We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A deserted resort by the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sea House Beach Resort
Ranked #232 of 308 Specialty Lodging in Krabi Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A deserted resort by the staff”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

A very not recommended resort. Location is too far, no clean beaches to swim. No telephone at the resort for emergency. You cannot find the staff cause they oftenly disappear. The resort is not as good as they look at the pictures. You should lower the star!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citantri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    8
    7
    20
See reviews for
15
51
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2012

If you are a city dweller, you will appreciate the distance of this resort from the touristy places. Sure, it is farther than resorts right smack at Ao Nang (where the island tours set off from) but the rides to/from the airport (~30 min) or Ao Nang (~50 min) are not so long to be unbearable. In fact, the journeys allow one to travel into the heartlands of Krabi such that you see the day to day local activities. (If I may, I had a great local guide from Krabi Smile which you MUST google.)

The resort itself is small. Hence there aren't many people around which makes for a peaceful getaway. As earlier reviews mentioned, the beach is dark grey (with roaming cattle!) -- not your white sandy beaches. Nonetheless, there is a sandbox which you can sit in and take in the sounds of the waves washing up the beach. The sunset there is perfect. The restaurant by the beach offers a small range of food which is nonetheless yummy. It is more expensive than eateries elsewhere so I suggest you catch a bite outside before returning to the resort if you are on a budget. There is a small pool but I reckon most would have had a chance to swim during island trips.

I stayed at the Deluxe villa which is spacious enough and clean. There are ants/lizards by virtue that there is a little garden outside your room but these are not due to the lack of upkeeping. The TV has mostly Thai programs so if you want to watch DVDs, loan from the resort's collection/bring your own. Wifi connection is strong throughout the resort.

Most of the staff speak limited English but are happy to help. A big thank you to Matt and other staff who were really sweet and tried to accede to our requests.

If you want some calmness and time to connect with yourself/family/nature, give this place a try.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sg_Steps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We booked the beach-front pool villa way in advance and were extremely disappointed that the room wasn't available due to the some problems with the pump in the pool. There was only 1 pool villa. Maybe they should consider building more pool villas. To compensate, they offer us to stay at the beach boutique resort's pool villa which was horrible. The pool size is so small, smaller than the size of the Jacuzzi in my hydropool room at Nakamanda Resort. It also looks dirty and unappealing. I was upset and told the staff no way I'm accepting this alternative. The staff also seem to think that the pump won't be fixed soon - which my friend thought was weird cos it's not difficult to fix a pump problem in the pool, so this means the resort takes their own sweet time to find someone to fix it - and recommend that we search for another hotel. When we told her we will be moving to another hotel, she charged us for the airport transfer which she previously agreed to waive as a form of compensation. We didn't argue with her and just pay up for it. This just shows how calculative this resort is when it's their fault for not providing us with the room we want. So glad we settled for Nakamanda Resort as it's much closer to Ao Nang and has few restaurants just outside the hotel. It's really a blessing in disguise as the taxi fare from Sea House to Ao Nang is 1200 baht (please take note of this if you plan to go to Ao nang during your stay). That's really daylight robbery. So, book this resort only if you're willing to take the risk, and perhaps have a back-up plan just in case the resort screws up again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Hun_house
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Krabi Town hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

...and a getaway it really is. We stayed here with our 3-month old son and had the perfect holiday! We had the treat of having 5 nights in the beach front private-pool villa (Lobster Room for under $100/night - you won't find that anywhere else in Thailand). Breakfast every morning at our table overlooking the Andaman Sea and the islands off Krabi, a view of Koh Jum island from the pool and staff, who's level of English matched our level of Thai, but who charmed us with their smiles and friendliness.
Daily visits from the local goats and cows wandering through our beach vista, free tours to places we otherwise wouldn't have gone had we stayed in Krabi town or Ao Nang. And while the resort is definitely remote/isolated there are at least 4 other options around for dining if you are prepared to walk along the beautiful beach at sunset and back along the road under starlight and fireflies under the palm trees, or wander down into the local picturesque fishing village for lunch overlooking the longtail fishing fleet.
While it was the 'green' season we had more sun than rain, and are so glad we came to stay at Sea House :-)
Note: there were some small things that needed tending to around the villa but am assuming that these things get tended to bit by bit in the low season as the tourists stop coming (i.e. some painting, weeding etc needed doing). If this kind of thing would upset you and outweigh what I have describe above, look elsewhere. Otherwise, stay at Sea House Krabi!!!

Room Tip: Lobster all the way!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurenp_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This place is 30 minutes away from the airport. Advisable to rent a car at the airport for long stay. Negotiate for best price. Nearest local eatery is 5 mins walking but depends if it is ever open. Or you can go further left before the resort. A few other cheap restaurant. For massage service you have to make a booking, there is no fancy spa here. The sister resort located few meters away.Don't expect white sandy beach here but it is peaceful and least touristic. If you are lucky on your arrival date, the management will upgrade ur room depends on availability.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sasyraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This resort was a little difficult to find and also a little far from main krabi town but what a resort. We had the beach front pool villa which was just amazing. You open the front gate ahead of your private pool and you are on the beach. The beach is not your usual white or golden sand but dark grey sand (which is why its secluded), but that does not in any way take away the beauty of the resort and the fact that its so nice and calm here. All you can hear is the ocean. Being a small boutique resort everything is done to your taste including how you want your breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay here and would love to go back.

Room Tip: If you can afford go for the pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank udayahlawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

It was the perfect getaway haven for a small family. You'll get a mini beach house and yard with an outdoor shower and an indoor tub in a spacious room. very nice staff, food was good (thai and western), wonderful fruit platters and smoothies. Very beautiful beach front although you can't swim in it, it was nice to take a stroll along the beach and pick some seashells. Breakfast was very good. Dinner I only had Thai food from their menu and I find it not spicy enough like the usual Thai food I liked, I guess it was made to cater to more western palette.

Hotel has shuttle that takes u to different parts of Krabi, one site per day, so def check and find out which is the place of the day. Pretty far from town, secluded, but we enjoyed the watching the local way of life during out rides into town. You'd see monkeys, cows and goats, scenic mountains and rocky back drops, temples and budda statue etc.

Booked the phi phi island tour through the hotel, got dropped off on the side rd to transfer into a tour truck, rode in the back of the truck like a local, which was fun. After another destination pickup, the truck was cramped, reminded me of construction working packed in the back of a truck picked up to do a paint Job. All in all, it was a fun experience, def raw, but you get to immerse with the culture. The hotel did pack us yummy sandwiches for breakfast so that was
a plus.

The mosquitoes really got to me toward the end of my trip as my poor daughter got bitten so many times. But I was told it was just this time because of the rain. Staff spoke limited English, but they were super nice.

All in all, we loved it and would visit again, cuz daughter was so happy and adult could truly relax without the hustle and bustle of town. Not recommended for yound singles.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank winniec0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krabi Town
8.4 mi away
Ting Rai Bay Resort
Ting Rai Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Ko Jum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
4.8 mi away
Islanda Hideaway Resort
Islanda Hideaway Resort
#1 of 1 in Khlong Prasong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beach Boutique Resort
The Beach Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Nuea Khlong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Noble Crown Resort & Spa
Noble Crown Resort & Spa
#50 of 146 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
10.0 mi away
Koh Jum Beach Villas
Koh Jum Beach Villas
#1 of 21 in Ko Jum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
10.3 mi away
Andaman Beach Resort Koh Jum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea House Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea House Beach Resort

Property: The Sea House Beach Resort
Address: 203 Moo 1, Had Yao (Long Beach) | Tumbol Talingchan, Nuangklong, Krabi Town 81130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 308 Specialty Lodging in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sea House Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sea House Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sea House Beach Hotel Krabi Town
The Sea House Beach Resort Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing