We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good budget resort” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koh Kwang Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Koh Kwang Resort
Ranked #229 of 295 Specialty Lodging in Krabi Town
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good budget resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Its location is very quite a fair bit away from Ao nang,not many shops around, lovely beach across the road, nice bungalows and the food in the restaurant is reasonably priced, the owner tries very hard to do everything himself and when busy can be alot of pressure due to lack of staff, for the price, it was a reasonable accommodation for us. Pros.. a/c,.fridge, hot water and tv in the bungalow, Cons: mosquito and lack of staff and service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tazy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    8
    5
    11
See reviews for
6
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

It's located in klong muang in krabi. It's about a 20 minute drive to ao nang beach and all the touristy spots. Breakfast was average. Eggs and toast. The owners were very nice and helpful. There is hot water.

PROS: hot shower, nice owners, quiet location
CONS: ants in room, springy mattress

Room Tip: Get a private bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalypso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

We are a family of four,staying at Koh Kwang resort for 2 weeks in dec.2011. Very Nice Place! The most helpfull owner that you can think of, very clean and nice bungalows with comfortable beds. Quiet and peaceful in the evenings. Very good and cheep food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Koh Kwang Resort. The accommodation and food were good, but it was our hosts that really made the place stand out. They were exceptionally helpful and friendly, and we felt very welcome. In terms of location, this resort is on the quieter side of Krabi, which can be a good or bad thing, depending on what you're looking for. We were expecting a party, but ended up relaxing nicely on the beach for a few days.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandering_pheasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

This is a guesthouse with basic furnishings. The cupboard looked broken and the flush handle kept coming out whenever I tried flushing. Food in the guesthouse was only so-so and expensive, if you consider the quality and portion. I ordered Mixed Vegetables which turned out to be only cooked cucumbers and pineapples! At first, I did not mind.

If I wanted to use the internet, I could use theirs at a charge. However, it was not working during my stay so I asked where there was an internet cafe. The owner wasn't sure and pointed to the left of the guesthouse. 10 minutes' walk later, I found a rundown cafe with old computers, half of which were not working. Those that were working were being used by other customers. So I walked back, in the direction of the guesthouse. After a short walk to the right of the guesthouse, I found a lovely internet cafe with flat screens and very fast speed. The cafe had very good music and lightings. I ordered Mixed Vegetables, which cost a little more than at the guesthouse. What a surprise when the food came! It was a large portion, enough for 2, with diffrent kinds of real vegetables and the cucumbers were mere garnishings. I wondered why the owner did not direct me to this cafe.

After 2 days, I had to make an important telephone call. The lady owner said I could use the public phone just in front of the hotel. It was drizzling heavily and there was a big puddle of muddy water around the phone booth. I had to try hard to jump over the puddle so my shoes wouldn't be dirty. Unfortunately, the phone was not working. I then went back to the proprietress and told her. She answered that they normally didn't let guests use their phone but 'as a service', she would let me use it but I would have to pay for usage. I did not mind paying and would have been very thankful, but did she have to add that it was 'a service'? What was so exceptional about this 'service'? It's not like it was free-of-charge. Every hotel I went to allowed me to use their phone, regardless of whether they charged or not.
I checked out when I found a sea-view hotel with nicely decorated rooms and smartly designed bathrooms. It was about the same price but was right on the beach where the magnificent sunset could be viewed from the room. The proprietress could not speak English well but her service was warm and genuine. After my stay there, I realised that Koh Kwang Resort was not of good value and lacking in the finer aspects of service.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viocolette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

What a shame this resort has a bad review. The dispute appears to be over a tour the owners booked. It is quite normal in Thailand to book something and it does not turn out quite how you had hoped. On these occasions we shrug and smile and say.... lol... thats Thailand. It always works out in the end. Had the customers stayed on the dive for the further 2 days, they would have made a negotiation with the divemaster and end up being taken somewhere really special, having the holiday of a lifetime. Instead the customers spent 5 hours trying to argue with the owner of the resort. He just books the tours and cant negotiate a refund. And, if he gave the refund himself, he would have faced the wrath of the Thais whom have a strictly no refund policy. In Tesco lotus, you buy t shirt, it has hole in, your problem. Do not be put off by a previous review and as for Thai maffia, it is a common argument similar to the " I will tell my brother and he will sort you out".

The resort is beautiful, the hosts are lovely and cannot do enough for you. The resort is a little off the beaten track so ideal for those who didnt come to Thailand to see Blackpool. The beach is great and empty. The rooms are clean and tidy and the gardens are sweet. We rented a car and drove from Phuket - an easy 2 hour drive through stunning scenery. Having a car in Thailand allows you the freedom to visit little gems like Koh Kwang.

In the area are many little restaurants and shops. A must visit is the giant catfish and spicey garden. Sabai sabai is a lovely bar opposite the resort where the local Thais from the big hotels spend their evenings so if you want a raucous side splitting evening head here after 10pm. You will find a very warm welcome

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pastipat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

A pleasant and quiet family run resort. Our bungalow was clean and comfortable. we ate in most evenings as the food was good and reasonable. They arranged a couple of trips for us, nothing was too much trouble. I would certainly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: use their pick up service from the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank formpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Klong Muang Inn
Klong Muang Inn
#12 of 12 in Nong Thale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Klong Muang Dream House
Klong Muang Dream House
#4 of 7 in Nong Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vacation House
Vacation House
#73 of 298 in Krabi Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bliss Resort Krabi
Bliss Resort Krabi
#15 of 298 in Krabi Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Krabi Bay House
Krabi Bay House
#3 of 4 in Nong Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Isle Beach Resort
Isle Beach Resort
#127 of 295 in Krabi Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Kwang Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Kwang Resort

Property: Koh Kwang Resort
Address: 25/1 Moo 3 Nong Talay, Muang, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 295 Specialty Lodging in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Koh Kwang Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Koh Kwang Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Kwang Resort Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing