We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That special place ... You only find once in your life !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Emerald Bungalow
Ranked #190 of 322 Specialty Lodging in Krabi Town
Canvey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“That special place ... You only find once in your life !”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is one of them places you find once in your life!, I have read other reviews!, And their is one that has really upset me! calling the owner a horrible man!!!!.. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and my opinion is.. you couldn't find a better person to look after you!! .. he arranged all our boat tours, taxi`s ! Even cooked us something not on the menu!! he went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and important ! since then i have traveled back twice ! and each time .. i found the place as breathe taking and tranquil as the last ! .. also the workers are always happy .. and very accommodating ! .. in fact again went beyond their work limit to see us happy and comfortable .. The grounds are very non-commercialized ! and i loved that !! you more or less have about a mile of beach to yourselves ! so honeymooners this would be ideal for you guys ! Rooms are very clean, esp the shower/toilets which is the first thing i look at when checking in lol .. as i am fussy .. but everything is spotless ! and can i add .. spotless for somewhere that's so close to the beach ! don't know how they keep it so clean ! but they do ! so be assured .. the money you spend will be spent well ! .. yes the drinks are a little more in krabi, but that's everywhere! and 60 baht for a drink is cheap ! where in the UK could you get a beer for just over a pound ! and quality one at that ! and drink it taking in the views of the surroundings of where you are .. still cheap if you price match them to your local ! so who cares ??? lol .. anyone moaning about that needs to STOP! as i see that as just picking holes ! i will be booking again ! And there's lots to do in the area .. kayaking , elephants rides .. which all can be arranged thru the owner if you ask ! Taxi into town , wheres there's plenty of souvenir shops/stalls .. bars/clubs. Trust me this place is a slice of heaven :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lewisb149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
11
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed here on a trip with a tour called Explore. The owner Mr Neil was an amazing guy who provided a warm welcome, laundry service very cheaply and food to die for. It is not the most luxurious, but it was very special and I would go back and I would recommend it. Just don't look for anonymous tourist luxury....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We actually stayed at a big hotel in the centre of Krabi but having chosen the resort for a relaxing and authentic Thai break we were a little surprised by how busy and commercial it was and were really fortunate to discover the Emerald bungalows. We travelled there from our hotel for a few days then booked to stay for one night too. The beach area and restaurant were fantastic and the beach bungalow was simply but tastefully decorated with loads of room and the largest bathroom ever! The owner made us feel so welcome and even brought us a coconut from his own tree he'd cut for a refreshing drink when the sun got too hot. The food was amazing and the staff very attentive. The room rates and food prices were very reasonable for high season and we found it tough to go back to our hotel after the peace and solitude. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

if you need to rest , relex peacefull, good food, here can do for you. yes right they don't have internet wifi, no cable tv , why you need all this if you need spend your time with your family and someone you love. i really love this place for my vacation...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yui_napat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novorossiysk, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed for a day on this resort. All bungalows are old and mouldy. No power until 6pm at night. No wifi at all. The territory is neglected (it brings some sort of beauty to view though) but I was afraid of coconuts that could fall onto my head. The owner is a terrible man - he made me and my friend go out from the restaurant at 22 pm, said that he will turn the lights off and we must go to the beach or somewhere. The prices are high too. Small Chang beer - 60 batt. There was a significant low tide on the beach also. Nearly 200 meters of shore become dry and it is impossible to swim during this period. Don't waste the precious days of your vacation - choose the other place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 91312_312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter Devon
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

I have been in two minds whether to ask Trip Advisor to add these bungalows to their list becuase it actually does seem to be Thailand's best kept secret.
However, we have over the years had the warmest welcome and the best service here and we feel it is only fair that we share it with others who are looking for somewhere very special indeed.

We first chanced upon these bungalows in about 2002, and subsequently stayed there for the next 3 times we visited. We then visited again this year and unlike so many other places we have stayed which had changed almost beyond recognition, this was a real haven of peace and tranquility, we had the beach almost to ourselves, and we felt like we had been landed on our own private island.

Accessed either by long tail from Hat Nopparat Boat Pier or by taxi from Ao Nang (either the pier or the town) althouth many drivers will not know how to get there! once you are there you can have the owner call car/motorbike for you and give directions.

It is becuase it is a little awkward to get to that it is so special and they do not currently have a website BUT you can email them on ,

I could ramble on for hours so here is the good stuff;
* Good variety of bungalows, fan, bamboo, concrete and aircon
* Really spacious and well tended gardens, the bungalows are well spaced
* Large wooden built restaurant and large bar, both v comfortable
* All directly on to hat Napparat beach - remember this place is across the river from the Pier
* Daily cleaning service, clean towels every day, fresh flowers on the bed!
* Great menu and lovely food, but ask the owner to pick up something at the fish market the next day, he cooks up a storm in the kitchen!
* The beach is gorgeous, very clean and natural, there are islands you can walk out to at low tide
* The beach is a haven for wildlife - crabs, hermit crabs like you have never seen, starfish, box fish, even monkeys at the far end
* You can while away days and days just beach combing
* Gorgeous sunsets and sun rise as it is south facing
* Friendly happy staff who have been there for years, nothing is too much trouble
* The owner speaks great English and has lots of contacts for anything you mist need (he was able to beat our best mini bus price to Lanta by over 1000 Baht)
* There is a real chance you might not see anyone else on the beach all day (or maybe not now they are on TripAdvisor?)
* You will hear almost no boat noise, long tails do not frequent this beach because of how low the tide goes
* The sea is extremely calm and safe for children swimming and paddling

And the stuff you might not like
* Ok, it really is more awkward to get to but if you get off the ferry at Hat Napp from Lanta or Phi Phi just charter a long tail to drop you over the river - about 100B
* There fore it is not easy to just 'pop' into Ao Nang, but then once you have been there once you might not mind that?!
* At low tide you cannot swim in the sea - the sea goes out for probably a km, and this is when you will see all the amazing sea life.
* HOWEVER, some areas of the beach are quite muddy at low tide
* I tihnk that's all but I will update this as things occur to me

Check out the pics anyway, make up your own mind but email them if you are interested;
[--]
We paid 1800B for a huge concrete built family bungalow with aircon and our travel companions paid 1500 for a slightly smaller one, there wooden fan bugalows were only 800 B I think, you will need to negotiate.

If you want to follow the crowds go to railey/phi phi/phuket - but if you want to be brave, try this, it's worth it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ciarasmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandbeach Bungalow
Sandbeach Bungalow
#48 of 322 in Krabi Town
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pan Beach Bungalows
Pan Beach Bungalows
#80 of 322 in Krabi Town
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Long Beach Villa
Long Beach Villa
#42 of 143 in Ao Nang
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Krabi Klong Moung Bay View Resort
2.0 mi away
Bann Chom le
Bann Chom le
#71 of 322 in Krabi Town
27 reviews
3.2 mi away
White Sand Halal House Krabi
White Sand Halal House Krabi
#4 of 7 in Nong Thale
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald Bungalow

Property: The Emerald Bungalow
Address: 80 Moo 4, Noparat-Thara Beach Moo. 4 | Ao-Nang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 322 Specialty Lodging in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Emerald Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Bungalow Hotel Krabi Town
The Emerald Bungalow Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing