We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”
Review of Krabi Sands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Krabi Sands Resort
Ranked #110 of 182 Hotels in Krabi Town
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed January 7, 2008

We stayed at the Krabi Sands for 6 days over Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed it.
I had stayed before with a friend, but this time we were staying longer and had Xmas inbetween.
It has not changed and is a lovely resort, very clean etc. Pictures on its website do it justice. Breakfasts are a bit boring after a while, but you get used to it. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, so I advise you get out of the resort and explore. We also hired a longtail for the day and went to Hong Island - I don't enjoy the organised trips and its so easy to sort it yourself.
Yes it is out of the main area, but we ended up hiring a moped and enjoyed whizzing around, as it gave you much more freedom to explore and was completely safe.
I would recommend Krabi Sands, but you must be prepared to travel a bit, and the taxi prices can be a bit of a bind. Probably public transport will increase once the new larger resorts nearby are completed.

  • Liked — bungalows
  • Disliked — nothing much
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank agentx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    21
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
18
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vaiano, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2007

This Resort is perfect. I must say our choice was driven by the convenient price (and the beautiful pictures you find online) but when you are there... you can't believe how perfect this place is.

Rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and luxury, the environment is excellent and all of them are terraced to the beautiful garden and pool. The people is adorable and their English is very good. The Restaurant is fascinating, directly on the beach with rich and various breakfast and yummy meals every day, also low priced. The location is peaceful and relaxing, Khlong Muang is still a preserved area if you look for regeneration so you won't have to meet hundreds of tourists walking around or lousy music and every western peace-breakers. The sea in front of the hotel is not the best, due to the sea tide, but sure is clean and wonderful beaches are there, just walk a little or rent a scooter at the reception. Every other place like Ao Nang or the Island are served well. I reccomend you this place because I am happy to tell, but part of me would have wanted to keep this paradise a secret...
I myself hope this area wold remain what it is, this is real Thailand, while Ao Nang is now a crowded mix of foreign things. A real pity they are givin up Thai tradition for western ones. If you fly 12 hours or more, you should be in Thailand, not USA, isnt' it? If you agree, Krabi Sands is your Thailand.

  • Liked — Hard to say: Pretty much everything.
  • Disliked — It is only least in what I liked but maybe the fact there's a Muslim community next to the Resort and they have to sing on the megaphone 4 or 5 times a day. But that's not annoying to me, was part of the scenery and good to listen, just saying that to someone this might be a negative thing. Not to me anyway.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank masmassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2007

We stayed at Krabi Sands for 4 nights in November. We knew from reading other reviews that the resort was in a quiet area but we wanted somwhere peacful to unwind. The staff were friendly and helpful, our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The pool and surrounding gardens were excellent, worthy of a 5 star hotel, as were the breakfasts. The hotel is a little isolated but it wasn't a problem. We hired a motorbike for 300 bhat a day. It was great fun and took us all over the island. I wouldn't want to spend a fortnight here but would strongly reccommend Krabi Sands to anyone wanting a shorter break. Thanks to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Liked — Peaceful, excellent service and facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaznpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2007

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights at the end of our holiday. The hotel is located on a main road which is between the bungalow area and the restaurant. So in order to get to the restaurant you have to cross the street and there are a lot of lorries passing by which can be noisy at times while having breakfast or dinner. However the bungalows are very nicely decorated with spacious bed rooms and nice bathrooms. Unfortunately little storage place for clothes is available however the baby cot for our little one was very nice and comfortable. The more disappointed we were to learn in the restaurant that they do not have a baby high chair even so there were quite a few families with children staying in the resort. The pool is very nice and big and the whole garden is kept very natural with wooden sunbeds and thai style pavillions and well maintained. For families with children ideal but watch the kids closely when going to the restaurant. The restaurant serves very good breakfast, for dinner a choice of fresh fish is missing but otherwise a great choice of food and drinks. The hotel is a bit far away from other amenities and to get there you can either walk along the road to the nearest restaurant ( 7min walk) or along the beach to the main part of Klong Muang around the Sheraton hotel (15min walk). The area itself has got little to offer with some small shops around (for shopping souvenirs go to Aonang, THB 400 for a taxi one way) and some restaurants along the main road. There is one good Thai food restaurant on the beach next to the Sheraton hotel. The beach in front of the hotel is not so nice, but keep walking towards the Sheraton and the beaches are getting better and suitable for swimming as well. The staff in the hotel is very helpful and friendly and the prices for tours are reasonable compared with other local offers. A must is to take a trip to the Hong islands which are only a 25min ride away from the hotel in a Long tail Boat for snorkeling and a day out on the beach. They are beautiful. All together a very nice hotel but the area has little to offer unless you take a taxi or a boat to go and see other places. I would recommend it for people that like to stay around the pool, read a good book and don't want much entertainment outside the hotel during their vacation. To do things the location is a bit out of the way, for short stays perfect but not for a long holidays.

  • Liked — the nice& clean villas, stunning pool, good breakfast
  • Disliked — the street between the resort and the restaurant, beach in front of the hotel
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PalmtreeShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2007

This is an ideal place if you like a small peaceful and friendly resort. Rooms are clean and pleasant and had all we needed. (we took our own travel kettle, but you can get one from reception). The pool and setting was the outstanding feature. The location is out of town but the staff on reception were so helpful in arranging trips (for which pick up from the resort was included). The staff kindly allowed us a late check out as we had a late departure - we were there in low season and the room wasn't booked that day. The restaurant food was always good and the location was very picturesque with a view out to sea - there is a fairly busy road the other side with lorries using it frequently (you do tend to ignore this after a day or so).
We did some great activities including 'SmartCooks' Thai cookery course; Kayaking thro' mangroves followed by an elephant ride in the jungle; and mountain biking to emerald pool & hot springs - great on a hot day after a bike ride! We arrranged diving thro' AquaVision in Ao Nang - they were great. We enjoyed a few Thai massages down at the Klong Muang plaza which is about a 20 minute leisurely walk away - this plaza has some good souvenir shops as well as a Souvenir Kiosk at the 'Terrace' restaurant opposite.
We would really recommend Krabi Sands Resort if you like an attractive base away from the crowds with a personal service.

  • Liked — Quiet attractive setting, friendly & helpful staff
  • Disliked — limited storage space in the room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MandJLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2007

My husband and I had an unexpected stay at the small and friendly family run Krabi Sands Resort, during our honeymoon holiday to Thailand, due to our friends resort not being quite finished. To say that we absolutely loved every aspect of our stay would be an understatement. The bungalows are air conditioned, clean and tidy, have a well stocked mini bar that is restocked on a daily basis, satelite TV and an extremely comfortable king sized bed. Although there wasn't a kettle in the bungalow for that early morning cuppa, these were available from reception foc, as were hair dryers and irons. The restuarant offered a good selection of both European and Thai food, and in particular the steak burgers were excellent, as was the goat curry, which my husband took a particular liking to. A basic breakfast is included in the price, with an upgrade to a full English breakfast for just a small additional cost. For us the highlight of the resort was the salt water swimming pool, which was exceptionally clean, spacious and always warm. We will be recommending Krabi Sands Resort to our friends and hopefully be going back next year. Thank you to Mark, Oay and all the staff, see you all soon, we had an excellent stay. Jayne & Lee Jackson x x England.

  • Liked — Swimming pool
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcks397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2007

My family (kids 8 and 7) just got back from a wonderful trip at Krabi Sands Resort. It was wonderful to stay at a small, quiet hotel with great accommodations.

We loved it because it was small. The front desk was very helpful in scheduling all our activities (longtail boat to Hong Island, car rental, elephant ride, etc.). They always made time for us and made us feel very much at home.

It should be clear that this is not a resort. We visited friends at the Sheraton Krabi which was a resort. However, I'm very frugal and don't want to pay for expensive beers being served to me at the pool. We just picked up drinks across the street, lounged at the quiet pool and went into Ao Nang for some action.

We will definitely stay here again. Everything was to our liking and the price was very low (2200 baht in October + 100 baht for an extra person in the room).

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikekSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
2.1 mi away
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
Tup Kaek Sunset Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Nong Thale
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beyond Resort Krabi
Beyond Resort Krabi
#8 of 12 in Nong Thale
1,388 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Elements Krabi Resort
The Elements Krabi Resort
#10 of 12 in Nong Thale
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Isle Beach Resort
Isle Beach Resort
#140 of 322 in Krabi Town
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vacation House
Vacation House
#69 of 309 in Krabi Town
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bliss Resort Krabi
Bliss Resort Krabi
#16 of 309 in Krabi Town
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krabi Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krabi Sands Resort

Property: Krabi Sands Resort
Address: 118 Moo 3, Klong Muang Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Krabi Town
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Krabi Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Krabi Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krabi Sands Hotel Krabi Town
Krabi Sands Resort Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing