not far from the night market.
Staff and owner paid particularly keen attention to helping to arrange any travel needs and to provide advice and info about the area - the company also own the Phi-Phi Andaman Legacy hotel. I'd recommend anyone to stay here - its very comfortable, on a budget rate.

Room Tip: Superior rooms with patio are very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have almost stayed in Andaman Legacy in December 2011. We were just passing by Krabi and we needed a basic room to rest for only one night. The room was based on the back side of the hotel on the second floor. The staircase to the room was full of buckets because of the leaking roof. The room itself was terrible and dirty. The sheets and towels had spots on them and on the bed we had a dead spider expecting us. The bathroom was an "open-air" one as it had no roof and it was also half built, you could see the bricks.
When I complaint to the owner about the terrible dirtiness and the general condition of the room, he replied that I got what I paid for and if I wanted a better room I should have booked an A/C room not a room with a fan. I tried explaining that my complaints are not regarding the fan or A/C but about this disgusting place called "hotel room" but in vain. He also suggested me to see a shrink as I am an unhappy person :) how cute!
We have stayed in many basic lodgings in Thailand during our 1 month trip and I was happy with them as they were simple and clean but this.........KEEP OUT

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaSardella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Went here in august, 2011, searching for a cheap and central accomodation in Krabi. Location is good - you can walk to the pier in 5 minutes - and room, while very basic, where clean and with air conditioning. Toilet was more-than-basic, but clean aswell. Plus, value for money seems excellent. Would return here without any doubt, but forget luxury and amenities. And forget elevator too, since ifyou got heavy stuff, keep in mind that stairs are narrow and steep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firestart80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
0 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#15 of 18 in Pak Nam
62 reviews
0 mi away
Hop Inn Krabi
Hop Inn Krabi
#44 of 185 in Krabi Town
154 reviews
0 mi away
Krabi City Seaview Hotel
Krabi City Seaview Hotel
#143 of 185 in Krabi Town
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Greenery Hotel
The Greenery Hotel
#130 of 185 in Krabi Town
96 reviews
0 mi away
Chandee Guesthouse
Chandee Guesthouse
#82 of 111 in Ao Nang
68 reviews
0 mi away
Vieng Thong Hotel
Vieng Thong Hotel
#110 of 185 in Krabi Town
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaman Legacy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaman Legacy Guest House

Address: 20/1 ChaoFah Rd, Krabi Town, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 185 Hotels in Krabi Town
Price Range: $13 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Andaman Legacy Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Andaman Legacy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaman Legacy Guest House Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing