We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax away from the crowds!”
Review of Siboya Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Krabi Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Siboya Bungalows
Reviewed February 5, 2012

A wonderful hideaway, away from the mess so many parts of Thailand have become!

On the premises there are 20 something very basic bungalows for 250B and a few bungalows with higher standard and also houses, belonging to westerners, that might be for rent while the owners are absent.
The house owners are like a little “community” within the resort. Extremely friendly people, who will welcome you warmly upon arrival!

See www.siboyabungalows.com for accurate info about the bungalows and the island. http://tezza-thailandbeachesandislands.blogspot.com/2008/12/you-dont-come-to-siboya-for-beaches.html is also a source of information. Apart from these you will not find much more info on the internet. Very few tourists come to Koh Siboya….

Come here for total relaxation in a beautiful scenery, surrounded by friendly people, and for the brilliant restaurant.
The owner, Mr Chung, and his staff will do everything to make you feel comfortable (without being pushy). Actually, they feel more like your pals. The only somewhat scheduled activity is the daily game of “Tak Raw”, sort of Volleyball played with your feet, at 17.00, where the staff also participate (and play considerably better than the westerners). Couldn’t participate due to injury but it looked fun.

Don’t come here for magnificent beaches – swimming is confined to high tide.
Don’t bring children, they will be bored beyond belief.

Just come here to relax on a completely non-touristy island.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaHell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Siboya Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 64 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2011

We have been coming to Siboya Bungalows for 3 years now. The first time was with our 10 month old babies, and we couldn't ask for a more amazing place to spend our holiday! Mr Chung and his family and staff really make you feel at home and as part of the family. The houses are beautiful and clean and the food is the best I have ever had in Thailand. Not to mention value for money! Mr Chung will do anything for you and the service is 5 star for 2 star prices. If you are after a long, white beach, this might not be the place for you though. The tide can be quite far out at times, and you have to walk to swim, but once you are in the water it is gorgeous. This time our children were 4 1/2, and they had so much fun at Siboya. They played on the beach, saw all sorts of animals, drank fruit shakes, walked to the little local shop to buy sweets, played with the cats in the kitchen, helped Mr Chung pick coconuts and fell asleep to the sound of crickets and frogs. We will always come back to Siboya, it feels like a second home!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nolanslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

If you are looking for the true Thai experience then you should try Siboya Bungalows, it is the perfect way to wind down and rest your weary bones after months of travelling.
This is my second time to Siboya and will not be my last.
Accommodation is great with a whole selection of bungalow types to choose from, right on the beach or if you prefer further up the hill, in the lush green gardens.
Spend your time in your hammock watching the world drift by or reading your newest book. If you want to relax this is the place for you .With a tidal beach swimming is limited,but worth the wait, you may have the whole beach to your self.
The restaurant serves traditional delicious Thai food at very reasonable prices and the staff are very friendly and will to help in any way you require.
Come and find a little bit of lost Thai paradise, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drwtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

I was invited to this hidden jem 16 years while touring by bicycle throughout Thailand. Over the years I have made several trips back to Thailand and change is evident everywhere, mostly not for the better. Siboya Bungalow has managed to evolve slowly but has kept the magic and charm that I found 16 years ago. Many of the original staff are still employeed by Mr Chung. The food served has always been fanstatic!! I do not understand how a resort can have such a wonderfully blended menu. Ordering becomes difficult as everything on the menu is so delicious. The accomadations have changed from basic bamboo bungalows, which are still availble, to very comfortable summer homes. The nightly rates for homes are hugely undervalued and have to be the best deal in Southern Thailand if not South East Asia! The beach is ok & and the local shop's make for some interesting conversations as english is not spoken much outside the resort. Siboya Bungalow is the last of the great deals left in Thailand. Bring the family or come solo. Plan on spending your entire holiday here, as once you arrive you will find it hard to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2009

This was one destination that I was quite nervous about. The website said no electricity and huts. As we arrived I knew I had got it wrong, not here long enough! This is paradise. No crowds, unbelievably peaceful and absolutely beautiful. It doesn’t have the long white beaches, so ignored by the masses. Electricity was connected in September, it will unfortunately change the island. About two thousand locals here and now their lives will be different. Everyone now has lights, TV and internet.

The view is out to Koh Jum and Koh Phi Phi. The beach is nice and coconut palms everywhere. Mr Chung is fabulous to his staff, they are employed both high and low season and get on like a big family. Accommodation is basic, but quite ok.

At the end of the working day, Mr Chung got the male staff and our kids together for a game of soccer, with the female staff in stitches watching. They played for an hour and had a fabulous game.

Food is excellent and like everything else, quite reasonable. We'll be back, like so many others.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rounsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Budget Accommodation - Quiet and Peaceful - Escape from the Crowds - Wonderful Gardens - Delicious Thai Cooking - Friendly and Helpful Staff.
Siboya Bungalows is off the regular tourist trail on Ko Siboya (see-boy-ya) about 20 kilometers south of Krabi Town in Southern Thailand. Other than this resort (and 2 others), you will find only a few local stalls selling household supplies, snacks and petrol. Ko Siboya is home to about a 1000 or so residents whose work is mainly in the rubber plantations or fishing. Dirt roads and foot paths connect the 4 or 5 small communities on this 3x10 kilometer island. The lack of easy access to the island has limited transportation to either motorcycles or walking. It is this limitation and the lack of electricity (Siboya Bungalows has it's own generator from sundown till midnight) that has helped keep it so undeveloped. As you might have guessed by now, Siboya Bungalows is a delightfully quiet place to relax. Don't forget... the lost art of goofing off is alive and well here.
The restaurant will delight you with some of the finest Thai cooking in the South. This reputation alone is starting to bring first timers and repeats to Siboya Bungalows. Some of Kaew's culinary tasteful treats are now being taught in North American cooking schools, and have been featured in "New Thai Cuisine". Western fare typical to the area is also available.
But... don't come to Siboya bungalows looking for that "perfect" Thai beach. Here you can enjoy the solitude of leisurely walks along the uninhabited kilometers, waiting for the tide to come in for a swim, an amazing abundance of beach creatures, rocks and mangroves to explore as well as the gathering place for the spectacular sunsets.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatchworkServices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laurent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krabi Town
4.2 mi away
Ting Rai Bay Resort
Ting Rai Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Ko Jum
254 reviews
5.2 mi away
Golden Pearl Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Koh Jum Resort
Koh Jum Resort
#2 of 4 in Ko Jum
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Sea House Beach Resort
The Sea House Beach Resort
#239 of 326 in Krabi Town
100 reviews
3.0 mi away
Banyan Bay Villas
Banyan Bay Villas
#3 of 23 in Ko Jum
66 reviews
4.2 mi away
Last Fisher Koh Jum
Last Fisher Koh Jum
#6 of 23 in Ko Jum
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siboya Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siboya Bungalows

Address: 34 Moo 7 T. Koh Siboya | A. Nue Klong, Krabi Town 81130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 326 Specialty Lodging in Krabi Town
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siboya Bungalows, Koh Siboya, Krabi Province, Thailand. Budget Accommodation, Wonderful Gardens, A Quiet and Peaceful Escape from the Crowds, Delicious Thai Cooking, Friendly and Helpful Staff. Find an amazing abundance of beach creatures, rocks and mangroves to explore as well as the gathering place for the spectacular sunsets. The lost art of "Goofing Off" is alive and well here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Siboya Bungalows Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing