We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place, Shame the Area is Soooo Quiet”
Review of Krabi Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Krabi Sands Resort
Ranked #109 of 185 Hotels in Krabi Town
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Our bungalow was fine, pretty clean, fridge, strong air-con, and the resort itself is really good - swimming pool and an adjoining 'children's pool' you can sit in to cool down. The kids make some noise at times (but hey, isn't that what ipods are for - to drown the sound of others out!?); otherwise it's quiet and very relaxing. Would say it's better suited to families than childless couples, though a complete mix of types came and went during our two-week stay.

One thing: there are only so many sunbeds available poolside, and it's first to lay their towel down gets one, so ... they could improve things in that department. I did have a word ...

Resort has its own restaurant by the beach; its Thai cuisine is okay, but their attempts at continental food not so good - thus after a few days we were getting tired of eating the same things ... Yep: spoilt Westerners!

There is also a shop by the restaurant where you can stock up on water and treats at local prices cf those charged for your mini bar, and two ATMs right by, though they can 'play up' and fail to accept Visa etc ...

Otherwise: rest of area has suffered post-Tsunami, not so much in terms of not being clean (save Phi Phi - urrrgh!) but in lack of tourists, so other hotels / resorts we strolled by and through were almost empty ... you can find yourselves the only ones in a bar etc. FYI the Nakamanda hotel just up the road looks fabulous - but empty while we were there.

In search of life we went to Ao Nang and Krabi town itself - but not much there either, though at a dept store in the latter you could get a pair of proper Converse for <£10.

One local bar/restaurant we highly recommend: Mother Love, adjacent to Nakamanda, about 300m from KSR. Lovely people run that place ... food is great, and the Mother shakes a mean cocktail! According to my girlfriend, the Pina Colada is to die for ...

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhgoflondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 77 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2008

We had a fourteen night stay at the krabi sands & throughly enjoyed the experience.
There are a number of negative comments posted on trip advisor about the resort & we found these to be unjustified.
Yes the resturant is on the opposite side of the road but it is a lovely location right on the edge of the beach & a wonderfull place dine with the waves lapping onto the sand.
The area is quiet but there are a number of quality resturants & bars ( The Beach House included ) only a short stroll away.
There are a number of comments about the bathroom floor getting wet when you use the shower. The bathrooms are are an asian wetroom design, yes the floor does get wet as you would expect in any wetroom but the design allows for the water to drain efficently.
We found the rooms to be very spacious & the huge super king size bed very comfortable.
The swimming pool is wonderfull and the surrounding gardens very well kept & looked after.
Car hire is relatively cheep.We hired a car for seven days & found that this gave us so much more freedom to explore, it was so much better than going on a organised trip, you can spend as little or as long time at any of the very many things to go and see.
Mark, Oay & there team of staff made our stay a very pleasent experience that we will be repeating again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank wannagoawaytoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

I have recently returned from a 7 week holiday at the Krabi Sands Resort. This is my 3rd long stay at The Krabi Sands Resort with Mark, Oay and staff.
The Hotel is family run and after a few days I again became part of the family.
I find the Hotel convenient for local restaurants, bars, shops and services. There is a good local bus service into Krabi Town and also Taxis at reasonable rates. This is a most enjoyable place to relax with the peace and quiet, while being only a little distance from the tourist areas.
I met several other guests who were also enjoying an extended break at the Krabi Sands Resort and all said that they were looking forward to another stay. I will be booking to go back yet again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cranton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2008

I booked this hotel based on the good reviews, we stayed there for 4 days/3nights, and really regretted. The location is far from AoNang so we decide to rent a car. I must said the restaurant food is awful expeacially their breakfast, mostly they serve the same food. Tastless food. and you have to walk across to the restaurant with a lot of truck, car passes by, a lot of dust. And every night we need to walk around 10minutes to others restaurant and not much choice. If you decide to give it a try, please rent a car. The room is clean, showeroom small, pool is nice. I wont reconmmend to anyone cause of the location and restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AddyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2008

Just got back from a great stay at Krabi Sands and I would strongly recommend the resort for couples and families. The bungalows had everything we needed and were in great condition! The Pool was beautiful and a breath taking beach was only a short walk away. We walked along the beach every night to get downtown where there were a few shops, massage parlours and nice restaurants, although the resort restaurant was reasonably priced as well, and the free breakfast always had lots of fresh fruit! The area of Klong Muang isnt very developed yet, but I felt that only added to our Thailand experience and was a nice break from the party scene in Bangkok and Phuket. Only negative experience was that for some reason it took 2 hours to check out (dont people check out everyday!?) and because it took so long the cab to the ferry left without us, BUT to make up for it a staff member drove us to the pier in his own car and negotiated a long tail boat to take us to the ferry which had already left!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetsetter-mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2008

OK, the pool is nice, but no service and the chairs are not possible to adjust.

The area is quiet, except for the muslim prayers that are a bit disturbing, especially when at 5 am... The tpassing trucks must be very bad for the rooms next to the road. Noisy!!! Must pass the road to get to restaurant, not good... Not impressed by the restaurant, boring selection...15 min by foot gets you to Klong Muang with a few restaurants that are better.

I found the rooms OK, as expected...

There is nothing to do around the hotel, nothing...! forget the beach close to the hotel. Go to Koh Hong or other islands. Ao Nang for shopping...

The staff is friendly and a late check out was not a problem, booking tours at good prices too... just ask the staff, they will help you! Been to Thailand a few times, so you know thet do not cheat you here...

The place is just too boring if you do not like to be all by yourself. If you like to party, do not come here! the beach bar 100 meters away was empty ALL THE TIME. I did not see any other customers the whole stay. If you want to be all alone, this is the place, nobody will bother you here except the trucks and prayers...

It was not as we hoped it to be... Still, we had a good time, going to islands around the area, Ao Nang, Phi Phi and Koh Lanta.

Have a nice holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lexrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Great Huge Pool, Lovely clean spacious rooms / cottages, Good Travel desk to organise trips etc., Great restaurant with friendly helpful staff ... only downside is that it lies on rocky beach but only a few minutes walk from great shores. In a quiet stretch - 10 min walk to other restaurants etc and long way from any shopping. really helpful with children.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 3-ft-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
2.3 mi away
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort
#9 of 12 in Nong Thale
568 reviews
13.8 mi away
Islanda Hideaway Resort
Islanda Hideaway Resort
#1 of 1 in Khlong Prasong
284 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Hotel Krabi
Beach Terrace Hotel Krabi
#78 of 111 in Ao Nang
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pine Bungalow
Pine Bungalow
#31 of 111 in Ao Nang
245 reviews
8.1 mi away
Thip Residence Boutique Hotel
5.1 mi away
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
#45 of 111 in Ao Nang
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Sands Resort

Address: 118 Moo 3, Klong Muang Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Krabi Town
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Krabi Town
Price Range: $44 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Krabi Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Krabi Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Sands Hotel Krabi Town
Krabi Sands Resort Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing