We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms, low prices.”
Review of JP's Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JP's Mansion
Ranked #94 of 321 Krabi Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had a large double, air-con room at the front of the hotel. The bed was OK but we only had an extra large towel given to use bedding so we used our sheet sleeping bags instead. We stayed one night as a stop over to Phi Phi and if I were to come again I'd get straight on the boat to the islands (most buses will connect with a ferry). Having said that, Krabi is a lovely town with some good food options - we also enjoyed their jazz festival in the evening. The hotel is close to all the shops, restaurants and market. The wifi worked well in the room and downstairs. A solid budget choice for Krabi but worth spending the extra on a room with an external window.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stufnotstub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 100 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here and loved it!the owner so nice and,unlike other peoples reviews,did not try to sell us anything, he was happy to just chill with a drink and chat or just look out onto the world with you. Great price for what you get, bit basic but if your travelling se asia you dont carry your bloody silver spoon in your mouth! If you're reading the 2 terrible reviews they are misleading i think the people writing them are far too used to the lap of luxury and have unrealisic expectations! If you want to meet some lovely people who genuinely want to help you and see some amazing sights and smells and lovely tastes go to krabi and rock the jp mansion.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Calmac84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stay here four nights to have a look round Krabi, it is ideally located just a short walk from everything, and very quite at night for a great sleep. The sourounding areas has everything you will need, we liked the night food market down by the pier, but everywhere we tried served good food. There is a bar, well its really a chill out area for guests where you can just lay back and chat or surf the net. The owners are very helpful and exude a calm which really rubs off on the guests. The AC room we had was of a good standard especially for the price. Recommended

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank RonA_Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Turned up at this place after booking online and we were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in one of the budget twin rooms with a shared bathroom and we found both the room and the shower room to be exceptionally clean. The guesthouse itself is very well located, just a short walk to the night market and the river. The couple who run the place are also very friendly and happy to help if you need advice on anything. We found it a shame that the bar downstairs was so quiet each nice as, for us, it was a really nice place to chill out but this wasn't a huge problem. I also feel that I should note that one of our beds was very very hard compared to the other, but this wouldn't put me off staying here again were I in the area - the place is still excellent value!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stopped over at JP mansion on route to phi phi and found it a brilliant choice in Krabi town, short walk from all the action and surrounded by great local restaurants, including a huge local market just behind which really shows a slice of daily local life. The staff and owner, Rin, are very friendly and always happy to help with information and I found their tour prices to be competitive and cheaper than other places. The rooms are all excellent for the price with good selection of cable channels. The downstairs bar area is a great place to meet other travellers or just chill out and plan the rest of your trip and the beer is ridiculously cheap! @expressive-one, this is the tropics, you will find mosquitoes almost everywhere! Certainly not a problem for me during my stay! The friendly atmosphere and engaging locals are worth the money alone. looking forward to returning one day!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A little further away from the main area than most hostels, but still very easy walking distance to the markets and restaurants. The rooms are nice with aircon and ensuites, but the showers are virtually over the toilets and the whole bathroom gets soaked. The reception doesn't always seem to be manned, and they half-heartly try to sell you some tours, but we found cheaper elsewhere. The wifi only works in the reception area so you have to sit down there, and as its open-fronted, there can be a lot of mosquitoes.
Not much to do in Krabi apart from markets and restaurants. If you want a beach you need to go to Ao Nang or Railey.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expressive-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

hello everyone!
our expirience in JP Mansion was more than we expected.. we had a plan to stay in Krabi Town for five days, but in the end we stayed for over 30 days.. rooms are comfortable and very clean, ac or fan, cable tv, hot shower, wifi, and beautiful chilling bar downstairs with great music for every taste.. just next to the guesthouse there is a small shop working 24/7, across the street there is an old temple area with little lake and real jungle in the heart off Krabi town, 5 min walk to the river, if you rent a scooter, its just a few minutes drive to aonang beach, or other beaches which are beautiful and not so crowded with tourists, national park and tiger cave temple are also near. we really enjoyed staying there, great atmosphere, the boss is always there to help with a friendly advice and always says everything is POSSIBLE. it was the best stay of our trip, we recommend it to everyone..
kuki & nina

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuki92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
11.1 mi away
Phulay Bay, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
7.2 mi away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#7 of 12 in Railay Beach
2,190 reviews
6.9 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 12 in Railay Beach
1,911 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
7.1 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#19 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JP's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JP's Mansion

Address: 52 Maharat Road / Soi 5, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Krabi Town
Price Range: $10 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — JP's Mansion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your JP's Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
JP's Mansion Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing