We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruined Christmas- Appalling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pan Beach Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked this well in advance on Asia Rooms paying £30 a night for the room (1500B). We had to call Asia rooms to pay over the phone which was fine. On arrival at the hotel they said they had 'forgotten' about our booking as we made it "too long ago" so we had to wait whilst they moved someone out of our room. Whilst we were waiting we found from other guests that if you just turn up and book a room or e mail it's only £20 (1000B) for the room we booked (Deluxe sea view) and less for the others (around £14, 700B). We asked about this to be told that "we don't pay Asia Rooms comission- customer pay". This was annoying and being backpackers this was a luxury splash out for Christmas, finding out we payed a third more was frustrating considering we had booked 5 nights so overall £50 more in "commission" The problems were only just beginning.

Went into the room to find that the fan and lights didn't work- we enquired to be told they only have electricity from 6PM- 6AM So you have no power whatsoever during the day, and can't use the fan in the hottest part of the day. If you sleep in past 8AM the room gets unbearably hot and you wake up boiling and sweating- not pleasant. We also found that there is no hot water- period. So cold showers all week. Asia rooms did not state that there was no hot water or electricity otherwise we would not have booked it. 

The water that comes out of the taps and shower was yellow and had bits in, so we had to use hand gel to clean our hands. Additionally the toilet doesn't flush- you need to manually flush it by pouring water down which never gets rid of all the urine so it smells. The bathroom was dirty. 

The TV was VERY old, when you turned it on there was a loud screeching noise coming from it and a burning smell. They refused to change it for another and said that the smell and noise would stop after 20 minutes. Just nonsense, it wasn't safe to leave it on. There was also only one working plug in the room which meant the socket was constantly overloaded with about 6 plugs. The curtains to the side window were see through too so we had very little privacy. The bed was hard and the pillows stiff and old. It was overall very disappointing and a rip off at the walk in price never mind what we paid. 

House keeping was done only once in the 5 days we were there, which as it is located on a beach means there is sand everywhere in the bed and towels after just one day. 

We complained about all these issues to be told "if you want to leave, leave" on Christmas eve in the middle of the afternoon this was near impossible with everywhere full and just no time to arrange it we were forced to stay to avoid driving around looking for somewhere on Christmas day. The staff were rude, unsympathetic and told us they don't care if we leave as they can easily fill the room as it's peak season.

We rented a bike the next day so we could go out to explore and have Christmas dinner away from the resort (their taxi prices are horrendously high). Whilst we had it still rented a staff member asked if he could "fix the brake" he them proceeded to drive it away, with two people on and come back 15 mins alone- so basically used it to drop somebody off. The gas was empty when we rented it so we only put a little in as wouldn't be going far. This took a third off the meter, staff aknowledged they had used Gas but refused to compensate us or discount the already high rental price (it's nearly half if you rent from town) 


The Wifi is a tethered connection from a mobile phone and cuts out every couple of minutes. If they forget to charge the phone it isn't on during the day either.

The worst was still to come. On check out we were slapped with a bill for the whole week. We said we had paid by phone upon booking and they insisted that we hadn't. We asked to speak with Asia rooms who they couldn't get through to so put us onto a random Thai woman who didn't work for Asia rooms but tried to pretend she did just repeating "you pay otherwise it hurt hotel, we no take card you pay cash, I work Asia room". She didn't know my name, booking number and couldn't look it up. 

Eventually they called Asia rooms, they weren't sure if we paid or not. They said the hotel doesn't take card only cash on arrival but it may be that they took it without realising and will have refunded it. Due to the time difference I couldn't call my bank and online statements don't go that far back so I couldn't check. One staff member, the manager there said if we paid in cash they would discount to £20 a night. Her boss then shouted at her and sent her home. We negotiated with Asia rooms and mentioned we had been offered a discount but that the boss wouldn't honour it. The boss then proceeded to lie about the cost of the room to begin with, also saying in Thai to the Asia rooms lady that they said we could leave bit chose to stay because we loved it. I've never had such appalling customer service it was unbelievable. After explaining everything Asia rooms had to settle in the middle so we payed the normal rate and Asia rooms payed the rest. Truly appalling. I would never ever recommend the place, the customer service is the worst I've come across in my 3 months of travelling Asia. It ruined our Christmas and was truly unnecessarily unpleasnt, the location is stunning, right on a small private beach but the resort ruins it. There are many other similar ones dotted along the beach for similar prices and better customer service and facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrOinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 83 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

Still here loving this place my boyfriend and I booked this for 2 nights , pure bliss , the location is outside Krabi town but worth it if u are looking for excellent food, fabulous friendly run place in this idyllic location we are going to Phuket and ko Samui next but considering changing and coming back here

Room Tip: This is a bungalow and the best pool is the sea on your doorstep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqui J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We only stayed a couple of nights at PAN, only because we already had other things booked. It is a really lovely place where you can relax. The bungalows are basic, however, I had the best night's sleep there, the bed was surprisingly comfortable. You are basically right on the beach and you don't have to share it with too many people. Food is good, although a bit pricey. I would definitely go back as it was best location we stayed at in Thailand.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MagMoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Lovely place off the beaten track in Ao Nang. Private beach, good food + drink, lovely scenery and friendly staff. If you want somewhere away from the lights of Ao Nang, this is perfect for you, and its only 300 baht into town anyway.

The people we met there were really friendly and eating/drinking on the beach is something I'll always remember. Would definitely go back if i go back to Thailand.

Room Tip: Go for the premium huts, a tiny bit more for a lot better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

- We were the only guests - it was the best aspect of this place :-)
- We had the bungalow number 1 - magnifique sea view from bed
- motorbike rent (cca 200 BTH/day)
- you have to go by motorbike/taxi to the city, but the place is really unique
- you can take the organized trip
- rooms were modestly but comfortably furnished, the towels smelled too
- please note that during the day is no electricity
- breakfast - we didn´t take
- you can rent kayak in next bungalows "resort"
- you can get to Ko Lanta by minivan and in season also by boat, to Phi phi - boat, speed boat

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilvieUli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I booked through Agoda for a 4 night stay at a very reasonable rate! I dropped Pan an Email and she was quick enough to arrange a transfer for me from Krabi Airport. Should I return to Thailand, I am definately going to come back! Pan and her staff are so friendly. The location is excellent as it is out the way of the usual tourist spots, you have your own private beach and you can pick up a taxi to Ao Nang/ Krabi town very cheap! The food is good quality and excellent prices! If you arrange tours through Pan, she discounts what the advertised price is! Every day I got back from a tour, she knew that I would like a cold beer waiting and this was done! She's very family friendly and quick enough to help you with anything!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richy102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We had a great time at PAN beach even if it rained rained and rained again!

Was sooo relaxing and really welcome after of Koh Phi Phi! This place is 100% as it is describe by all the reviews.. But more! I cannot insist on how Friendly Pan and her staff are, I even had a private cooking course how cool is that!!!!! I miss you all all ready!

Pan and her team are part of a very few genuine Thai people we meet in our trip! Thanks for being sooo Lovely Pan and the other guys you saved our trip :)

All right! Lets be frank about something.. This is not the Ritz Carlton Standard and if you are a party animal who needs all his bits of technologies perhaps you wont enjoy pan as much as we did. If you after peace and quiet, chilled out atmosphere, beach and see as little tourist as possible.. This is the place for you! No TV in the rooms, no aircon, dial up internet available at night, limited electricity but us it was heaven on earth!

We tried 2 bungalow.. no 1 and no 5! No 1 is on the beach and was super nice but after 40 cm of rain in 2 days we had to move bungalow, cause they was a dangor of being washed out... Number 5 was also good but my favorite was no 1.. Pan did offer to change bungalow back after the rain but we were simply too lazy to make the switch back to no1 + we had make a Geco friend in no 5 which we called Herny! Say hello to Herny if u stay in no 5.

TukTuk from Ao-nang will cost u about 400 bath - Pan can organise taxi in her pickup van for 100 bath per person.

if you are a light sleeper think about bringing ear plugs the frogs can go mental at night after the rain.. I know it can bother some people but it did not bother us at all! Just to give u a heads up :)

DO!!! highly recommended to hire a private long tail boat for 2200 bath for a whole day! Yep is a bit pricey but the experience is well worth it!

Don't really get some of the mooning about the food at pan being expensive! We thought the food we good and good value compare to Ao-nang.. But yes it is a bit more then Bangkok but hey this area is more expensive then bangkok overall!

Room Tip: Best place ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Srheaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
1.4 mi away
Pine Bungalow
Pine Bungalow
#31 of 111 in Ao Nang
245 reviews
2.4 mi away
Krabi Resort
Krabi Resort
#20 of 111 in Ao Nang
1,326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandbeach Bungalow
Sandbeach Bungalow
#48 of 337 in Krabi Town
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Vacation House
Vacation House
#71 of 318 in Krabi Town
24 reviews
15.5 mi away
Phanom Bencha Mountain Resort
Phanom Bencha Mountain Resort
#30 of 337 in Krabi Town
144 reviews
2.5 mi away
Isle Beach Resort
Isle Beach Resort
#167 of 337 in Krabi Town
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Beach Bungalows

Address: 105 M.4 | Nopparatthara Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 337 Specialty Lodging in Krabi Town
Price Range: $17 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pan Beach Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pan Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Beach Bungalows Hotel Krabi Town
Pan Beach Bungalows Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing