We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
$50
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/22
Booking.com
$52
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/09/22
Vio.com
$45
View deal
Hotels.com$51
Expedia.com$51
Hurb$57
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveler rating
77
119
61
31
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
77
119
61
31
33
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 321 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Alright-- here are the facts about Tonsai and this Resort....

1. There is no power everyday in your room from 9:00am-5:00pm.....meaning no lights, AC or fans during that time. This is true for ALL of Tonsai. The entire area is run off generators, so to conserve energy, everyone turns them off during the day. This also means restaurants go with refrigeration and put everything on ice (including meats)

2. There is absolutely NO free wifi on Tonsai. The cheapest is 3 Baht a minute.

3. Garbage is an issue on Tonsai. It's everywhere. Took a little bit to get use to.

4. Red ants....everywhere.

With all of this said-- it is genuinely a rock climbers paradise. The entire culture is based upon it. Tonsai Bay Resort is the nicest place to stay on Tonsai....which isn't saying a whole lot. But if you are relaxed and enjoy the "camping" feel, you'll love it. If you want something a little more "resort" like with some accommodations (like always having power or wifi), stay on Railay West. The bays are right next to each other-- about a 20 minute water wade or jungle hike.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

To travel to Tonsai get a long tail boat from Ao Nang Beach, but if they stop go to Ao Nang Pier and get one from there instead for the same price. They never stop here as they are run by “crazy men”.
When arriving at Tonsai, the staff were welcoming and after check in, we were transported to our room by motorbike. We paid 1050 bahts for our room which was a reasonable size, had effective air conditioning and was clean. The shower was reasonable, but had warm running water, which was a novelty for us at this stage. We were also provided with shampoo and shower gel, which was replaced when our room was cleaned.
The hotel restaurant looks out onto the beach is quite cheap, and serves some amazing Pad Thais. This restaurant is also used for breakfast, which is a choice of a plate from their menu and the toast/bread, fruit and juices provided. However, some mornings the juice dispensers can be covered in wasps, making it impossible to pour.
If you are climbing over to Railay, the jungle route is definitely easiest. We climbed over about 9am, with no problems. However, about 6:30pm we tried to come back around the cliff instead of over as we were told the tide would be out far enough. By far one of the biggest challenges on my holiday (maybe it didn’t help that I was shoeless).
During the evening I would advise you to take a walk up the beach to a little bar called Chill Out, which has friendly staff, friendly customers (we made quite a few friends here) and a fire show which everyone can get involved in.
When leaving Tonsai, the long tail boats will only go when there are 8 people, or when whoever is waiting agree to pay for 8 people (800 bahts in total). We found that by going over at 9:00am, we didn’t have to wait. There were 2 of us, and when we arrived 6 people were already waiting.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beth3393
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The place is an ideal hideaway from overcrowded towns. In the same time you will find civilization in a 300m away from bungalou. The only con- no electricity at day time. Do you really need it in paradise?... Useful tip: plan your departure carefully - it's easy to hire boat to get there, but can be a problem to get out.

Room tip: Deeper in jungle is better
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We just walked in to this hotel after arriving and the staff was really nice. I got a bungalow for 1,050 BHT which included breakfast. A staff brought us to the room by tuk tuk like bike. The door is hard to lock and open from inside and the door has about 2-3mm gap but no bugs got in. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We saw a few small ants in the bathroom but it wasn't a big deal. A small fridge, a/c, safe and closets are in the room. Electricity is out from 9AM - 5PM. Restaurant and bar by the beach right by the staff lobby. There are places to lie down on the wooden floor by the beach bar. It was nice to lie down to get some tan while watch rock climbers climb the rocks. They have pillows and beach towel on the wood so you can lie down and relax. Several market and restaurants near by. It's cheaper to stay than Railay west beach but the beach is nice also. Young clouds, most of them are rock climbers. We arrived to Railay beach East around 5PM so it was low tide. We walked to the hotel and it took us about 20 min. But you have to go over the rocks in the ocean when crossing from Railay Beach West to Tonsai but it wasn't bad at all. But if you need to get to Tonsai or go to East or West Beach in the morning to early afternoon, it's high tide so you would have to pay for the long boat. Hotel does not provide any shuttle boats. Overall, it was a comfortable stay here.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reiko C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Tonsai Bay might be the closest thing nowadays to "the Beach" - a tropical paradise with a rustic/hippy vibe, many buildings built out of trees and driftwood, isolated (boat access only), surrounded by towering limestone cliffs (rock-climbers paradise) but with most of the comforts you expect from a resort. The beach is very nice when the tide is high but a bit of a sloppy mudflat when the tide is low. Hat Railay West is a beautiful beach and only a 10 minute hike away. The bungalows are set back in the monkey - yes they are everywhere! but friendly -infested jungle, about 3 minute walk from the beach. The bungalows are quite clean, have reliable A/C, tv, mini-fridge and huge comfy beds. The beachside restaurant serves up a decent breakfast buffet (included) and a pretty typical dinner menu with oceanside bbq fare very common to Tonsai and Railay. Despite what other reviews say, we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. They arranged our boat tours to nearby islands (Ko Phi Phi etc) and when our bus didn't show up in Ao Nang they went out of their way to get us another bus (at no additional cost) so we didn't miss the full moon party!

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradv98
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews