We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb...”
Review of Rimlay Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rimlay Villas
Reviewed February 4, 2014

we stayed there on our honeymoon and the place itself made our days...the location, the view from the room, the food, cordiality of the staff, room service everything was beyond our expectation...those who love to indulge themselves in a hustle free mode for a few days, this is a perfect nook for them...

Room Tip: all villas are sea facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sutanuka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa C, Manager at Rimlay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for such a great comment and helpful tips.
We hope you had an amazing honeymoon at Rimlay Villas and hope to see you again soon.

Alisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 171 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

We loved our stay here. We were picked up at the airport and had 2 fantastic days in Krabi. The pool was nice and it is just a walk down the beach to catch a long tail boat to Railay beach. Staff was helpful, and it was a great place to do our laundry after 2.5 weeks of travelling! Food was average. We walked down the beach and the resort just a walk down the beach is tastier.

Room Tip: Don't get the massage in your room, it is too weird.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa C, Manager at Rimlay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely and helpful comment.
We hope to see you again at Rimlay Villas soon :)

Alisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Firstly, on arrival were were not greeted with the same warmth that we had experienced anywhere on our travels in Thailand. More of a shout "you booked in?...name?" Hmmm....not expecting that type of greeting!...but anyhow......

We had booked to spend 7 nights here as part of our Honeymoon and 40th Birthday celebrations in Thailand. We even phoned from the UK beforehand to confirm as they did not email to confirm the booking back to us ahead of the trip, which is what our booking agent said they would do.

That said our trip had changed over the 3 weeks we had been travelling and so on arrival we asked to amend our booking to 4 nights. (Unfortunately we could not do so beforehand as we were on the island of Koh Jum previously with no internet access.)
When we mentioned this on arrival we received the most agressive and unwelcome response since we had been in this beautiful country.
We received a barrage of shouting from the lady that this is their "peak season" including waving of her arms and we were told we cannot amend unless we emailled Booking.com (our booking agents) and amended our reservation beforehand and not on arrival.
We explained that we had no previous internet access, as we were on Koh Jum and the owner/lady said she cannot help us until this was done at which point she walked off.
So with phone in hand we proceeded to do so.....

During this time the lady kept walking past us huffing and puffing at us and we could hear her shouting at someone on the phone about us in Thai (as we heard our surname and a reference to booking.com being mentioned etc)
Another couple were also checking in just after us and they received equally appalling service.

Whilst this was going on, my husband was looking at the restaurant/bar area and commented on the unsual timings for meal service and that it felt more like a "Butlins" holiday camp than villas. Which was very odd indeed.

We cannot comment on the cleanliness of the facilities as we didn't even make it that far.

Due to the aggressive unwelcome nature of this woman we decided to cut our losses and cancel the entire booking. (Forefitting 1 night reservation cost as per T&C of our booking agents) when we did this the lady said "fine" she walked away and left us standing with our suitcases not knowing where we were, and how to get a taxi etc.
We ended up walking with heavy suitcases over 3 miles in 36 degree heat so as to flag a cab to get us to another location.

In all, we agree with the previous review that "the owner/lady does not go out of her way to be welcoming, kind or helpful in any way. She gives very short answers and no additional advice or information given."
Her manner was very different from any other hotel owner we came across during our stay in Thailand.

You have been warned.....
Avoid....!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank Ladydrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa C, Owner at Rimlay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

In response to this persons many comments, we would like to give our side. first of all you booked thru Booking.com so they confirm your booking ,not us. Second, it was not me the owner you spoke to, the girl in reception phoned me which is probably the conversation you over heard.
Thirdly, you have to get Booking.com authorization to change your reservation or we must pay them for your full stay, that is what the receptionist tried to explain to you. She agreed to your three night stay and asked for your credit card or cash for payment of three nights, you refused to pay and made some remarks and walked out of our premises.
If you had stayed at the office and asked for a taxi, she would have called you one, you did not.
As for our restaurant times, we are open from 8am till 10 pm, most of our normal customers find these hours quite reasonable for their holiday.
As to the couple behind you waiting to check in, they had no problems and quite enjoyed their stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I spent 3 nights here in krabi , it is a beautiful place , quiet , clean . It has a good beach view of Phi Phi Island . But the beach isn't good for swimming . I rent a car on my trip. It need about 10 minutes to drive to Ao Nang beach and Krabi town . Hotel provide shuttle but I haven't try this time. They have restaurant serve food till 9 at night . Luckily I have a good weather this trip , I didn't spent too much time in hotel .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enochhung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa C, Manager at Rimlay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for the review and pictures of Rimlay Villas :))
Hope to see u again soon
Alisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights here as part of a 17 day tour of Thailand. The resort is very clean and well run. The owner is efficient and hard working, but does not go out of her way to be welcoming, kind or helpful in any way. Any discussion or greeting was initiated by me, with very short answers and no additional advice or information given. Her husband was open and friendly but was only there for a day of our visit before returning to take care of business in Phuket. Her manner was very different from any other hotel owner we came across during our stay in Thailand. Pros of Rimlay Villas: clean, good restaurant, very nice staff who serve in the restaurant and work on the grounds, beautiful pool and grass area. Cons: don't come here to swim in the ocean as the beach is not clean or good for swimming, know that you will have to take a tuk-tuk into town (resort offers a free one way service in the morning and early evening), owner is not welcoming, and overall, Ao Nang Beach (main beach area in town) is not clean with littler everywhere, and owner does not go out of her way to be welcoming. My advice: choose your island/ beach area carefully! We will never return to this area of Thailand.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravelforfunSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We went to Krabi to enjoy the sand, sea and sun but rain, rain and rain was what we got. Anyway, our choice of Rimlay Villas save the day as it was really an oasis of peace, quiet and tranquility unlike the hustle and bustle of Ao Nang. While waiting for the rain to subside, I enjoyed sitting at the veranda watching the waves hitting the beach. It was like sitting in a beautiful garden with the beach at your doorsteps. Also, you can see the surrounding islands from the villas. It is a great place to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature. The rooms are clean though not big but that is not a problem because you can chill out at the veranda.

Tips for Malaysian from the northern states. You may consider driving to Krabi as you will enjoy the pleasant journey through the countryside of southern Thailand. It is not very difficult to drive around Krabi. The town is about 25 minutes from Rimlay Villa and Ao Nang is just 5 minutes away.

Thank you Alisa and your friendly staff.

Room Tip: Pick the rooms facing the swimming pool to have a good view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa C, Manager at Rimlay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, glad that you have a great time here with us.
Hope to see you again soon
Alisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

It is a very peaceful place. If you prefer to enjoy the party most likely you will be disappointed. However, if you would like to avoid the crowds most likely you will love here. The staff is very polite and helpful. I chose pan cake as my breakfast. It is totally awesome. The restaurant is great as well. I had a wonderful dinner during my second night. They do their job with sincerity. The only drawback is the noise from wood flooring. In conclusion, I had a pleasant stay with my wife. Thanks Rimlay Villa!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisgml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa C, Manager at Rimlay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thanks for the review of Rimlay Villas, your pictures are great and hopefully will entice more people to come and stay and enjoy our food also

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Thip Residence Boutique Hotel
8.4 mi away
Isle Beach Resort
Isle Beach Resort
#134 of 349 in Krabi Town
15 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arawan Krabi Beach Resort
Arawan Krabi Beach Resort
#29 of 147 in Ao Nang
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Krabi Tropical Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Avatar Railay Krabi
Avatar Railay Krabi
#1 of 2 in Railay Beach
468 reviews
8.4 mi away
Bliss Resort Krabi
Bliss Resort Krabi
#17 of 336 in Krabi Town
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimlay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimlay Villas

Address: 325 Moo 5, Susanhoy Rd. | Ao Nammao Beach, Saithai, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Krabi Town
Price Range: $37 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rimlay Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small group of modern well appointed beach front bungalows, each bungalow has a sea view and includes air conditioning,hot water, mini bar,free WiFi, LED tv, and in room safe. The restaurant and bar overlook the swimming pool and the beach which is perfect for leisurely walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Rimlay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimlay Villas Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing