We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
$14
View deal
Booking.com
$13
View deal
Priceline$14
Hotels.com$14
FindHotel$14
View all 14 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
34
36
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
34
36
3
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 75 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This hotel exceeded all our expectations. The staff are friendly and always ready to help at any time of day or night. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and the location, while outside of downtown Khonkaen, is on small but busy corner with a few street vendors and convenience stores nearby - and an entertaining view from your room balcony above. Tuk-tuks and songteaws are just a short walk away on the main road for the 5 minute ride to downtown.

Overall an excellent find! We'll definitely stay again!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank -5--DanS-5--
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I just loved the Khon Kaen Orchid Hotel. Beautiful rooms, spotlessly clean. All the staff were genuinely freindly and ALWAYS helpful. The room and fittings looked brand new to me. Aircon was perfect. At first the room looked a little small but seriously there was me, my partner AND our 8 year old daughter and it was cozy and wonderful. It must be the layout and design that just works. The bathroom was perfectly fitted out. It must have been 10:30pm when we checked in and the lights went out in the bedroom area. On making the report whithin minutes the owner Derek was up to the room to sort the problem. I was VERY!! impressed. There is a basic self serve breakfast BUT! right on the doorstep is freshly cooked Thai food vendors morning, noon and night. Have to admit I ate a little too much lol. This Hotel is a real credit to owner operated Hotels.BRILLIANT. 800 baht per night? Oh please, GREAT value

Room tip: Introduce yourself to owners and they will look after you like a silkworm
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with friends; 6 of us in all. The hotel is family run and very welcoming and excellant value for money. It is spotlessly clean and very well maintained; a real home from home. All the staff are approachable and the service offered is fantastic, nothing is too much trouble. Although located a little of the beaten track it is only a short walk to the town centre but beware crossing the busy road can be a challenge. Tuk Tuks are plentiful and a very good way of getting around The hotel offers free airport transfers as standard.
I would without a doubt stay here again and would recommend the hotel to anyone visiting the area.
A great stay thanks very much

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joshuahenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Very good value for money this hotel.
Stayed here 2 nights with fiancee and 3 weeks old baby.
Very good service when calling; gave me recommendations on room. Everything very clean and service very good. Good potion of egg and bacon in the morning from room service.
Asked for golf opportunities in the evening; next day we headed of to Singha Park, Asia rank no 3 court, with two others and the hotel owner.
Only five minute walk from Central Festival shopping center - a minus here was crossing the road getting there. Recommend taxi or tuk tuk for 50 bath.
Could have been hotter water in the shower.
Recommend this hotel for very professional and good service, and very helpfull staff for all questions. No doubt that I will stay here next time I go to Khon Kaen. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room tip: Ask when booking and say if which category you belong (Family, solo...)
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This hotel is a gem, that gives terrific value for money. It has high standards; is spotlessly clean and maintained by a small team of staff, who are friendly, approachable and will do all they can to make your stay memorable. It is run by a Thai/Irish couple who are always on top of their game. They will pick you up from the airport, train or bus station, with the same available on your departure - the time of day being irrelevant. Help and advice are always at hand.
I've read reports about traffic noise at the Orchid, which may have been present last year, at times, when road improvements were taking place nearby; this is now finished and this is not an issue.
The reception area is open, which is a blessing when the temperature rises; it's clean and welcoming, and having cereal/toast and constant supply of tea and coffee available, it is a pleasant place to start the day.
There are laundry facilities available at a reasonable cost (travelling light would not be a problem here!). Cindy who speaks very good English will ensure your laundry is back in your room before you return in the evening; she will also provide you with a cooked breakfast, at a nominal charge. She is also available to help with problems should they arise; another charming Thai person you will meet at the Orchid.
Access for wheelchairs will be a problem as no lift is available; but that can be a problem in a lot of areas in Thailand. Another report mentioned noise from the Temple nearby - ridiculous! The temples, the Buddha days that occur are all part of the Thai experience (you must visit the New Temple in the city, which has a school attached to it and you may be lucky enough to be greeted by some young people, whose command of English will amaze you!)
Visit KK, stay at the Orchid and travel around and you will take away lasting memories of a people and a culture which will last forever. Probably not applicable as you will no doubt return soon!

Room tip: Higher floors less noisey, but identical rooms.
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stuart01704
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews