We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG - don't go here - it's just a tourist trap!”
Review of Phi Phi Islands

Phi Phi Islands
Book In Advance
More Info
$117.51*
and up
Full-Day Phi Phi Island Sunrise by Speedboat from Phuket
Ranked #9 of 99 things to do in Krabi Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
126 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“OMG - don't go here - it's just a tourist trap!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I went to Koh Phi Phi by an organised tour form our Hotel in Krabi. I went there last 12 years ago, and the place was not recognisable, apart form the water beautiful around.

It is completely overrun by tourist, the main 'road' is like Oxford street on a Saturday afternoon just before Christmas - awful.

Do yourself a favour and don't come here, rather visit any of the plenty smaller islands with a private Long-tail boat. That will cost you about the same if you are four people...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcAroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,413
    1,252
    646
    309
    300
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic scenery.. Fantastically crowded”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

The Islands are really a must do if you're in Phuket and they are certainly no secret. Pick a good tour group. We paid a bit more and went with Laguna who were very good. A modern, spotlessly clean speed boat that could have seated 25 or so but was capped at 14 plus the crew. We saw plenty of similar sized boats with 30/40 people packed on. The islands are very pretty but as already covered in reviews are very commercialised and crowded. The boat parking is almost as spectacular as the rocky cliffs. It's still the same beach as the one in "The Beach" but there was only Leonardo De Caprio on it and not 2000 beach goers and 50 speedboats parked up that you'll see!

Helpful?
Thank Monkey_Kelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Paradise island! We stayed on Phak Nam Bay, on the other side of the island away from Tonsai Village, so the atmosphere was laid back, relaxing and quiet - a real getaway in paradise! We walked up to and over Phi Phi Viewpoint for stunning views and to Tonsai Village which was lots of fun too! This island has it all!! So glad we stayed and would definitely stay again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The trip to Phi Phi islands and the James Bond Island takes about two hours so be patient. Make sure you carry a hat, sunscreen, sun glasses and a rain jacket. The islands are amazing, it is something so unique. The scenery was beautiful. We were taken by a rowing boat into the bat caves, its smelly and damp. Water gets into the boat so be prepared to get wet. Lunch is served on the boat from fried chicken, noodles, chips and baked fish. You could also have coffee, tea, water and cooldrinks which is all inclusive. they do say that you could buy pearls on the island but every stall sells the similiar things and most of the necklaces are shells cut and polished as a bead. The trip to and from the islands takes a whole day so be prepared.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but brief”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The islands are beautiful, but the stay was brief. We went with a tour operator, as most would, and the food was...very average. It was pretty much a day trip but a good 3 hours was spent getting to and fro Phuket, and only about 45min in water time. However, if you're in Phuket, you might as well go Phi Phi island. Another solution would be to travel to Phi Phi island and do your own stuff.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Felix L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phi Phi Islands also viewed

 
Railay Beach, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Phi Phi Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing