We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Joy of Ploy”
Review of Ploy Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ploy Guest House
Ranked #7 of 105 Kanchanaburi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mernda, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Joy of Ploy”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great family friendly guest house right on the river. We stayed in the family room which was great. Two rooms with TV and air con in both, a nice sitting area in the main room and large bathroom. Breakfast is provided but only limited options which you can add to for a small fee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregH1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    142
    39
    9
    5
See reviews for
75
142
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in March 2012 for 3 nights whilst exploring the area. Apologies for the late review. We had a deluxe room on the ground floor with a "garden bathroom" which was lovely. The room was clean and spacious and met all our needs and breakfast was adequate but what made this place special was the pool and the location on the edge of the river. The views were amazing. The staff were friendly and gave us advice on places to visit and how to get there and would have arranged a pick up from the bus/train station had we needed it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anth58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My active teen was completely blown away by the pool and the view of the river, one of his best memories. We had rooms on the main floor. We got a kick out of the bathroom gardens and the rooms were very clean and well maintained. Service was adequate, I agree with another reviewer that the complementary breakfast was pretty lame. No one checked our sheets when we left.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaMama111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, MN
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

First, I would like to start with the positive.
We booked 4 nights with 3 rooms - 1 family room and 2 garden view rooms. The room are great. We actually enjoyed our family room a lot. It comes with 2 connecting rooms - 1 with a king bed and a living room, and the other has 2 twins bed.
Our room was on the second level with a beautiful view of the river and the pool right outside of the balcony. We have 2 small kids 2 yrs old, and 4 yrs old which made it very dangerous since the balcony is not fully closed, the kids can be easily walk off the balcony from the 2nd level. That is the reason why we dont take advantage of the balcony so much. It would work if you have older children or just for adult. I would not recommended this room for family with small children unless you are planning to keep an eye on them all the time.

The breakfast included in the room charge is NOT worth mention. It comes with self serve coffee and toast. That is it. They just put out a load of bread and 2 pot of coffee. You can order eggs and some basic items but it is extra charge and the price is high.

The restaurant is nice but they do not offer food. They just have a fridge filled with beer and that is it. So if you need to have lunch, or dinner, you have to walk out to the main road to find food. It is very close though.

Even with all those minor cons, our family of 9 did enjoyed our stay UNTIL check out.

When we ask to check out, they send 2 maids to our room, pull up all the sheets, the blankets, the tower to check for stain or dirt. My husband and I were so shocked because they didnt do it in a nice way either. They acted like they are inspector. All the sheets and blankets, towel were in white color. The pulled out a bunch and ask us to explain anything that not white on the sheet from chocolate or just simple dirt on the towel. Our party included 4 adults and 5 children. How can they expect we used a white towel and dont get it dirty.
They didnt clean the room everyday. And now they complained that the sheet are too dirty.
They asked us to WAIT until they can see if they can wash the stain on those sheets and towels.
On my years of travel, I never experienced such a terrible service. What happen to bleach? They said our room charged does not cover those. The lady at front desk hand us a sheet written in Thai of how much things would cost to cover those sheets. At this point, I ask for a manager. And she said she is the manager.
My grandson is a new born. His diaper leaked and stained the sheet (according to them it happened 2 days before check out) and they made us paid 350THB for a sheet stain. I did not get inform about it until check out.

Anyway, like I said, this hotel is in a nice location. The rooms are very nice as well. I would NOT recommend it to family with young children. Please be careful with check out. We would NOT come back to this guesthouse since service is important to us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NGUYENSCHABERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent 4 nights in total at Ploy during our stay in the Kanchanaburi area. In that time we slept in three different rooms due to our coming and going with other activities. We had the so called deluxe downstairs room with fridge and tv and the more affordable rooms upstairs with no tv or fridge. There was 400B of a difference which was i think unjustified as the rooms upstairs were equally as spacious, clean and comfortable as those downstairs. I must say the staff we accomodating, polite and keen to please at any request we made and I couldnt fault them.

The pool and the wifi by the pool were a huge plus for us. I swam every morning before having a very reasonably priced breakfast and cheacking email. I would prefer wifi in the rooms but this is next best thing. The views from the pool were breathtaking.

One slight negative was the bathrooms were showing some minor signs of aging.

They also let us use the pool and baggage storage (which is secured and locked) while we were not registered as guests that night.

Room Tip: dont bother taking the more expensive rooms. there is no need unless you need a fridge or bad Thai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beattle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Kanchanaburi is the old capital of Thailand and is a Thai village built around the Bridge of the River Kwai. Now if you go to Kanchanaburi you need to stay on the river! This is the place to be! It is gorgeous! We stayed in the little cottage right on the river, wow, been on Tripadvisor, but it was much better than expected. There is only one cottage on the river... the rest is built in a guest house style away from the river. Beautiful pool overlooking the river, and a nice little restaurant and bar overlooking the river as well.
Ploy is just off the main road and mid-town, so you are close to other restaurants and bars and night markets should you wish to go out.
The price is really good if you compare it with other river accommodation of the same standard. It is so relaxing here and the people are fantastic.

Room Tip: The Cottage!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xRachellex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a fantastic little place, right on the River Kwai and set a little back from the main tourist road in Kanchanaburi. So it's quiet and relaxing while right next to all the action. We stayed in the rooms with no TVs which was an astonishingly good 600 baht per night! Probably the best place I have stayed in Thailand for that price. The rooms are clean and pretty, though we did have a problem with the shower holder, as it the hose would not stay in place. This could be easily fixed but means that you can't really have a relaxing shower. The bathroom itself is spacious and good for the price.

Possibly the best thing about the guesthouse is the beautiful infinity pool, set against the River Kwai. What a stunning view! Try and watch the sun set from there. Tea and toast is included for breakfast, but try adding bacon and egg for just 25 baht each! Makes a cheap western breakfast. This is the perfect place to stay to explore the magnificent province of Kanchanaburi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.9 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#9 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
165 reviews
1.3 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
1,005 reviews
0.9 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#10 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
0.4 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pong Phen Guesthouse and Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ploy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ploy Guest House

Property: Ploy Guest House
Address: 79 / 2 Mae Nam Kwai Rd. | Tha Makham, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ploy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ploy Guest House Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing