We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayaing in Thalane”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ao Thalane

Ao Thalane
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.15*
and up
Small Group Sunset Kayaking at Ao Thalane with BBQ Dinner
Ranked #17 of 98 things to do in Krabi Town
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Kayaing in Thalane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked a full day kayaking adventure here with Arunsiri Travel from our guesthouse in Krabi. The tour company was very professional and knowledgeable and going through the Mangroves and the silence from the natural surroundings made this one of the highlights of our trip!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    52
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sunset kayaking in Ao Thalane”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We decided to do the sunset kayaking in Ao Thalane after deciding we wanted to be out of the intense afternoon sun. It started off well when we realized we were the only 2 on the tour. We thought it was our lucky day. The kayaking was mostly in the mangroves but we werent able to kayak much due the the very low tide. After seeing the non-existent lagoon (cuz of the low-tide) and some mischievous monkeys and kayak amoung the mangroves we went to catch the sunset. It was very short and quite disappointing. The sun set and disappeared into trees which made the sunset even more short lived. It was an average trip. But not fantastic. If you are pressed for time, dont worry about giving this a miss.

TIP: make sure you check if the tide is high or low during the time of your kayaking. HIGH is best.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tif M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best kayaking Experience with a glimpse of Histroy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I wanted to kayak in Krabi and this was the best way. Kayaking around these limestone caves and going thorough the historic places where tribal used to stay.

Also the guide told us about the Tsunami which effected these area. A must try out option which will help in understanding more of local place.

The mangroves were amazing and going under those low end caves were fascinating :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohan_iiitc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great kayaking among the mangrove”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The service tour that we book took us from the hotel to this place. When we arrive they explain everything that we need to know regarding safety and all. free tea and coffee provided. they give you bottle of water for the trip - good. The trip itself is wonderful. You'll paddle through rising stones and mangrove. My partner and i was just speechless. Excellent nature. Must visit and do the kayaking thing! You wont regret.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublin_IrelandMomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique Kayak Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went in a group of three, together with a local guide. I'm not much of a sports person, so the journey was a tad tiring for me, was about 1 hour and a half worth of kayaking, with breaks in between exploring caves and sorts. But it was well worth it. The guide was informative and brought us through low caves with stalacmites and stalactives that we had to dodge 'em, bend over or lay back. There were bats but they were harmless and minded their own businesses. We trekked to some abandoned temples and caves with rock drawings. Overall, a wonderful experience but came back with mighty sore arms.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Isya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ao Thalane also viewed

 

Been to Ao Thalane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing