We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“riverside cottage”
Review of Ploy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ploy Guest House
Ranked #9 of 108 Kanchanaburi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights end of jan 13. The cottage is great, fairly private, big and homely with a good bathroom, air con & sitting over the river.(great for a bit of fishing!) the bar/resturant overlooks the river, open plan with a plunge pool, big & comfortable.Staff v helpful.Breakfast is continental style, extras , eggs, bacon etc for a small extra fee.
The town reminded us of a mini Chiang Mai, plenty of bars & resturants, several long stay europeans, pretty laid back, although the main town around the bus station is a busy Thai shopping area.
Visiting the commonwealth cemetery is a v moving experience, the death railway even more so,go there and pay your respects.
We also visited the Tiger Temple, out of town. Interesting, but it has become a theme park,being run on a purely commercial basis. Be warned!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fenfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 302 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

After having our reservation messed up at VN Guesthouse, we drove around all over the city trying to find a hotel that would accomodate our needs (which was two rooms near each other with A/C). We saw a sign for Ploy Guest House on the road and after stopped at 4 other hotels, it was worth a shot. We lucked out!

It's clean, very modern, friendly staff, english TV channels and best of all, a gorgeous infinity pool that overlooks the lake. The view is gorgeous and sitting in the upper lounges during sunset is worth the stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Amazingly friendly staff and lovely rooms- we stayed in the cottage on the river for 2 nights and had a lovely stay. Will be returning to Kanchanaburi in the future and will definitely stay at Ploy again.
The pool was sensational at the end of a hot day, and the food was also excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saminator01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great family friendly guest house right on the river. We stayed in the family room which was great. Two rooms with TV and air con in both, a nice sitting area in the main room and large bathroom. Breakfast is provided but only limited options which you can add to for a small fee.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregH1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in March 2012 for 3 nights whilst exploring the area. Apologies for the late review. We had a deluxe room on the ground floor with a "garden bathroom" which was lovely. The room was clean and spacious and met all our needs and breakfast was adequate but what made this place special was the pool and the location on the edge of the river. The views were amazing. The staff were friendly and gave us advice on places to visit and how to get there and would have arranged a pick up from the bus/train station had we needed it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anth58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My active teen was completely blown away by the pool and the view of the river, one of his best memories. We had rooms on the main floor. We got a kick out of the bathroom gardens and the rooms were very clean and well maintained. Service was adequate, I agree with another reviewer that the complementary breakfast was pretty lame. No one checked our sheets when we left.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaMama111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

First, I would like to start with the positive.
We booked 4 nights with 3 rooms - 1 family room and 2 garden view rooms. The room are great. We actually enjoyed our family room a lot. It comes with 2 connecting rooms - 1 with a king bed and a living room, and the other has 2 twins bed.
Our room was on the second level with a beautiful view of the river and the pool right outside of the balcony. We have 2 small kids 2 yrs old, and 4 yrs old which made it very dangerous since the balcony is not fully closed, the kids can be easily walk off the balcony from the 2nd level. That is the reason why we dont take advantage of the balcony so much. It would work if you have older children or just for adult. I would not recommended this room for family with small children unless you are planning to keep an eye on them all the time.

The breakfast included in the room charge is NOT worth mention. It comes with self serve coffee and toast. That is it. They just put out a load of bread and 2 pot of coffee. You can order eggs and some basic items but it is extra charge and the price is high.

The restaurant is nice but they do not offer food. They just have a fridge filled with beer and that is it. So if you need to have lunch, or dinner, you have to walk out to the main road to find food. It is very close though.

Even with all those minor cons, our family of 9 did enjoyed our stay UNTIL check out.

When we ask to check out, they send 2 maids to our room, pull up all the sheets, the blankets, the tower to check for stain or dirt. My husband and I were so shocked because they didnt do it in a nice way either. They acted like they are inspector. All the sheets and blankets, towel were in white color. The pulled out a bunch and ask us to explain anything that not white on the sheet from chocolate or just simple dirt on the towel. Our party included 4 adults and 5 children. How can they expect we used a white towel and dont get it dirty.
They didnt clean the room everyday. And now they complained that the sheet are too dirty.
They asked us to WAIT until they can see if they can wash the stain on those sheets and towels.
On my years of travel, I never experienced such a terrible service. What happen to bleach? They said our room charged does not cover those. The lady at front desk hand us a sheet written in Thai of how much things would cost to cover those sheets. At this point, I ask for a manager. And she said she is the manager.
My grandson is a new born. His diaper leaked and stained the sheet (according to them it happened 2 days before check out) and they made us paid 350THB for a sheet stain. I did not get inform about it until check out.

Anyway, like I said, this hotel is in a nice location. The rooms are very nice as well. I would NOT recommend it to family with young children. Please be careful with check out. We would NOT come back to this guesthouse since service is important to us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NGUYENSCHABERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.9 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#11 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
168 reviews
0.9 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
235 reviews
1.3 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pong Phen Guesthouse and Bungalows
0.1 mi away
Tara Bed & Breakfast
Tara Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 108 in Kanchanaburi
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ploy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ploy Guest House

Address: 79 / 2 Mae Nam Kwai Rd. | Tha Makham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $35 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ploy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ploy Guest House Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing