We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad recommendation for getting to Koh Lanta”
Review of Orange Tree House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orange Tree House
Ranked #76 of 300 Krabi Town B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad recommendation for getting to Koh Lanta”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Unfortunately Orange Tree House works with a very shady company that transports people from Krabi Town to Koh Lanta. In short, we payed 400 baht so we could get on the "people ferry" and have a shorter journey, but the company still took us by bus to Koh Lanta and car ferry (which was offered by Tree House at 300 baht). Also, upon arrival at Koh Lanta, the driver refused to take us to our hotel and instead dropped us off at the first crossroad after the ferry. When we asked for our $100X2 baht the driver practically laughed in our face. They were extremely rude, both the driver and his boss, with whom we spoke on the phone and they told us that if we wanted to get dropped off at a hotel we needed to pay another 100 baht each! That while the other passengers were all getting dropped off at their hotels... So, while this review is not a reflection of Orange Tree House Hotel (the room was fine and the staff was helpful) this my way of making sure that they know whom they are working with and so do their future guests.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Camelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    58
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
53
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

The Orange tree house is very well located, in the same square where the night market every weekend is celebrated. The rooms are comfortable, spacious, clean and have a refrigerator. the bathroom has shower gel and shampoo and the staff is vert nice. The serve every day coffee, juice and tea for breakfast. The price is good and you're in the middle of Krabi Town.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mofletitos13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We booked the orange tree house in krabi town through agoda 1 year prior to going and paid in full, so plenty of notice .When we arrived from the airport we were told that the hotel was fully booked! So the guy on reception who was laughing about this for some weird reason said that he would find us a similar priced hotel. After around 10 minutes this guy came back and took us up the road to a hotel called Vieng Thong Hotel ,, well what can I say this place was awfull a dirty hole of a place!!!! you can read my review as see pictures I posted. So my advice is to avoid both of these hotels and to be honest avoid krabi town altogether as its a dirty place with nothing to do. Just get a taxi to Ao Nang which is around 15 minutes away and amazing ...

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy280671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel was in a good location, but the bathroom smelt quite bad and made it difficult to sleep. room was clean and staff friendly but as other reviewers have said, the breakfast is just bread/toast and coffee. I'm glad we only stayed there one night and wouldn't go back there to be honest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vkmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed there a couple of nights and we really enjoyed our stay. Room was modern, clean, and it was good value for the money.Alas, breakfast was a little bit of shock.

Just be aware when you are buying a ticket to Phi Phi Island through this hotel, as the travel agency tried to scam us ( but maybe it was just our "luck"). I guess this has nothing to to with hotel rating, but they should be more careful about who's services to use.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viki273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just there, right at the big place the walking street turns to, with a big local market on Fri/Sat/Sun.
Don't panic: They close at 10 p.m. and all the market stands disappear by 11 p.m.
The crew is charming, english speaking crew yes, but basal. Would come back any time.
Dear Orange Tree House: Please add a hanger for the towels in the bathroom. It would shower-life make so much easier...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopherD409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Small and friendly. Spacious room, wooden floor, charming decor. Very central. Clean. Good shower. Kettle, tea & coffee in room. Staff very helpful and friendly. Gave us a discount as late walk in customers. Would definitely recommend. Only negative was that Wifi on that day only worked downstairs but was going to be fixed.

Room Tip: Had room 6 was very pleased. Was mid week, so not a market day. Imagine it could get quite hectic an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flashpackergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Krabi Cozy Place Hotel
Krabi Cozy Place Hotel
#5 of 18 in Pak Nam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orange Tree House
Orange Tree House
#33 of 136 in Ao Nang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Andaman Hotel Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baan Sabaidee Guest House
Baan Sabaidee Guest House
#38 of 300 in Krabi Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Whale Express
Sleep Whale Express
#13 of 300 in Krabi Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Whale Hotel
Sleep Whale Hotel
#81 of 300 in Krabi Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tree House

Property: Orange Tree House
Address: 12 Pruksa-Uthit Road | Paknam, Muang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 300 B&Bs / Inns in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Orange Tree House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Orange Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Tree House Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing