We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet & friendly”
Review of Ploy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ploy Guest House
Ranked #6 of 103 Kanchanaburi B&B and Inns
Fife
Level Contributor
184 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Quiet & friendly”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Room fairly small (room dominated by a raised platform on which the mattresses rest) but comfortable. Large bathroom & plenty of hot water. Breakfast = toast & coffee but plentiful.
Very inviting little pool overlooking the river (& sunset) - great for a dip at the end of a hot day sightseeing!
Staff are friendly & try their best to help/offer advice. Cheap laundry services.
Lots of places nearby to rent motorbikes/bicycles.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    140
    38
    9
    5
See reviews for
73
141
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 nights here & stayed in the ground floor room with garden bathroom the room had air con, mini fridge & T.V ( with English speaking channels. Our room was very clean, comfortable bed with fresh sheets & towells each day. The restaurant/bar area is quiet big & airy they also have a "infinity" pool over looking the river & was a great place for relaxing in. We found the staff were great & went out of thier way to help you. Plot Guest House is down a side road close to the main strip but is very quiet at night. We have no hesition in recommending this & will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyK950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

After a long trip from Koh samui I arrived at Ploy Guesthouse Kanchanaburi

I was a bit worried as to what to expect but 5 minutes after arriving everything about the place was amazing

Friendly staff,Clean rooms and a fantastic view over the river Kwai

Breakfast coffee/tea and toast was ok as I dont normaly eat breakfast at home

If you want a more substantial breakfast then walk 10 meters across the road to the bar Friend
where the very nice laddy BB King as shes known will cook anything you want to your taste at a price you wont believe

The friend bar also does an excellent menu at night offering Thai and European food for around about 4 euros per head

Plenty to see in and around Kanchanaburi and the staff at Ploy are always at hand to help with your every need

You can also pick lots of local useful info by Talking to Mrs Muller the owner of Friend Bar

Ploy is more of a guesthouse then a Hostel but you only pay Hostel prices

Rest Assured you wont be dissapointed with Ploy or thr Friend Bar

Review by Peter Warner England

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterwarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here 3 years in a row. The service is still ok but it has lost some of it's charm. The garden rooms no longer have outdoor garden bathrooms as they have been covered and glass doors put on gardens. This wakes it seem darker and the charm has gone.
The rooms are not kept really clean as they never seem to wash the floors. Expect ants in your room and sometimes in bed with you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackqprrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kusadasi, Turkey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Ploy Guest House is an ideal base for exploring the Kanchanaburi and Bridge on the River Kwai area. Clean rooms, friendly staff and good position all at a good price. Breakfasts were a little miserly, but there is an abundance of cafes/restaurants within 100 metres. Not top of the range, but okay for a few days. Would use it again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monsoonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We arrived at Ploy at about 9pm,bags were taken straight from cab up to the room no cheek in or any thing.Staff did not seem to speak much English(which we found out over the next 6 days they dont but that added to the fun of staying here).
The room was upstairs at the end of the communal balcony which was good because that meant that we had only one neighbour not that it was noisy at any time.The room was big with separate dressing area and wet room but the furniture was dated and the bed was the platform type which was very hard!.
Breakfast was in the dining area over looking the pool and the river which was a nice view to have at breakfast. Breakfast which was included in the room price was toast; jam, coffee then you could pay for eggs,bacon which was not a bad price.
The pool was a small infinity pool which looked out over the river with 6 sunbeds around it these take up all of the space around the pool so get there before people come back from trips when the place is full.
Outside on the street there is a Tesco lotus, enough places to eat for the time we were there and travel agents to book trips with to Hellfire Pass etc.
If you smile and have a laugh with the staff they really seem to enjoy it,just act daft like i did and they love it.
Over all what we payed for the room it was good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aqualungcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights end of jan 13. The cottage is great, fairly private, big and homely with a good bathroom, air con & sitting over the river.(great for a bit of fishing!) the bar/resturant overlooks the river, open plan with a plunge pool, big & comfortable.Staff v helpful.Breakfast is continental style, extras , eggs, bacon etc for a small extra fee.
The town reminded us of a mini Chiang Mai, plenty of bars & resturants, several long stay europeans, pretty laid back, although the main town around the bus station is a busy Thai shopping area.
Visiting the commonwealth cemetery is a v moving experience, the death railway even more so,go there and pay your respects.
We also visited the Tiger Temple, out of town. Interesting, but it has become a theme park,being run on a purely commercial basis. Be warned!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fenfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.9 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.3 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.4 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pong Phen Guesthouse and Bungalows
0.2 mi away
Good Times Resort
Good Times Resort
#1 of 77 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sabai @ Kan Resort
Sabai @ Kan Resort
#1 of 103 in Kanchanaburi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ploy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ploy Guest House

Property: Ploy Guest House
Address: 79 / 2 Mae Nam Kwai Rd. | Tha Makham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ploy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ploy Guest House Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing