We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place Ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ban To Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ban To Guest House
Ranked #38 of 298 Krabi Town B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Best Place Ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

I'm a fairly avid traveler, and this has been one of the best places I've ever stayed. The staff make you feel like you're staying at your auntie's house. They'll cook food from the kitchen any time of day. They'll arrange your excursions for you and you just pay through them. They'll help you book anything you want, and give you good travel tips. They'll drive you places, lend you their motobikes to run errands, tease you and give you nicknames :)
They are also fabulous at encouraging socialization. The first day I was here, I told them I was interested in rock climbing, and they introduced me to another group of travelers that were going to climb too. I prob would have been too shy to just walk up and sit down at a table of about 6, and if it hadn't been for the staff, I wouldn't have met a spectacular group of travelers. We all ended up staying the week there and taking excursions together. I had originally only booked 2 nights, and ended up staying a week.
The rooms are clean, with good fans, and hot hot water for showers. Such a great, warm place to stay. The food is delicious, the shakes in particular. I don't eat spicey food, and they made all my food spice free. Stores, bars and restaurants are within walking distance. It's in Krabi town, which makes the excursions a bit further away, Ao Nang would be closer to the long boats, but it's soooo worth the extra drive. For example, one of the travelers left for the airport and forgot his wallet in the room. One of the staff members jumped on her motorbike and took the 30min drive each way to make sure he got it before his flight took off within the hour. You'll never stay anywhere that will take better care of you than this place.

Room Tip: Any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina23s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    93
    22
    10
    11
See reviews for
9
128
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

The dining area is also the social area and the wifi area. It was here that Ya made everyone part of her family. The rooms were big and comfortable but the dining made the place special. When it was time to go she had advice on every guest house and resort in this part of Thailand. The location wasn't great... Ban To is hard to find and doesn't have a view but a short walk got you to downtown or the riverfront and transportation to anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

ya the owner is amazing ... charming and would help you plan the rest of the trip thats for sure.. the prices is pretty good only 600 with ac :) the best water pressure in thailand and cambodia so far!!! the food OMG!!! amazing.... (is her husband the one who makes it and is all delicious) the coconut shake super good.. the rooms are super clean, and so far in 20 days of traveling is been our best stay :)
is like a home away from home

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lissiesummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

From free pick up at airport or bus stop the staff at Banto is out to help. One of the nicest bathrooms I've seen in Asia w plenty of hot water. Good fast meals,strong wifi in second floor room

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicaNutButter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I decided to teach in Thailand, but had to leave Bangkok to escape the flooding. Like everyone else we read the reviews on trip advisor, and I am here to say the positive ones are true!! The woman who runs this place, Ya, is extremely charming and welcoming, so is her staff. Be prepared to be welcomed into this family run business as a family member during your stay. We arrived a day late, she gave us no trouble about that, instead she picked us up from the bus station. She saw that we were weary and tired, offering us the best and cheapest omlette breakfast I've had in Thailand. The rooms are so clean (and it's true that the water pressure is spa-like). The food is cheap and very good. Although we are not exactly backpackers, we are on a backpacker's budget and this place is LUXURY compared to all the other guesthouses we have stayed, (forget about hostels). Krabi is so expensive that it's much better to stay in town at Ban To and pay the 50 baht to get to Ao Nang by taxi. You have to take a boat to all the other beaches anyway, so why pay the waterfront hotel prices? Ban To is new, clean friendly, and so helpful. I will always stay here when in Krabi.

Room Tip: We had a fan room and it is attached to the ceiling so there is great coverage if you don't want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Recommended for us by a friend years ago, Ban To has become like a second home in Krabi Town. A few times of year we have to pass through and there is never any question about where we will be staying. The rooms are always clean and a bargain with cable TV, air con and seemingly limitless supplies of hot water for the shower. While it's not what I would class as a resort or even a holiday hotel we have always felt comfortable and welcome at Ban To!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank COWBOYSHOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

Stayed at Ban to twice when travelling Thailand, both times were equally good. The staff are really helpful and offer good prices for booking your next destination. Rooms are basic but comfortable, Small restaurant is great and serves a lovely massaman. Located only a 2 minutes from Krabi shops and markets.. Definitely one of our favourites throughout our time in Thailand.

Room Tip: second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chloe3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krabi Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hop Inn Krabi
Hop Inn Krabi
#39 of 182 in Krabi Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
A Mansion Hotel
A Mansion Hotel
#200 of 298 in Krabi Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
No.7 Guesthouse
No.7 Guesthouse
#89 of 298 in Krabi Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baan Nisarine
Baan Nisarine
#73 of 298 in Krabi Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Whale Express
Sleep Whale Express
#12 of 298 in Krabi Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grandmom Place
Grandmom Place
#2 of 27 in Pak Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban To Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban To Guest House

Property: Ban To Guest House
Address: 22/12 Chao Fa Rd., Krabi Town, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 298 B&Bs / Inns in Krabi Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ban To Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ban To Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban To Guest House Hotel Krabi Town
Ban To Guest House Krabi, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing