We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it”

Tiger Temple Thailand Tour
Ranked #6 of 17 Tours in Kanchanaburi
Attraction details
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The whole place was hot and dry . Animals wander around looking for some grass, not a blade insight . The poor moon bears have slimy green water to drink.

Helpful?
3 Thank Drinx1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    406
    214
    130
    435
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the time and money”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This would have to be one of the best trips I have had in Thailand. People need to understand that tigers are not surviving in the wild and if this is how these beautiful creatures need to be saved then so be it. The love and dedication the staff show for these animals is excellent. Likewise the safety precautions they take for visitors are first class. If you are going to get hurt it will be because you did not play by the temple rules. My hat also goes off to the four foreign volunteers who were working there during our tour. Two Australians, an American and a Canadian. They do this job for little recompense and only for the love of the animals. The Australian gentleman who did the commentary on our tour was first class. You need to see for yourself and make up your own mind. For us a truly awesome experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hurdydavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“unforgetable experience”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

walking with a full grown tiger & holding its leash was by far the most awesome experience we have ever encounted. the love & care shown by their handlers has to be seen to be believed. ofcourse they are chained. having eight very large tigers being patted & photographed all at the same time by the public shows there is a need for the handlers to have control at all times. drugged. you have got to be joking. take a look into the tigers eyes.(not too close) & you will see they are all about. theres no need to feel apprehensive. just do as the handlers advise & you will enjoy an experience of a life time. to all concerned at the temple.thank you for the opportunity to share this moment with you. oh, by the way a big thank you to the australian commentator,sorry didnt catch the name, for an insight into the daily life at the temple. glad you gave up being an electrican. once again thank you to you all

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Go in with the right expectations”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you believe taking the tigers out of their natural environment is not the right thing to do, then this is not a tour for you. If you think it's reasonable to put some safety measures in place to create an unique environment for humans to be able to get this close to the tigers, then I would recommend this, especially the morning tour. The handlers may be a bit too rough on the animals for some, but it's their intention to keep us safe. We tend to forget how powerful the tigers can be, even the cute little baby ones (just ask my bf's sock =) ) you have to remember they are not house cats! Many have commented on how the tigers look drugged. Not true! Other than the one that was in our laps for photo op, who looked like me on days I had to wake up at 6am, the others are perfectly themselves. They are energetic and probably more comfortable with having humans around than some humans are. Don't worry about how much $ you spend on this tour, then you will walk away with experience of a lifetime.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stellaaaaaaa1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfail
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wanting to visit”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Hi not sure if this is the best site but we are visiting in June and want to do a fully inclusive day trip taking in the tiger temple and floating markets.....as this is the first time to Thailand can recomend a good tour guide we can book with.....a litle apprehensive with all the differant companies all saying they do the best tour....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank taycor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiger Temple Thailand Tour also viewed

Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
Kanchanaburi, Kanchanaburi Province
 

Been to Tiger Temple Thailand Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing