We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A centrally located good 4 Star hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glacier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glacier Hotel
Ranked #9 of 62 Hotels in Khon Kaen
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A centrally located good 4 Star hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Obviously it is not a luxury hotel, but it offers nice clean comfortable rooms, it is centrally located and the staff members are efficient, knowledgeable, courteous and always very helpful. To my pleasant surprise ( I normally look for a 5 star hotel, but it was fully booked), I really found this hotel to be very pleasant and I would highly recommend it to business people and/or guests passing through Khon Kaen.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. It is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abraham1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    59
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
38
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buriram, Thailand
Level Contributor
197 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Reservations were easy to make with a member of staff who spoke good English. Check-in was simple and there were ample staff ready to help us with the bags.

Happily surprised with the size of the rooms but I still don't understand the concept of glass walls between bathroom and bedroom (even with a curtain to close it!).

The wifi was the one down side as it was unreliable and slow. Message to hotel GM...Please ensure fast, reliable wifi if that's what you advertise!

The location of the hotel is in a nightlife area but we heard no noise through the night. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the duvets meant it was a real struggle to get out of bed in the morning.

The breakfast buffet was ample with a superb variety of food.

Check out was also simple and handled well. We didn't try the pool as the cool weather made it a little too cold.

Overall, a good choice. The decor is bright, location is good and staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Corner rooms looked a little smaller. We had a central one which had a sofa/sofa bed which was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EggChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The staff are so friendly and can't do enough for you. The rooms are very clean, nicely decorated and spacious. The food in the restaurant is of very high quality and very well presented. Will definitely stay again when we are in Khon Kaen

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel presents very well. The location is good for restaurants and bars. The rooms are good but are let down a fraction by cheaper fittings. The bathroom was good. The breakfast was adequate but asian focussed. Pool is noy much to speak of. The staff are very good. I left some expensive face cream but they posted it on to me straight away.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
193 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Glacier Hotel is a nice, clean hotel in a neighborhood that is half hip with restaurants and wine bars (and occasional underbelly). Rooms are nicely designed and comfortable. It has been designed to slightly different than your standard hotel with design, lighting, etc.

Bed was comfortable and bathroom large and well designed. Good amenities in the room, much of it reasonably priced.

We were on a non-smoking floor, but still smelt a slight residue of smoke particularly in the corridor.

Breakfast was fine, but organization was a little off, and they were still struggling to get set up about 40 minutes after they were set up. We got what we needed though.

Overall a good choice for a stay in Khon Kaen.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I had planned to book at the neighboring Pullman but if was full. So Glacier is the natural choice if one wants to stay reasonably comfortable in the city center. The hotel is not fashionable but fairly nice anyway, attempting to be a character hotel. We did not eat at the restaurant, except for breakfast, which was a mediocre experience. This will not be our first choice when we return to Khon Kaen.

Room Tip: Go for a room high up in the building. Down below can be noicy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stisse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed five nights at the Glacier Hotel and was generally pleased.

Location is not as good as the Pullman or Kosa but still okay.

Didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment.

Laundry service was same day and reasonably cheap.

Only negative was that the hotel suffers from noise pollution from outside. There is a Thai style nightclub next to the hotel that plays loud music until 4-5 a.m. and if you are unlucky to get a room facing the front of the hotel you will hear this noise.

I would stay here again unless I could get a rate at the Pullman within 600-700 baht of the Glacier's rate, something I couldn't do this trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khon Kaen hotels
1.3 mi away
AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre
0.1 mi away
Pullman Khon Kaen Raja Orchid
0.3 mi away
Charoen Thani Khon Kaen
Charoen Thani Khon Kaen
#5 of 62 in Khon Kaen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kosa Hotel
Kosa Hotel
#4 of 62 in Khon Kaen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Terminal Hotel
The Terminal Hotel
#8 of 62 in Khon Kaen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gallery Lake View Hotel
Gallery Lake View Hotel
#26 of 62 in Khon Kaen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glacier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glacier Hotel

Property: Glacier Hotel
Address: 141 Prachasamran Rd. | Nai Muang, Khon Kaen 40000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Khon Kaen Province > Khon Kaen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 Hotels in Khon Kaen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glacier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glacier Hotel Khon Kaen "The Elegant Cool Hotel" Seventy-two stylish and spacious rooms are designed using different living styles for comfort and convenience. Each room has its unique theme so that no matter how often you come back to us, you shall always experience something new. Our multi-lingual professional staffs will attend you to your every need and make you feel right at home. If you're looking for thorough relax, relieving the tensions of travel and business then the shimmering in Khonkaen, you will enjoy the Glacier Hotel Khon Kaen and feel your “ Touch of Difference”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glacier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing