We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Atmosphere Great Food”
Review of Mr.KRAB-i - CLOSED

Mr.KRAB-i
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $6
Cuisines: Asian, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: CLOSED for HOLIDAY. A traditional Thai teak house offering cocktails and beer in a casual but yet vibrant atmosphere spinning quality lounge music with a Clubby vibe. The outdoor porch provides the right settings for a laid-back evening before moving on further sipping cocktails at the 14 meter bar counter and meeting loads of people. LOCATION: Central Chao Fha Road caught between Pak-Up Hostel and Joy Bar (opposite Loma Hotel). Certified " Clean Food - Good Taste" by the Ministry of Public Health.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Great Atmosphere Great Food”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

When we arrived the owner greeted and seated us.
We were given a menu that was a balance between Italian and Thai.
My wife and I both chose spaghetti bolognese.
We were asked what type of pasta we would like.
This was nice as we don't always want the standard spaghetti
We were taken round to pick from a wall ( piece of art ) which has a fantastic selection of pasta.
If your unsure about pasta. Ask the owner. He's Italian. He can explain both what is traditional and what you also might enjoy.
While waiting for the food we were offered free popcorn and wifi.
The food was very authentic and very reasonably priced. No short cuts on the ingredients. Which you often find in Thailand.

Will definitely return and recommend to anyone

Craig H

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    69
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Krabi Town, Thailand
1 review
“Lovely family & excellent food!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A short stroll from our hostel (K R Mansion - cheap and cheerful) this was the perfect pick for our first meal in Krabi town. Run by a very sweet Italian-Thai family (three gorgeous kids) we were given popcorn while we waited, service with a BIG smile and lots of helpful advice on where to go next and some delicious food to boot! They serve Italian and Thai - we went for Thai (seafood and penang curries) and loved it, generous portions and free fruit to finish - but the pasta looked delicious too. We all left happy and very full. Planning to go back for lunch today :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chiara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant at quiet top end of town”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Free bicycles and wifi, open all day apart from maybe shut for a couple of hours in the afternoon, this place serves Thai and fantastic Italian pasta dishes with pasta, parmesan etc imported from Milan. Lovely atmosphere, friendly Italian-Chinese couple running the place and decent prices too. I would definitely recommend. Stayed in Krabi for a fortnight and ate here about four times - their delicious chicken schnitzel on more than one occasion!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveStraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krabi Town, Thailand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great pasta & wine”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Mr.KRAB_i is run by a super nice Italian-Thai family. The service is amazing. As a guest you feel really special and welcome. It´s not like one of these touristic places that you got the feeling it´s only about making money.

Me and my boyfriend have been there three or four times and will definitely come again.
The food was always super delicious and fresh. I tried the pasta which is imported from Italy with great wine, also imported from Italy. The Espresso after Dinner tasted great too.

The music and allover atmosphere is relaxing!

Mr.KRAB-i is A MUST GO for anyone in Krabi!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairlie
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Great food”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We ate here a few weeks after it opened and were impressed with the overall quality of the food and the service. The free cookies and popcorn were a nice touch! The restaurant is very clean and has been very tastefully restored. The owners are friendly and go the extra mile to create a very pleasant, relaxed atmosphere. Would recommend calling in for a meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieFairlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr.KRAB-i also viewed

Krabi Town, Krabi Province
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
Nong Thale, Krabi Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing