We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well! It's a Cemetery - what would one expect!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fossil Shell Beach

Fossil Shell Beach
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well! It's a Cemetery - what would one expect!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Well! It's a Cemetery - what would one expect! It's a place to visit and just take it as a nice tuk-tuk ride further from the Aonang Beach area. It's just interesting to know how the tides around brings in all the fossils. What was more interesting to me was how a young lady was picking up shells and creating interesting animals out of this shells just to sell.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    19
    37
    31
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Krabi Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shell fossil beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Ok, to pass by and have a look but seriously overrated as most things in Thailand are. Don't get fooled and buy the souvenirs, you can buy exactly the same souvenirs in Krabi town at much cheaper price.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Johan484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Go only as part of a trip that also visits other attractions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We visited the shell fossil beach as part of a day trip from Ao Nang, flagging down a passing tuk-tuk and hiring the driver for a trip around Ao Nang. We visited the sea water fish farm research centre, the “Nemo Farm”, Shell Beach (sometimes called Gastropod Cemetery), and Ao-Nam Mao beach and pier, where long tail boats depart for Krabi and Railay. Tuk-tuks, motorcycles with covered sidecars, are great – I love riding in them because they can’t go very fast and there’s lots to see.

We had been told by the proprietor of the Sabai Mansion where we were staying that Shell Beach wasn’t really much but I did want to see it anyway, visualising in my mind vast quantities of gigantic fossilised snail shells. Well, of course it was nothing like that, being instead a small area of what look like dozens of concrete slabs stacked on one another, but, in reality, are compressed layers of rock with billions of tiny shellfish about 40 million years old embedded in it. Apparently, this is the only such site in the world (at least as far as I could tell from the rather tortured English on the faded description sign). The entrance fee for tourists is 200 Bht each (about $6.60), a shameful rip-off, but even though we only had 100 between the two of us, the guard impatiently waved us in anyway. I enjoyed watching the iridescent green crabs crawling on the surface of the shell slabs and battling one another over territory. I would only recommend visiting this place as part of an afternoon tour that goes other places as well; on its own shell beach is definitely not worth it, especially considering the ridiculous entrance fee. Just before the entrance there are many small shops selling shell tourist stuff and snacks. See more info and pictures here:
http://lmaclean.ca/2011/11/trucking-around-ao-nang/

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank lisaannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nothingness!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were honestly disappointed. The place is w/out any proper maintenance but they charged you for an entrance fee. It's absurd since there was nothing to actually see. You can't even touch/ stand on the fossils slab.
The only highlight of our trip there is that, they have quite a numtber of souvenir shops selling shell made items. I'm no fan but at least there is sthing to see.
Anywy, my final advice is that only come here if u're interested to get shells for your home/ souvenirs as there are hundreds/ thousands of shells from the souvenir shops. It's also kind of ironic because you can't find that much of the shells "thingy" in Aonang beach. So, if you find sthing that you like get it here as you're most like not going to find it in Aonang beach.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank asyie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishoej, Denmark
Level Contributor
127 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“The only place where I had seen so manny Fossil.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

You can taake the public transportation (bus) from Krabi Town to Fossil Shell (60 THB) or from AoNang (30 THB). You had also to pay a entree fee at the Fossil Shell, about 50 THB, ther are a lot of fossil to look at, had seen so manny, and its the only place in the Krabi area you can see that.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kro90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fossil Shell Beach also viewed

 
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 

Been to Fossil Shell Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing