We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”
Review of Piman Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Piman Garden Hotel
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Khon Kaen
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed September 3, 2010

I have to agree with the more positive reviews for Piman Garden Hotel, the negative ones I find somewhat alien. I stayed for 4 days, pre-booked at B1000 per night, I was more than satisfied with my choice and having previously stayed at Bussakarum Hotel and Kaen Inn (I would recommend both) I found this place an upward notch. I had a room on the 1st. floor, very spacious, balcony, etc., very comfortable with good choices on TV and fast Wi-Fi. The price included breakfast at an adjoining restaurant with was minimal but I expect that in all non-tourist orientated Thai hotels. I was also pleased with the airport pick up service.
I was pleased with my choice and will go again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewA4401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    27
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
13
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I had a confirmed reservation for 4 days here in a deluxe room. This is a nice bit of business for Khon Kaen as most people only stay a night or two and most do not want to spend money. But, upon arrival, I found out they had given away my room. Without any apology, they offered me a smaller room for the night. I showed them my confirmed reservation and they then changed their story to the concept that someone else overstayed and thats why my room was not available. I speak some Thai and I travel here frequently. The fact is that there was a short term demand for hotel space and they thought they could pull a switch. I believe this place discrimates agains foreigners. Stay elsewhere. The location is also not very central and there are a lot of mosquitos in the "garden".

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khonkaenhotel, Owner at Piman Garden Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
I was shocked to read your review, having previously never received so much negativity about my hotel. We constantly strive to improve our business and learn from our mistakes but I feel bound to respond to this unfounded review. If my staff made a mistake with your booking I apologise but the hotel policy is to upgrade for free not downgrade. Up grading is nearly always possible because as you stated ' people dont want to spend a lot of money' and if any of our rooms are available it will be the more expensive President Rooms.
There may well have been a large demand on the particular day you came to check in but please refer to previous paragraph. The statement 'I believe this place discrimates against foreigners' is totally unfounded. We have been open for two years and never have we been accused of racism and I would request that you retract that statement.
The mosquito problem you refer to I find hard to believe. We accept there is mosquitos in Thailand thats why we regularly use a non toxic smoke to remove the unwanted pests. If given time to ponder your comments I am sure there may be something that upset you but I cannot believe it was what you wrote. If you wish to talk to me personally use the contact form on the website and I will arrange a time to call you
Thank you
Chan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Khon Kaen hotels

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
230 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We booked the Piman Garden in advance based on reviews from Tripadvisor, but were a little disappointed overall due a few small but key points, such as being woken at 7am by cleaning staff and the hot water being very intermittent in the shower.

LOCATION: The location is very convenient, central to good street food and restaurants and just down the right from the market.

TYPE OF ROOM: Double room – 800b per night. The room is a great size, there is plenty of space and the air-con works well.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: The bathroom was quite old, but on the upside it had plenty of space and also had a bath and shower.
The shower pressure was poor and the hot water was very intermittent.

CLEANLINESS: The room was clean and large with plenty of space for luggage.

CLOSET SPACE: There was a large closet to hang clothes in.

TV/INTERNET: There was a TV in the room with a good selection of channels.
The Wi-Fi was very poor and dropped in and out all of the time. One night it was off almost all evening.

SERVICE: The reception staff were friendly and helpful.
Cleaning staff were also very friendly however commenced their shift at 7am. Our room seemed to be right outside the cleaning supply station and every morning we were woken by cleaning trolleys being stocked and pushed around.
Breakfast wasn’t within the hotel itself but was just outside the restaurant carpark/entrance at a restaurant. Given it was low season perhaps things aren’t always so dysfunctional, on our entrance to the restaurant no one greeted us, we had to ask how breakfast worked and what was available, even then no one could really tell us! That being said, we did end up having something to eat and it is included in the room rate so that’s a positive.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gounta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2010

This has got to be the best value hotel in issan if not thailand. In 15 years of travelling around S.E. Asia i have never been more comfortable than i was at the Piman Garden Hotel. City centre location at the end of a secluded soi, large rooms with air conditioning and a fan.Safe in the room with high end furnishings, great cable T.V. It is worth coming to Khon Kaen just to stay and relax in this fantastic hide away. Looking forward to my next visit already.
Bruce Morrice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2009

I found this to be a fabulous hotel and the price was great for a high end hotel. I was very surprised because the hotel is centrally located but when I entered the hotel grounds it was like leaving the city and entering a mini resort with beautiful landscaping providing a quite and relaxing atmosphere. The suite I stayed in was beautifully and tastefully decorated, clean and surprising large with a nice furnished balcony. The staff was friendly and helpful and the location is great with several restaurants close by and easy access to public transportation. Overall, an unusually well maintained rare jewel of a hotel that is a must stay if you are in Khon Kaen!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GThain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2009

I am so surprised to find this kind of hotel in Khon Kaen. It make me feel like i spent a holiday in Phuket or some resort in the southern part of Thailand. The room rate very cheap comparing to what you in there.

It make me feel like home. My room is twin bed but i found that the bed size is bigger than the oridinary one. Blanket is light and very comfortable. I feel that the quality of the material and amenities in the room is good quality like I found in some 4-5 star hotel in bangkok and souther part of Thailand. But there dont have room service availalbe by the time i went there. I feel that i dont need to as there are many restaurang around the area, and also in front of the hotel itselt. In my room I got 2 door Big refrigerator. Small pantry is provided with some plate and utencil. it make me so impressed. Hot water in the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamonchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Was at Piman Garden Residence end of August and i must agree totally with the original post. By far the best hotel we have used in Khon Kaen. Nearly new and knocks spots of the competition. A big thumbs up

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khon Kaen hotels
0.7 mi away
AVANI Khon Kaen Hotel & Convention Centre
0.6 mi away
Kosa Hotel
Kosa Hotel
#4 of 63 in Khon Kaen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Khon Kaen Raja Orchid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Glacier Hotel
Glacier Hotel
#9 of 63 in Khon Kaen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Charoen Thani Khon Kaen
Charoen Thani Khon Kaen
#5 of 63 in Khon Kaen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hop Inn Khon Kaen
Hop Inn Khon Kaen
#6 of 63 in Khon Kaen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piman Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piman Garden Hotel

Property: Piman Garden Hotel
Address: 6 / 100 Klang Muang Rd, Khon Kaen 40000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Khon Kaen Province > Khon Kaen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Khon Kaen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Piman Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Khon Kaen City. Bars and restaurants are nearby but hotel is quiet and situated in its own garden. Ideal for visits to Khon Kaen University, Central Plaza shopping center and near Vietnamese and Laos consulates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piman Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing