We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 1st hostel experience ”
Review of Pak-Up Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pak-Up Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights in December 2013. Despite doing a lot of travelling I had never stayed in a hostel before so was a little nervous. I didn't need to be. The setup in this hostel is very professional but also relaxed, it's a very quirky place that has the vibe of a student union type place. On the front desk they can advise and help organise excursions and onward travel arrangements easily and efficiently. The rooms are clean and fine with storage lockers for everyone available (bring your own padlock). I hope every hostel experience I have is like this!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Jonny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (902)
There are newer reviews for Pak-Up Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 902 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

A very nice and clean place with really helpful staff. The rooms are a bit large, but if you are ok with that it is a nice and cheap place to stay.

The staff was helpful in booking a cooking class and my further travel to Koh Samui (I even got a discount from them).

Raylay Beach is about a 45 minute trip away with the long tail boat and will cost you about 150 Baht. The walk to the pier is only a few hundred meters.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zdxerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed at Pak-Up 2 times on my travels around Asia and it was one of the nicer places i have stayed (in 6 months). The reception staff are really helpful, the place is spotless and the beds a comfortable with your own lockers, light and power-point. The hostel is conveniently located near a 7Eleven, restaurants, the tuk tuk and/or the boats to the local beaches. And the two bars in the hostel are a good place to meet others although sometimes the music is unnecessarily loud for the amount of people in there (i know this makes me sound like a granny but its true). They also offer transfers to the airport, Phi,Phi and the surrounds for fairly reasonable rates. Its well worth a visit if your heading in there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank British_Travel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Coming into the hostel I knew it had high ratings, but I was still blown away. For the cheap price it is really nice! As a solo traveler I enjoy hostels where it is easy to make friends, this is perfect for that! There are game nights, bars, open mic, and more activities to meet people!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Monicabinks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Staff: A lot of staff so easy to find someone for help. They were very helpful when you had their attention but if you don't ask you don't get and sometimes you don't always know what you want. Overall didn't leave much of an impression bar one woman who remembered my name which was a nice touch.

Room: Each bed came with a universal plug, reading light and large pull out drawers with locks. Each room had a fan and A/C. Beds we're comfy. My GF's bed looked slept in and her drawer lock was broken. Rooms were loud due to karaoke across the road, not ideal for people who enjoy a quiet evening/morning.

Facilities: Bathroom areas were constantly cleaned, stock shampoo and shower gel was a nice touch along with hair dryers however every so often there would only be cold water in the showers. Internet kept going down despite arriving to fast speeds on average it was slow. Laundry was self service and quite cheap. Lots of communal areas, however the TV area was right by the front door so it meant listening was near impossible.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Odoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Pak up is the perfect hostel set up with a bar on the roof, lounge downstairs, big laundry area, super comfortable beds and very clean toilets and showers!!The staff is quick and efficient! All in all a perfect place for backpackers right in the center of Krabi town.

I will definitely recommend Pak up to friends and stay there again if I return to Krabi!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaSera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed here for a one night stop over and would definitely stay there again.
Stayed in 10 bed dorm (Thai Dorm) spotless room, big comfy beds.
Shared bathroom really clean and nicely designed.
Each with own light and plug.
Really good atmosphere throughout.
Own bar that we didn't get to but seemed to have plenty on.
Bit more expensive but worth it.
Close to all the markets etc and you can book your onward travel at the front desk.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cquinn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
6.2 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,507 reviews
7.0 mi away
The L Resort Krabi
The L Resort Krabi
#2 of 109 in Ao Nang
583 reviews
11.9 mi away
Amari Vogue Krabi
Amari Vogue Krabi
#4 of 12 in Nong Thale
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
6.0 mi away
Slumber Party Hostel and Bar
6.7 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pak-Up Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pak-Up Hostel

Address: 87 Utarakit Rd. | Paknam Subdistrict, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 327 Specialty Lodging in Krabi Town
Price Range: $13 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pak-Up Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once you come to Pak Up, you will never want to pak up.' If you are looking for a top notch party hostel within accessible distance to all of Krabis' famous attractions while paying a budget price then you are at the right place! At Pak Up, we work hard to ensure every detail is right and the place is spotlessly clean, beds are comfy while providing all the best nightlife Krabi Town has to offer within our safe and secure premises. Pak Up management strives to go from strength to strength, keeping up with all the new global trends in the world of properties and budget travel. When you arrive, you will notice this is nothing like the run of the mill property you will typically find in SE Asia. As a former school, the property is themed accordingly room by room and is in a loft style oversized setting. All our rooms are set to the same standard, with international plugs, reading lights, under-bed lockers, bed shelves, towel rails and 3.5 ft beds. During the day you will be able to either take advantage of the many tours available at our reception desk or just chill out on one of the many terraces dotted all over the property. Our tour desk offers a seamless way to see everything in Krabi at a reasonable price and you will never be left stranded anywhere. Our staff are trained to make sure you avoid stress. We have free wifi throughout the hostel, no curfew and a 24 hour reception to keep things practical for our guests. Notably and extremely rare for a hostel in Thailand, we have official registration which means we have passed all national hotel safety standards. Playground, as the name suggests, is a place for big kids like us to socialise, drink, play, and generally acquire great memories along with great friends from day one. The staff will strive to offer the very best in hostel entertainment with great deals on whenever you care to visit our bars. We have a weekly schedule posted in the lobby with daily activities and weekly competitions. These are usually competitive and involve a lot of drinking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pak-Up Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pak-Up Hotel Krabi Town
Pak-Up Hostel Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing