We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place worthy of a visit”

Hippies Bar & Restaurant Ao-Nang
Ranked #56 of 577 Restaurants in Krabi Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Italian, Seafood, Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place worthy of a visit”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

The food was great and the staff extremely friendly. The squid could have been spicier considering the friendly warnings. The toilet could also have been cleaner, but will be going back to see the live music show later. Worth a visit if you're close to the Noppharat Thara Beach.

Helpful?
Thank Kuula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    40
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ian and Lorraine Fraser UK "You have got to try this place"”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

As part of the trip to Thailand we stayed in Ao Nang for 9 days and I didn't discover the Hippie bar until half way through my visit(my loss).The staff are really, really, friendly, really and the food is superb, try the freshly caught mussels or those delicious black crabs. The owner and his missus will keep you right on selection and their English is very good. Live music and spectacular fire displays add to the atmosphere and whether it's a quiet laid back lunch or that special meal for two in the evening you won't be disappointed and it won't break the bank. A truly memorable experience with genuinely lovely people who can also conjure up some mean cocktails so if you get the chance make sure you give them a try, you won't regret it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great food, great atmosphere.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have been into this restaurant 4 times now on this holiday. It is quite a way from where we are staying so we need to hire a bike or taxi but that hasn't put us off. We have eaten there at lunch time which is much quieter, laid back and casual, but atmosphere still great. Evening time is busier, still friendly. They provided Connect 4 games on the tables and it was good to see lots of the people of all ages and races playing. There was a massive choice of food on the menu and good value too. My favourite was the banana fritters and ice cream. The spring rolls were great too.
There was a live group on every night. Great guitarists, OK singer, also a fire show some nights.
It is facing the wide beach but on other side of the busy road .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krabi, Krabi, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great everything”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in Ao Nang for a month doing some training and from the beginning Hippie's became our go to spot anytime we needed a quick meal or went with a group of 20 for a birthday. The food is great, both Thai and Western and the staff were exceptional, putting on fire shows and karokee nights just for us. Strongly recommend this place for anyone in the area, order an Ao Nang Fantasy from Mah for me.
-Dylan.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dylan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Coolest place in ao nang”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We came here everyday on our stay here!

The staff were what make it! Ever so friendly and were one of the only places in Southeast Asia who were really concerned with ensuring our food was ok.

The food of course was splendid, offering thai and western dishes!

They even have a fire show in the evenings which is cool.

Love! Love! Love this place!

Helpful?
Thank Hanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippies Bar & Restaurant Ao-Nang also viewed

 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 

Been to Hippies Bar & Restaurant Ao-Nang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing