We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regretted”
Review of Krabi Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Krabi Sands Resort
Ranked #109 of 185 Hotels in Krabi Town
Reviewed April 10, 2008

I booked this hotel based on the good reviews, we stayed there for 4 days/3nights, and really regretted. The location is far from AoNang so we decide to rent a car. I must said the restaurant food is awful expeacially their breakfast, mostly they serve the same food. Tastless food. and you have to walk across to the restaurant with a lot of truck, car passes by, a lot of dust. And every night we need to walk around 10minutes to others restaurant and not much choice. If you decide to give it a try, please rent a car. The room is clean, showeroom small, pool is nice. I wont reconmmend to anyone cause of the location and restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AddyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 77 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2008

Just got back from a great stay at Krabi Sands and I would strongly recommend the resort for couples and families. The bungalows had everything we needed and were in great condition! The Pool was beautiful and a breath taking beach was only a short walk away. We walked along the beach every night to get downtown where there were a few shops, massage parlours and nice restaurants, although the resort restaurant was reasonably priced as well, and the free breakfast always had lots of fresh fruit! The area of Klong Muang isnt very developed yet, but I felt that only added to our Thailand experience and was a nice break from the party scene in Bangkok and Phuket. Only negative experience was that for some reason it took 2 hours to check out (dont people check out everyday!?) and because it took so long the cab to the ferry left without us, BUT to make up for it a staff member drove us to the pier in his own car and negotiated a long tail boat to take us to the ferry which had already left!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetsetter-mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2008

OK, the pool is nice, but no service and the chairs are not possible to adjust.

The area is quiet, except for the muslim prayers that are a bit disturbing, especially when at 5 am... The tpassing trucks must be very bad for the rooms next to the road. Noisy!!! Must pass the road to get to restaurant, not good... Not impressed by the restaurant, boring selection...15 min by foot gets you to Klong Muang with a few restaurants that are better.

I found the rooms OK, as expected...

There is nothing to do around the hotel, nothing...! forget the beach close to the hotel. Go to Koh Hong or other islands. Ao Nang for shopping...

The staff is friendly and a late check out was not a problem, booking tours at good prices too... just ask the staff, they will help you! Been to Thailand a few times, so you know thet do not cheat you here...

The place is just too boring if you do not like to be all by yourself. If you like to party, do not come here! the beach bar 100 meters away was empty ALL THE TIME. I did not see any other customers the whole stay. If you want to be all alone, this is the place, nobody will bother you here except the trucks and prayers...

It was not as we hoped it to be... Still, we had a good time, going to islands around the area, Ao Nang, Phi Phi and Koh Lanta.

Have a nice holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lexrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Great Huge Pool, Lovely clean spacious rooms / cottages, Good Travel desk to organise trips etc., Great restaurant with friendly helpful staff ... only downside is that it lies on rocky beach but only a few minutes walk from great shores. In a quiet stretch - 10 min walk to other restaurants etc and long way from any shopping. really helpful with children.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 3-ft-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

I do not have that big of problem with the hotel but I could not figure out the area it is in ? It is in the area as the best resorts. The problem is I could not figure out Krabi. The beach sucks, the area the hotel is in is dead and ugly. Nothing around it and nothing to do. Nothing ! We went down to the Sheraton and walked around. We found Ao Nang. It was okay for about an hour. The hotel is fine. I would say it is a great value. I just think Krabi stinks. We could not wait to get to Phuket.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2008

I booked the Krabi Sands based on the fact that everyone on TripAdvisor seemed to love it, and I don't want to disparage anyone's opinions here. The resort advertises itself as 3-star, and it is solidly that. With that in mind, after a 17-hour flight, it just wasn't what I had hoped for. This is more my mistake than theirs, but I wanted to bring it up to remind people that 3 stars is just that. If the place had been a bunch of beach bungalows with thatched roofs and mosquito nets, that might have been somewhat interesting in its authenticity -- instead, it felt a bit... Florida. If you're looking for accommodations on the spare side and are interested in the isolation of Klong Muang, or if you're a backpacker with a bit of extra cash and in need of some R&R, this could be just the place for you.

Pros: It's cheap. The staff did indeed seem very nice.

Cons: The bed linens had some stains, the open shower soaked the entire bathroom, the toilet didn't flush well, and there was mildew on the ceiling above the window. The pool wasn' t big enough to accommodate guests with screaming kids and everyone else.

Disclaimer: In all fairness, I didn't mention any of these issues to the staff because, yes, issues like these are in keeping with 3-star accommodation, and we had already decided the place wasn't our cup of tea and left after one night.

Stayed: February 2008
2  Thank handiwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

My wife and I spent a very pleasant week at this hotel just relaxing after an extremely active week in Cambodia. The area is very quiet and there is little in the way of night life but as a couple of OAPs that suited us just fine. The beach immediately in front of the hotel is not the best in Thailand but there are some beautiful beaches just a few minutes walk away

We booked the hotel having read the "Trip Advisor" reveiws. Overall we were very pleased with our choice. It is a fairly modest 3 star hotel and as such it does represent excellent value. The highlight has to be the pool - beautiful, clean, uncrowded and surrounded by a delightful tropical garden. Such a shame there was no poolside service, the only way to get a drink or a snack was to trek across a fairly busy road to the restaurant.

The rooms are well kept, clean and spacious, if somewhat basic. Ours had a few shelves but no drawers and only 5 hangers on an open rail for our clothes. As we were away for a month we did have quite a lot of stuff which we had to keep in the suitcase. But this was really ony a minor inconvenience.

The restaurant was a little disappointing. The food was adequate and inexpensive but the place was tired, untidy and cluttered, however we discovered several excellent and very cheap restaurants a few hundred yards up the road.

The hotel staff were most helpful and courteous. The arrangements for our trips organised by the receptionist all went without a hitch and as we were taking a late flight back to Singapore were were grateful that we were able to delay our check-out until 5:0 pm.

The Krabi Sands Resort is comfortable and very good value but there is scope for improvement.

-------

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssentiallTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
2.3 mi away
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort
Anyavee Tubkaek Beach Resort
#9 of 12 in Nong Thale
568 reviews
13.8 mi away
Islanda Hideaway Resort
Islanda Hideaway Resort
#1 of 1 in Khlong Prasong
284 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beach Terrace Hotel Krabi
Beach Terrace Hotel Krabi
#78 of 111 in Ao Nang
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pine Bungalow
Pine Bungalow
#31 of 111 in Ao Nang
245 reviews
8.1 mi away
Thip Residence Boutique Hotel
5.1 mi away
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
Ao-Nang Sunset Hotel
#42 of 111 in Ao Nang
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Sands Resort

Address: 118 Moo 3, Klong Muang Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Krabi Town
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Krabi Town
Price Range: $44 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Krabi Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Krabi Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Sands Hotel Krabi Town
Krabi Sands Resort Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing