We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centara convention center Konkean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Khon Kaen
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Centara convention center Konkean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

4 days 3 night for business trip at Centara Konkean
These hotel operated around one year
About place ... New ,Clean ,quite good for architect and interior but parking is not enough when max. capacity of function room
fitness is under construction , swimming pool also.I Disappointed in fitness because their show on web full function fitness.
About staff ...Courteous service every function
About room ...very good room bed and pillow very comfortable ...but...bathroom too sexy...
About function room ... quite good for equipment , room physics but air condition too cool and too much Mosquito
About F and B quite good but in the morning should have traditional food such as pan egg(kai ka ta)
These hotel locate a bit far from downtown but not traffic jam

Room Tip: they have 2 wing view swimming pool view and down town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ModPraripat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    95
    27
    16
    3
See reviews for
57
74
26
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Dear Readers,

Greetings from the land of smiles. I go to Khon Kaen for the past 8 years due to family reasons. During all these years I have been at another hotel located nearby, however this time I wanted to give it a try. The following is my experience:

Upon arrival I park my car at the entrance lobby and no Bell boys at all. We wait for 5 minutes and then I decided to go and park the car myself. Then by the time I went to the lobby for check in my partner was already in and someone carried the luggage. Of course someone expects on a five stars hotel to have at least Bellboys but OK, I let this one go.

Check in was very smooth and I was given a corner room which was spacious (Room 801). The room looked new. My only suggestions are a bigger screen TV and perhaps a bit of decoration on the walls will be ideal.

Breakfast was included and I have to say we were not disappointed with the quality of the food nor with the atmosphere at the restaurant.

Room service was also efficient. Food was just right but let me tell you prices were very much acceptable.

As other reviewers mentioned, no gym available and swimming pool area is nice but not finished.

Location could be a bit complicated when you first time go there but when you know where you are is just fine.

We might go back.

GU

Room Tip: Ask for corner rooms as are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Currently the hotel is just in soft opening phase, as another reviewer already mentioned pool and fitness is not yet finished. Outside the hotel is very nice, also the infinity edge pool overlooking the fields will be very nice when finished. The rooms however are a bit of a very sparse design, wooden floor, no carpets, doors close very loud, which you can hear from all neighbors, no decoration in the rooms, not even a simple painting. Even deluxe rooms, which I had was quite small, I wouldn't give that more than 3 stars. But the bed was good, also a bit hard, and bathroom was nice with separate shower. Aircon was very noisy, and couldn't sleep without as it was hot within 5 minutes after turning it off. I had the bad luck to have a room with a connecting door and had very noisy neighbors, but the aircon on low was even louder. They have an underground parking space, but even now in soft opening it was full already when I arrived and I had to put the car in the sun. The breakfast was very good, but the service still needs to be improved. I even had to get the coffee myself. I will certainly not go there anymore, it can't match the Pullman by far, and I guess the price will be about same once it's fully operational. I was very happy to move to Pullman after one day, much bigger rooms, and right in the city center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank owerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is still under construction, although the rooms are finished our "club room" still had paint and concrete splattered over the windows as well as debris from construction work outside. The interior design of rooms is poor, the lighting system in the room makes its difficult to relax and while the ridiculous glass walled bathroom may be fun for adults but it's not appropriate for families. Pool - NOT operational. Breakfast - nothing special. Staff - generally lazy and inattentive (even by local standards) Booking - via Centara's website was a joke, the confirmation arrived 5 hours after we checked out. We'll be back at the Pullman on our next visit.

Room Tip: club room facilities aren't worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GadgetB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is a lovely hotel but not yet fully operational.....swimming pool not yet complete,Business Centre and English pub still work in progress,no free shuttle to Central Plaza,as yet.
But dont let that put you off......the architecture of the hotel and the rooms are really nice.Our room had a nice view and everything worked fine.The bed was extremely comfortable and the rain shower was just what you need after coming in from a hot day.
The Lobby Lounge is nice and relaxing and the breakfast in The Globe restaurant was excellent.We also had room service and the food was very good.
The staff are very pleasant and helpful.....they can arrange a taxi to Central Plaza for you and it only costs around 70 baht.
As a top class hotel,Khon Kaen only had the Pullman before but the Centara will be a more than adequate alternative when its fully complete.
I'd certainly recommend it now.....sometimes nicer to stay in a hotel when its quieter....but I would think all will be up and running by Easter 2013.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor which will have better views over the city or nearby park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zidane08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is a gem. There is not a lot of choice in khon Kaen when it comes to international standard hotels but the centara is great.

It's brand new, spotlessly clean, and the staff are amazing. Some of the facilities are not open yet and I wouldn't want to be waiting for the lift when the hotel was full, however these are minor issues and did not spoil our stay at all.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the town. Those at the back overlook an open field and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swc1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khon Kaen hotels
1.2 mi away
Pullman Khon Kaen Raja Orchid
1.3 mi away
Glacier Hotel
Glacier Hotel
#9 of 62 in Khon Kaen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Charoen Thani Khon Kaen
Charoen Thani Khon Kaen
#5 of 62 in Khon Kaen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kosa Hotel
Kosa Hotel
#4 of 62 in Khon Kaen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Piman Garden Hotel
Piman Garden Hotel
#15 of 62 in Khon Kaen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Terminal Hotel
The Terminal Hotel
#8 of 62 in Khon Kaen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre

Property: AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre
Address: 999 Moo 4 Prachasamosorn Road,, Khon Kaen 40000, Thailand (Formerly Centara Hotel & Convention Centre Khon Kaen)
Location: Thailand > Khon Kaen Province > Khon Kaen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Khon Kaen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and TripOnline SA so you can book your AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing