We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, price worth!!!!!”
Review of Tonsai Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tonsai Bay Resort
Ranked #93 of 182 Hotels in Krabi Town
Trieste
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing location, price worth!!!!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hi!!!
My boyfriend and I were here 4 nights the last January.
We think the it's worth spending the money for staying here.
The location is fantastic.
If you book a daily tour, it's possible to get at Maya beach in one hour with the motorboat.
There are different resorts you can choose but we think that Tonsai has a good price worth.
Simple but impressive!

Room Tip: Our deluxe room: Clean, quite big, nice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silatkali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    83
    43
    22
    24
See reviews for
22
94
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

hows the negative comments!?! seriously? go back to tourist land and do your research 1st. this resort was just divine cosy cool and perfect. the rooms were clean, large, tidy and comfortable. aircon was the bomb and we had electricity 24hrs a day, unlike a lot of other tonsai accommodation.
we came to tonsai to climb, nothing else and wow we got what we came for. the climbing is amazing. we travelled with friends who stayed in much cheaper rooms and they definately got what they paid for. if you are reading this trying to decide whether to stay here or go cheaper take my advice, stay at the resort, you will not regret it.
the limestone cliffs filled with monkeys surrounding the resort is mouth watering. the rooms are very quiet and out of the tourist areas. the restaurant was the cleanest and safest in all of tonsai, the food was really tasty and great value for money. the staff were really friendly happy and helpful, especially our new friend "bear" not sure how to spell that? cannot speak highly enough of tonsai bay resort, we will definately return thank you

Room Tip: there are joined rooms and single, we had a joined which was no prob
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jamie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We booked for 4 nights, and were so disappointed when we arrived that we left after just one. It took a lot of discussion and telephone calls to the owner before we were able to get our money back for the remaining nights, and in the end we had to pay a fee of one extra night in order to cancel.
We brought a standard bungalow and it was ok, clean and a large room, but we had a shared balcony with a couple with 2 small kids that constantly ran around infront of our room, staring into the windows. Sitting on our balcony was anyway not fun, because the only view was across the path to the bungalows and balconies on the other side.
The breakfast was fine, but the restaurant is a 5 minute walk from the bungalows, down at the beach, past what looked like a rubbish tip.

The reason we chose to leave was the location - you can only access Tonsai bay by longboat. The resort is full of 'hippy' types who are there to climb. The only evening we ate at a beach front bar, we were offered hash by the bartender.
We investigated taking a longboat to the next resort further along the coast for the evening to have dinner - they would not sail with less than 8 passengers, at 100 baht per person. We could have chosen to pay for the boat (800 baht) but lucky we didn't because the tide went out, and didn't come back in again until 10am the next morning!

It's an ok place, and we enjoyed the one day we were there, but I wouldn't recommend staying here for longer than a day or two.¨The beach is full of boats and crowded, and this resort has no pool. The only thing you can do is take a longboat somewhere else, and then you are at their mercy for price and sailing times, not to mention the tide!

Room Tip: Don't take a standard room as the is no view and you are very close to your neighbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The rooms were very nice, power 24hrs a day and hot water, air con.. We stayed in room #17, one of the joined bungalows further into the jungle.

However the manager SHOULD be fired, he is grumpy ingorant and super rude!!!
The breakfast was okay, plenty of fresh fruit in the buffet area and coffee and tea, plus two kinds of juices. You get to pick one thing from a certain section of the a la carte menu, which is included in the breakfast price.

All in all, I would not book here again due to the manager, so I will try my luck with the dream valley resort instead, watch for my review :)

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank beau_bikker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We are a bit puzzled by all the negative reviews of this lodge. Maybe we haven't been in Southeast Asia long enough to get angry about a large, en suite, air-conditioned bungalow straddling the jungle, world-renowned limestone cliffs and a beautiful beach cove costing $74. Yes, it's more than you paid in Bangkok and Chiang Mai, but what do you expect? This is one of Thailand's most beautiful and famous beach areas. We got terrible food poisoning (from a local restaurant - not this hotel) and we still had a fabulous time. Stop yer whining.

Our connected bungalow was situated about a 5-minute walk from the shore in a quiet area nestled beside the enormous rock formations. Strolling to the beach and area restaurants, we often spotted monkeys (even a baby one riding on its mom) running alone the rocks or swinging from branches.

There seems to be accommodation priced both above and below the duplex we stayed in: more spacious stand-alones and smaller fan rooms. The fan rooms are closer to the beach but appear a bit run down from the outside. They are located in a high-trafficked spot with some litter about.

Although our bathroom was long overdue for a remodel, our duplex room was spacious and clean. Towels, water and toilet paper were restocked and the bed was made every day. The breakfast needs work, but it's included in the price.

We were surprised to read reviewers complaining about Tonsai's beach. At low tide, it is similar to a mud flat, but even then it's beautiful with the sunlight reflected in the pools of water left behind. At high tide, it's perfect. After visiting Railay and the famous Hat Phra Nang, I'd take Tonsai any day because it's protected from the wind (no sand blown in your eyes) and not overcrowded with fat, pasty European men strutting in colorful banana hammocks (Note: If you are anyone but Michael Phelps and wearing a Speedo, we are all making fun of you). Plus, you won't get accosted by touts trying to sell you a massage!

Area tips:
-Take a 1/2 day rock climbing course with the Rock Shop. For $25, you can't beat this experience in arguably the rock climbing capital of the world. You WILL be sore tomorrow.
-When the tide is low, you can walk from Tonsai to Railay along the shore. When the tide is high, walk to the far end of the beach and look for a narrow crevice in the rocks. Crawl through there and then follow the rocky path. I don't recommend doing either walk in flip flops
- On the way to Hat Phra Nang by foot, you will likely see a sign for a lagoon and lookout. The lookout hike is very steep (pull self up with ropes) but doable. The lagoon hike is vey difficult and a bit dangerous (shimmy down ropes over sharp rocks) but if you're in the area to rock climb, you probably know what you're doing. Some people use climbing gear to get there. Don't attempt in flip flops. The lagoon is a quiet, secluded tidal pool with no view of the beach, but it is worth the laborious hike/climb to see a body of water completely enclosed by high cliffs on all sides. You can swim, but the water is not pristine.
-Don't feed the monkeys. It just makes them aggressive (they will snatch items out of your hand if you're close enough). And certainly don't give them junk food. Not cool, man.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CompassWhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The location is nice place to stay, but the villa is not a high standard, especially for this price! When you want to move from this place, better you need to find someone to travel with you otherwise you need to pay a full amount to move from this island. Also you need to becarefull by falling coconuts in the morning, if you are an earlybird. The best way to discover other beaches is by kayak, do not rent from the resort but from local people, thb 400 p/day, otherwise you have to pay thb 100 p/hour. If you are looking for luxury stay, do not stay overnight at this place. The breakfast is not okay as well, reception call is not available, wifi is only available at restaurant. If you not believe us, book your stay at this place, after you have seen your room and toilet, you'll change you're mind (as we did).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesusandol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Krabi Town hotels

The World
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

NOT FOR EVERYONE....but read on....
In previous reviews, I've come down rather hard on those who complain about not having 5 star service when, they feel that it is somehow warranted. Well, this Is a 5 star resort with a difference and it is not for those who may be thinking of high end resorts in the traditional sense. Tonsai Bay Resort is home to the world famous cliffs that climbers the world over, come in droves to learn and conquer its complexities. This resort was born of the cliff/backpacker crowd. The resort itself, comprises several attached and detached cabins. These units are spacious and clean. During peak season, there IS power available all day. We stayed here from 26 December to 31 December and had no issues with electricity. To get here, you fly to Krabi, then take a taxi (TBH600) to Au-Nang. There is only one price and there is no 'haggle room' on the pricing. From Au-Nang, you must catch a 'Longtail' boat to the resort. If you are lucky to arrive at high tide, you'll disembark in front of the resort, otherwise you could end up having to navigate through an area of old coral some distance from the resort itself. Carry all your belongings in a backpack. If you travel with a suitcase you will be the source of entertainment by all of us, as you drag your suitcase through the sand, only to have the wheels get choked with the grit. The food at the resort is plentiful and wholesome. The cooking is all traditional Thai style food---excellent noodles, rice and curries. It is cheap to eat here. A good meal will cost on the average of TBH60-80. The resort is predominantly a place that caters to the climbing crowd, outside of this, there are very little other recreational things to do here besides renting a kayak and going paddling. The beach in front of this resort does not have great sand however, a 20 minute paddle provides a beautiful beach with crystal blue water. The staff at the resort are all very friendly people. It is the the nature of the Thai people. We had breakfast as part of our accommodation. Don't expect anything fancy other than a choice of eggs, fresh fruit from the local area and reasonable coffee. The resort does have a coffee bar which is operated by some fun young people.
Nightlife is what you want to make it. Lots of beer and some very interesting people to talk to. People from all walks of life. You will find that these athletes bring their children here. There are lots of Thai children who live at the resort and it is amazing to see the harmony of different cultures.
There is reasonable Internet and if you purchase a SIM card with 3G in Bangkok, you will get good reception. This is a wonderful place to get away from it all. You can put the brakes on here. We felt safe and secure. As I said, this doesn't appear to be a 5 star resort when you first arrive here however; we found it to be our 5 star.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good at this resort. We had a detached cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B777av8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#4 of 13 in Railay Beach
903 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dream Valley Resort
Dream Valley Resort
#118 of 182 in Krabi Town
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chill Out Bar & Bungalow
Chill Out Bar & Bungalow
#2 of 6 in Railay Beach
85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avatar Railay Krabi
Avatar Railay Krabi
#1 of 2 in Railay Beach
383 reviews
0.8 mi away
Railay Garden View Resort
Railay Garden View Resort
#9 of 13 in Railay Beach
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonsai Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonsai Bay Resort

Property: Tonsai Bay Resort
Address: 18 Moo 2 | Tonsai Bay, Next to Railay Bay, Krabi Town 81180, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Krabi Town
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Krabi Town
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonsai Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TONSAIBAY RESORT is located on beautiful Tonsai Bay beside Railay beach, Krabi. Our resort is set in the lush greenery geography with peaceful atmosphere and the world wide well known rock climbing cliff on the backdrop. It takes just two minutes walk away from Tonsai Beach, a swath of white sand that fringes the crystal clear water of Andaman Sea, to get to our beautifully appointed guestrooms which have been designed with the comfort and relaxation in mind. We offer 72 air conditioned rooms including Deluxe Villa, Superior Villa Deluxe room and Superior Room which open on to the rain-forest jungle while having the stunning of rock climbing cliff on the backdrop. Our resort's restaurant reside on the beach front of Tonsai bay offers various tasty both International and Thai food. Here you could enjoy the delicious cuisine while getting a pleasure from fabulous scenery of the ocean or watch rock climbing activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tonsai Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonsai Bay Hotel Krabi Town
Tonsai Bay Resort Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing