We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really surprised in a negative direction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Khon Kaen
Certificate of Excellence
Timra, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“really surprised in a negative direction”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Not good, staff who are not talking to each other.
Disaster food quality, bad service, poor working roomservice (long waiting if they show up)
Unfortunately, in such an incredibly nice hotel, that staff and lack of interest (I think) will destroy an experience, we checked out earlier and will not return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tyronefroberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    95
    27
    16
    3
See reviews for
57
74
26
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Thailand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very nice hotel
comfortable location
breakfast is not so good
the hotel is under renovation so it is so noisy and all the dust we have to run through it
but most of all I still feel good and I will be back here for sure

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SUMALEEHUAHIN2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed during 14-20 September for my business trip, it is an amazing place to stay. Nice staff, fantastic food. Even hotel location is named out of city but actually for me by driving 5 minutes is acceptable. In night time I can sleep peacefully with nice view rather than a loud noise in city.

Great Place to stay and sure come back

Room Tip: Even number room will be nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimsuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Excuse the construction and no elevator from ground floor to lobby as they are still under construction so the hotel has not been completed. Parking is not convenient and there is no handicap access to get from the ground floor to your room.

The room itself is very comfortable and has panoramic views. It is quite far from the city center so it is important that one has his own transportation as it was in our case. Centara always has excellent security and qualified work staff.

The breakfast buffet is on par with a 3 star hotel, it is overpriced and the omelette bar cooks don't understand English. I was happy to see they hire hearing impaired cook as she read my lips and was accommodating.

The oath restaurant staff on a food order to take to go did not have the common sense to provide me with eating utensils., go figure. My most regretful experience was at the spa. I paid 600 baht for a excellent massage, however, I came and provided a voucher for a extra 30 minutes which was left in the room. It was presented to the staff prior to the message, at the end of the message the staff said that voucher was no longer valid, big mistake, should of told me when I presented it.

I have stayed at the premiere locations in Bangkok and Krabi, this location has a lot of work to bring it up to there standards. Management has much work ahead to insure better standards. Good luck, as I will return, my Little boy loved the pool. It actually is the correct temperature for swimming and its a big pool too.

Room Tip: Wait till the construction is done sometime in November 2013, great value otherwise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nice hotel with friendly staff, the hotel located in the city surrounding with lake, in morning I can get fresh air even this hotel is a city hotel. Buffet breakfast not so bad for me, staff very helpful
Overall is so good and well

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ammy2013817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmckk, General Manager at AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Ammy2013817,

Greetings

I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us despite the upgrading renovation
of the hotel facade and facilities.

I hope you will return and see the new Centara Hotel and Convention Centre in a better perspective.

Once again, thank you for your excellent feedback

Patrick Tan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
1,713 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 865 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

One of the most noticeable (and irritating) features of the Centara Hotel is the water system, that alternates between being too hot and too cold, with lower water pressure rising to industrial-strength power with little warning. Not so nice for showers! There are similar problems with the air conditioning system, which alternates from being too hot to being too cold, seemingly without any relationship to the settings of the in-room thermostat.

These features epitomize the hotel, which run "hot and cold" with regard to services and facilities. Check-in was a bit slow and bell service a little sleepy. The lobby is attractive and modern. Rooms are in the back, reached by walking to lifts past a pool with an unattractive unfinished fountain.

The room I had was mostly attractive, although I never understand who in their right mind designs these bathrooms with glass walls as if patrons want to be exhibitionists while in the shower or sitting on the toilet stool! The windows offered a poor view, not the least because they were dirty on the outside and appeared as if uncleaned for months. As pointed out by another review, the electrical outlets are inadequate for convenient computer use, and the TV was a little on the small side. Other than that the room was excellent. Nice beds; excellent lighting (difficult to find in most hotels); spacious; very clean!

There are a number of nice restaurants and pubs in the hotel, although most seemed to be empty the entire time I was there, except for the breakfast restaurant. The breakfast buffet was not 5-star quality, but quite good, with the usual selections of salad, vegetables, bacon, eggs, breads, fruits, etc. Service was a bit slow, but friendly.

The hotel was busy, but reluctantly agreed to 2:00 p.m. late check out without too much hassle.

Overall, the hotel is quite good, but still has some opportunities for improvement.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmckk, General Manager at AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Raintree,

Greetings and thank you for your invaluable feedbacks.

We have noted all your comments and sincerely apologise for our short comings in facilities and service.

I assure you that we have seriously looked into all your comments and other tripadvisor reviews that have been posted in tripadvisor in the past months.

The hotel has since started another renovation to address all the concerns of our invaluable guests and hope that you will bear with us for the time being. The renovation of the facilities will be completed by end of October 2013 and you will see a new-looked property.

We are also scheduled to have our Grand Opening on 1 November 2013 and hope to receive you again in the near future to be a proof of an excellent product of Centara Hotel and Convention Centre in Khon Kaen.

Once again, my most sincere apologise

Patrick Tan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel opened over a year ago, but still many "bugs" to work out. Not really up to 5-star standard as this hotel should be (as part of the Centara chain.)

The room: Air conditioning was too hot or too cold and could not be adjusted to comfort; several lights were out; the phone didn't work, and no power outlets were available at the desk for working on a computer or charging the phone. The only two nearby outlets were taken up by the desk lamp and wifi router, neither one would wish to give up to work on their computer. The hot pot for heating water wasn't user-friendly. We called an engineer to the room, and it took him 15 minutes to figure out how to turn it on. The hot water in the shower is dependent on how much hot water the adjoining rooms use. In other words, it was a constant dance in and out of hot/frigid water, depending on who was flushing the toilet at the moment. An abysmal plumbing problem for a 5-star hotel.

The service: On check-in, we asked for an ironing board/iron to be sent to the room immediately, as there was a meeting in 1.5 hours and I needed to press my shirt/pants. After 1.5 hours, I called the desk again, and it came in about 10 minutes--but too late for my important business meeting. i had to wear to the meeting a rumpled shirt and pants in which I had been traveling.


Facilities: Based on the information in the website, I took valuable space in my travel luggage for exercise-room shoes and clothes. Upon check in, I found that the fitness center, a year later, is still not ready. They also advertise a poolside bar, but that is not operational as well. This "convention center/hotel" is also in serious need of a business center where one may make copies, do print outs, faxes and generally work during the day time.

Location: As mentioned in other reviews. The hotel is not within walking distance of anything. You are captive to the in-house restaurants unless you take a taxi somewhere. Also, it's difficult if you need to pick up any personal items like toiletries while staying there. The hotel could use a little variety shop (basic toiletries, pens, souvenirs, aspirin, etc.) for its customers.

I give this supposed 5-star hotel only 3 stars until they can get their operations and facilities up to standard.

Room Tip: Surroundings are quite drab, but at least request a pool-side room, as the view is better than stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Prof587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmckk, General Manager at AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Raintree,

Greetings and thank you for your invaluable feedbacks.

We have noted all your comments and sincerely apologise for our short comings in facilities and service.

I assure you that we have seriously looked into all your comments and other tripadvisor reviews that have been posted in tripadvisor in the past months.

The hotel has since started another renovation to address all the concerns of our invaluable guests and hope that you will bear with us for the time being. The renovation of the facilities will be completed by end of October 2013 and you will see a new-looked property.

We are also scheduled to have our Grand Opening on 1 November 2013 and hope to receive you again in the near future to be a proof of an excellent product of Centara Hotel and Convention Centre in Khon Kaen.

Once again, my most sincere apologise

Patrick Tan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khon Kaen hotels
1.2 mi away
Pullman Khon Kaen Raja Orchid
1.3 mi away
Glacier Hotel
Glacier Hotel
#9 of 62 in Khon Kaen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Charoen Thani Khon Kaen
Charoen Thani Khon Kaen
#5 of 62 in Khon Kaen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kosa Hotel
Kosa Hotel
#4 of 62 in Khon Kaen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Piman Garden Hotel
Piman Garden Hotel
#15 of 62 in Khon Kaen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Terminal Hotel
The Terminal Hotel
#8 of 62 in Khon Kaen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre

Property: AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre
Address: 999 Moo 4 Prachasamosorn Road,, Khon Kaen 40000, Thailand (Formerly Centara Hotel & Convention Centre Khon Kaen)
Location: Thailand > Khon Kaen Province > Khon Kaen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Khon Kaen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and TripOnline SA so you can book your AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing