We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
59
10
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
10
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai islandbest thai food i havereal thailandkoh jumclamsspent nightsmonkeysbeacheskrabibahtboat
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 70 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2015

Quiet island retreat with really good Thai and Westetn food. Koh Siboya is a rare find for those looking for an undeveloped beach island in the Krabi area. You can walk the beach for hours and encounter only a few fishermen and monkeys. Very clean and comfortable accommodation available at reasonable rates. Very friendly and welcoming staff.. The restaurant serves delicious Thai and Western food. The beach does not look like a postcard from Krabi but for us we prefer a place like this..no discos, karaoke, TVs and loud music or full moon parties. The water is clean and great for swimming but most people like to swim close to the high tide otherwise you have to walk out a way to the water which recedes a lot during low tide. It's not for everybody but if you are seeking somewhere to chill or to rest after arduous traveling this is the place.

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2015

If you are looking for a quiet place to relax and enjoy Thai food at its best this is the place for you. This is my fourth trip to Siboya and it is a must every time I visit the Krabi area. The staff/ locals are always friendly and helpful. Mr. A will drink a couple beers then proceed to beat you in a game of Chess. At night he mans the bar as well as the guitar. Mr. Law will show you around the Island, let you beat him in a game of tecra always with a smile on his face. If you have never seen this game it kind of puts volleyball to shame. Go watch the locals play! Mr. Chung the owner will crack a few jokes with you and if you’re lucky you will see him dance the night away. He is the entertainment at the New Year’s party. The local women create very authentic Thai food which has yet to be matched for taste and quality in my travels. Tuwam will smile and laugh at anything you say even though he probably has no idea what I am saying half the time  The accommodations can be a thatched bungalow to a large private house. Price wise it is very economical and I really never say no to anything… Thanks for everything and see you next year.

Room Tip: Choose a house if you can.
  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank perrin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2015

Me and my friend stayed at the Siboya Bungalow for 6 days in this November. We were looking for a quiet place to relax and that's exactly what we found! We have chosen one of the five new Bungalows and were surprised by the beautiful green nature around the house. It was great to wake up, walk out of the door and feel like your in the jungle. The Bungalow was -as described on the website- just one really simple room with a bed for two and a private bath. You don't have too much space in there, but during the day you wanna go out anyway, so it was no problem. Our main activities were reading in one of the many hammocks (in front of the Bungalow, between plam trees, next to the beach,...), waking on the literally untouched beach, exploring the island, drinking coconut milk,... Or you can ask Chung to show you his herb garden. So it was definitely not the typical touristic beach holiday (therefor you have to go to the crowded PhiPhi-Island), but a holiday far away from mass tourism in a quiet, pristine surrounding. In the evening it's very recommendable to go to the restaurant, where you can enjoy either very tasty selfmade Thai food, or western dishes, although it's a bit expensive (80-120 Baht for one dish). Breakfast and lunch is available as well.
So all in all I definitely recommend you to go there before the crowd will discover this insiders' tip!

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky24Jacky24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2015 via mobile

Siboya bungalows was a highlight of our 5 week trip to Thailand. Mr Chung and the staff made us feel like part of the family right when they picked us up at the airport. The bungalow and food were top rate and great value. Monkeys, lizards, Thai lanterns, takraw games and beautiful landscape are some of the memories that we have taken away. If you are looking for something different than the party beach atmosphere then this resort is a must. Thank you again to Mr Chung and his staff for the best two weeks!!

Stayed: January 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Summer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2014

Siboya Bungalows
We had a very relaxing 5 night stay in Holger's house in November.
Chung was extremely helpful and professional in organising our visit and particularly our pick up and transfer from Krabi airport. This was all done very smoothly and each connection was slick and well worth the TBH1000. At the end our transfer to the hills above Krabi cost TBH1300. An interesting organisational point; we did not have enough cash to pay our bill at the end but no problem; the taxi driver on the mainland takes you to an ATM and you then give the cash to him to pass on!
The grounds are very well tended and with lots of space between each bungalow. We had a pleasant view of the beach just 25 metres away from our deck and spectacular sunsets beyond. It was very quiet as the high season was a few weeks away with only another 6 people on the resort during our stay. Despite the small number of clients the staff still provided excellent and enthusiastic service.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of variety. Dinner was always excellent and we had really nice fresh seafood each evening cooked to our taste and requested level of spice. We had a cooking demonstration one evening which was very interesting.
There is not much to do except chill out and relax. We went for a walk along the main track inland and saw a few things of interest before retreating from the threat of rain. The deserted beach has very shallow water and nice sand but be aware that there is a lot of broken glass near high water mark right along the beach so strong shoes and eagle eyes are required. However, it is very pleasant to wander along the beach chasing crabs, fish and squid and watching the occasional local fisherman sorting out their boats. You need to wade out a very long way before getting into swimming depth and at this time of year the sea is flat calm as breezes come from behind the island.
Chung organised and coordinated a day boat trip to Railay Beach and snorkelling near Chicken Island. We shared the cost with two Canadians. It was a really good trip and very good value split between 4. We were away all day and it was a very good way of seeing the spectacular cliff lined beaches near Krabi but without the crowded boats.
Sorting out our booking was very easy on their website www.siboyabungalows.com and Chung responded to all questions immediately.
Siboya Island is extremely quiet and feels very safe and even in high season is unlikely to be described as 'busy'. There is nowhere else to go so just doing very little punctuated by eating nice food in the restaurant is the rhythm of the day. Good wifi is available in the bar area so you can keep up with what is happening in the real world if you wish.
We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it without hesitation.
If you think that the quietness of Siboya is right for your tastes then you may also want to consider Phanom Bencha Mountain Retreat in the hills near Krabi. Like Siboya it has a number of wooden bungalows spread through lush gardens and surrounded by enormous limestone cliffs rather than the beach. Look up my review on TripAdviser.

Room Tip: Holger's bungalow was a good choice for us. Nice and spacious and good location.
  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PhilGordon208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews