We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice view at the view point”

Tiger Cave Temple (Wat Tham Suea)
Book In Advance
More Info
$163.17*
and up
Full-Day City and Jungle Tour from Krabi
Ranked #2 of 98 things to do in Krabi Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This temple complex not only serves as a religious site for the monks who live and worship there, but also features a maze of natural caves in an overgrown jungle valley where stone tools, pottery remains and the mold for making Buddha footprints have been excavated.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice view at the view point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was very challenge for both of us.

Each step about 10 inches hight. When we looked up from the first step, it look so high and we were wondered how far could we go.

When we reached the top at the step of 1,237 .... it beautiful up there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,485
    780
    235
    35
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Peaceful place, but probably boring for those who don't climb the 1200 + stairs. Heard that the view is worthwhile from the other tourists of same van.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank zoeyzme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting to see Tiger Temple Cave”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Interesting and worth a visit for 2-3 hrs, the hike of 1000+ stairs to the mountaintop is worth the effort for a great view

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skibumfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome climb and view at the top”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Went there as part of the group tour to Tiger cave, elephant ride, emerald pool and hotspring. The guide gave us one hour to explore the area before the next stop for elephant ride. Took me a good 35 minutes to climb more than 1200 steep steps and I was the only one in the group who decided to do it (my gf gave up after 10 steps). Didn't bring water but luckily the water dispenser at the top was working. There's toilet on the way up as well. You will see a big Buddha Statue and you could put a donation in one of the many boxes for the temple's upkeep. When I came back down my gf said the tour group left because I took too long. WTH one hour is not enough if you want to climb and enjoy the scenery at the top. Tell that to the guide when you're there. Anyways the guide came back to pick us about 20 minutes later after sending the rest for the elephant ride. Note: Ladies have to dress decently i.e. no sleeveless tops or at least a scarf to cover as the guide will tell you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Onsy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful, 100% worth the climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

We visited this place in August, and I have to admit climbing the steps in sweltering heat was pretty tough. The views however, make it totally worth it. This is coming from someone terrified of heights! If you are in Krabi this is a must see location, and even if you're a little nervous about some of the stairs… if I can do it you certainly can!
Such a beautiful place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiger Cave Temple (Wat Tham Suea) also viewed

 
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 

Been to Tiger Cave Temple (Wat Tham Suea)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing