We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"P" is for Poor”
Review of P. Guesthouse

P. Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Krabi Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
P. Guesthouse
Ranked #185 of 303 Krabi Town B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"P" is for Poor”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Unfortunately we had a bad experience at P Guesthouse. On arrival, the lady at reception could not speak any English, claimed to know nothing of our booking despite booking online with Agoda and tried to tell us there was not a double air con room available. Eventually we were shown to our room, however the room was filthy - rubbish including a bag of sanitary towels were still in one of the drawers, the towels stank of damp mould, the bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned for weeks, there was no toilet roll (we had to go down and ask for some) the lights did not work in the bathroom so we were given a lightbulb which we had to change ourselves! The shower took about an hour to drain away so the bathroom continually smelt of stale water (had to leave the noisy fan on constantly) There was a balcony but it looked out onto the main road and a building site opposite - the door to the balcony was not secure at all - a great big gap even when it was locked. When we asked to move rooms, we were told that the room we were in was their best room!
On our second day we asked for the room to be cleaned but the woman didn't understand us and ended up shaking her head at us. When we returned from our day trip we found our room had not been cleaned so we had to ask for clean towels which they made an issue out of, we had to empty our own bin and again ask for more toilet roll. We had to do this throughout our 3 day stay.
We did not find the staff friendly and they seemed to spend the majority of their time on the guest computers watching YouTube videos. Other reviewers have mentioned a restaurant...I didn't even realise there was a restaurant!!
I know this guesthouse is cheap and we weren't expecting 5 star service but this was ridiculous even to seasoned backpackers as ourselves.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back looked brighter and did not face onto the main road and building site opposite but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TS-Reef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We arrived there after a 48 hour jouney from Goa, India.
The A/C cooled the room down very quickly.Our Room was facing the road, but there wasn't much nose. The Owner was very friendly and the price is ok for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel_r0undthew0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We fell upon P Guesthouse after being dropped off in Krabi on the bus - we secured a fan room for 300b in high season with two single beds. It was a simple room, but it was clean and worth the price. The beds were comfortable. There is free Wifi in the restaurant with a decent connection, and although we only ate breakfast there, it was good. P Guesthouse is located just up the hill in the main area of the town, within minutes from the river where a good and very cheap night food market is. The owners were very friendly, and we felt very welcome here.
There is an excellent restaurant just across and down the street from here too - the name has escaped me, but it started with a T. Make it your mission to find this restaurant and try the pizza - better than some of the pizza we have in Canada!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtoglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed here in summer last year (it won't let me go that far back on the options), and despite saying I would leave a review, I never quite got round to it - until now.

We spent the month backpacking round Thailand, and made an impromtu decision to stay in Krabi. SO glad we did.

The guesthouse itself is basic, but for the price you're paying - I think it worked out about 150b (£3.50) a night each - it is more than adequate. Rooms are ensuite, and we had air con as well, which is definitely needed when visiting the country. It was clean as well - v important.

What struck us the most was how friendly the staff were at the guesthouse. The owner (I can't remember his name now) was very helpful. English was widely spoken, so communicating wasn't a problem either. There's a restaurant/cafe with the guesthouse too - they do breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the BEST coconut ice drinks. Definitely try one if you can.

A lot of people view Krabi as a stop off point, but it's so much more than that. We visited some of the restaurants and bars - great food, very friendly locals and authentic - something often lacking in the more touristy and built up areas. Another highlight was a boat trip on the river. This cost us just 100b each (just over £2), and one of the locals took us on his boat, through the swamps, caves and to little village islands. Saw monkeys, water snakes and lots of fish on a farm.

All in all, a good place to stay if you're backpacking, stopping over for a night or two or just need somewhere to lay your head. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We had gotten the room via the bus station booking counter and found spiders crawling everywhere in the room. The beds were hard and the towels provided were smelly. The room doors were faulty and drainage was bad. For the same price that we got for the place, you can get somewhere better in krabi town.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Krabi Town hotels

Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We booked the guesthouse direct off owner at the bus stop after long trip from Koh Tao, they were great, excellent value and the food in the restaurant was really nice

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, Nederland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Cheap, but extremely much value for money! Very friendly staff, excellent rooms, brilliant service. Beats any hotel easily!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geronimous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
35.4 mi away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,797 reviews
37.6 mi away
Thip Residence Boutique Hotel
32.3 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.2 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
35.7 mi away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 108 in Ao Nang
1,445 reviews
31.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Krabi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to P. Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about P. Guesthouse

Property: P. Guesthouse
Address: 34-36 Chao Fa Rd., Krabi Town, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Krabi Town
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
P. Guesthouse Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing