We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite”
Review of Ploy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ploy Guest House
Ranked #9 of 109 Kanchanaburi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This lovely guest house has become a regular stop for us when we are in Thailand. The people are wonderful and very welcoming year after year, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The Ploy is in a good central location, with plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from. A particular favourite is Friends Bar opposite the Ploy. The breakfast is toast and tea or coffee, however, you can have eggs, bacon etc at a reasonable cost. All in all, a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzah1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 302 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Kanchanaburi was the best part of our Thailand trip. Ploy guest house, which we chose from travellers' reviews in TripAdvisor, met and even exceeded our expectation specially from its location, combined with the quality. The rates are great, rooms are clean with antique touch - all the furniture and decor in pure teak, staff were very polite and helpful - but the highlight for us was the pool, deck and restaurant on the River Kwai. We could sit there for hours, it was wonderful.

I strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayM1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

we go to Kanchanabury for 6D5N. First we stay in a different guesthouse until we decided to move on the 4th days. My bf ask to find this place and when we find it we just love it. Very good place, clean, cheap and in a great location. just go out and you can find lots of bar and restaurant. They give breakfast, but only toast and coffee/tea.
and their beer's price in the restaurant is cheaper than the bar outside. ha.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devilvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Ploy Guest House is one of the best hotels I have stayed in during my trips to Thailand. It offers simple comfort, great service, clean rooms all for an extremely reasonable price. I stayed three days in an excellent "garden room", which offered a comfortable double bed, large bathroom with seperate shower room, cable tv, and the usual complimentary two bottles of water. Free wifi is offered in the dining area, tho not in the rooms. There is a small but satisfactory pool overlooking the river, which was a great way to get refreshed after a hot day touring around this beautiful province.

The staff simply could not do enough, and even looked after arranging my mini-van transportation back to Bangkok at the end of my stay. Laundry service is available in-house for only 20 baht per kg, which is incredibly reasonable for a hotel, the same you would find on the street. If I dropped my bag of clothes off at the front desk in the morning, they were always ready when I returned after dinner that same day.

The location is excellent, just a few meters from the main road along the river, with numerous restaurants, bars and massage spas. Tuk tuks are available to travel to other areas of town, and if you prefer some exercise, the famous Bridge is only about 20 - 30 minutes easy walk away. Most tuk tuk rides are only 100 baht or less. Most things are much cheaper in Kanchanaburi then you will find in other resort areas in Thailand, with an hour of Thai massage only costing 150 baht. Nightlife can be had all up and down the road later at night, with live bands and friendly crowds. The Ploy tho, is just far enough back from the road that my room was always quiet and undisturbed by any bar noises.

I found the staff at the kitchen/bar particularly friendly. Special kudos to Golf, who runs the kitchen/bar area, for really making me feel welcome with his sense of humor and friendship.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Ploy to my friends, and would definitely stay there my next time in Kanchanaburi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LosBound2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in the River Cottage which was really lovely and I think worth the extra money as it made enjoying the pool really easy and we could even get wifi in the room. Admittedly there was sometimes a bit of a funky smell in the room especially when we returned after being away and the fan and aircon were off. There is no screen on the windows so it is hard to open them to let the room air out as you don't want to let the room fill up with mosquitos. We did enjoy the pool which was clean and we had it all to ourselves whenever we went in. The service at reception is ok and you can easily book tours there - no need to walk through town as the prices are the same. We didn't bother with the breakfast as Tara restaurant right next door was very reasonably priced and you could get a real breakfast for as little as 35 baht. The location is excellent and now having been there I think this was the main benefit of the place. It is right next to the Tesco and easy walking distrance to the night market and tons of affordable restaurants as well as local spas/massage places. It is walkable from the train station and so easy to pick up mini buses or whatever you need. The post office is also just down the road. There are many choices in Kanchanaburi - it's a great place to visit for a few days - make sure you book a place with a pool. Ploy is a good choice - perhaps not quite 4 stars but more than 3.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fruitio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Room fairly small (room dominated by a raised platform on which the mattresses rest) but comfortable. Large bathroom & plenty of hot water. Breakfast = toast & coffee but plentiful.
Very inviting little pool overlooking the river (& sunset) - great for a dip at the end of a hot day sightseeing!
Staff are friendly & try their best to help/offer advice. Cheap laundry services.
Lots of places nearby to rent motorbikes/bicycles.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 nights here & stayed in the ground floor room with garden bathroom the room had air con, mini fridge & T.V ( with English speaking channels. Our room was very clean, comfortable bed with fresh sheets & towells each day. The restaurant/bar area is quiet big & airy they also have a "infinity" pool over looking the river & was a great place for relaxing in. We found the staff were great & went out of thier way to help you. Plot Guest House is down a side road close to the main strip but is very quiet at night. We have no hesition in recommending this & will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyK950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.9 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
169 reviews
1.3 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,066 reviews
0.9 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Pong Phen Guesthouse and Bungalows
0.2 mi away
Good Times Resort
Good Times Resort
#1 of 83 in Kanchanaburi
620 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Vista Pool Villa
The Vista Pool Villa
#11 of 83 in Kanchanaburi
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ploy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ploy Guest House

Address: 79 / 2 Mae Nam Kwai Rd. | Tha Makham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $39 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ploy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ploy Guest House Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing