We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”
Review of Koh Phi Phi Tour

Koh Phi Phi Tour
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Our guide's name was Turtle and he was energetic, informative, and fun. We went out on a long tail boat to see Monkey Island where we saw monkeys playing around, then we rode past Viking Cave which Turtle taught us about. We stopped at Maya Bay for some snorkeling before we watched the sunset then we saw bioluminescent algae!
Fantastic trip, fun chatting with the others, and a great guide.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinoburgerbots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    61
    35
    30
    29
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Pick up from hotel was on time, speed boat left on time and the day was what we expected. Of course Maya beach was full of boats and tourists so you would not want to spend more than 30 minutes there, but take away boats and tourists and it would have been beautiful. Phi Phi Don for lunch, good beach but again lots of tourists (January being high season). The most beautiful beach where we stayed long enough to relax and swim was Bamboo Island, the water here is crystal clear and blue and the tour operator served us with lovely cakes and water melon before heading back to Ao Nang.
A special thank you to a young lady called Pim who was our hostess on the boat, a university student I think, she was charming and very helpful.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jsd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Super Day Out”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our hotel Sheraton Krabi used this tour company and we did some research on other local tour operators. We are so pleased we picked this group as it was an excellent day out. We were picked up from our hotel and headed to a small pier to get shown to our speedboat (we were lucky as most were full) we had the whole front of the boat between ourselves and 1 other couple which was fantastic. The trip was bumpy and great fun - soaked a few times. We went to Bamboo Island first and as we were on a new boat we arrived a good 40 minutes before anyone else so we had the place to ourselves so we got some incredible shots. We then headed for some snorkelling which was ace we saw lots and lots of beautiful clown fish (our guide would not let us drive where other boats had stopped as he advised us that it was too dangerous in that area and that tourist had been killed by other boats and longtail boats) (another reason to pay for a good tour company). We then headed to Monkey Island to see the little rascals – very cute but so not afraid of people. After then we headed to Maya Bay where the beach was filmed – it was rammed with boats and not a pleasant experience but at least we can say we have been we then headed for a 2nd snorkelling stop. Last stop was lunch in Phi Phi town at a lovely outdoor restaurant just of the beach. I took that opportunity to have a look around the fabulous market and walk along the beautiful beach.

All in all a fabulous day out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-Graeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
309 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“krabi 4-island tour”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The limestone formations are interesting, but the islands are very very crowded. You only got 45 minutes for each spot and you won't feel relaxed at all given the crowd and the time constraint.

It's also jellyfish spawning season and there are many fishy squishy jellyfish eggs on the beach and in the sea. It's just gross as you'd hit those eggs with every stroke you make. The snorkeling near chicken island was a joke -- there aren't many living corals and fish in the sea at all.

We stayed at Tubkaak boutique resort with a very nice and quiet beach. If you're desperate to be away from your resort, go for it. But I would recommend chartering your own boat to Hong Island in early morning to beat the crowd instead...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank jaylowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,061 reviews
513 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Tick a Box travel”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The speed boat departed from Ao nang beach. There are approx 4 companys doing speed boat trips to the islands from Ao Nang.
you tend to be crammed onto boats and then race from one isalnd to another.
The beaches are packed when you arrive and at one beach there would have been 25 boats stacked side to side and it would be almost impossible to place a towl on the ground.
It is beautiful, but your day is 30 mins here - then travel - then 45 mins here, - then travel, then 30 mins snorkeling here - then travel, etc.

The water is beautiful near the islands, but in truth, Yes i wanted to see Phi Phi, but next time i would hire a long boat and simply go to a closer island where the sand and beaches are also beautiful. The boats race acroiss the water making it a thuddering ride.
As an indication - the 30 people on our boat where falling asleep at 3:45pm when the boat headed for home.

be warned - you pay more for a smaller boat which we where promised only to get there and be told we where ina group of 47. We complained and where shuttled off to another company.
It would appear that whilst there are different groups, they do contract out people to the other charter boats if one company sells too many tickets - I may be wrong, but seems that the many many ticket sellers soimply get a vfee for each ticket - the rest is up to the tour groups on the day

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dara-Khmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koh Phi Phi Tour also viewed

 
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 

Been to Koh Phi Phi Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing