We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Kwai Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
River Inn(Kanchanaburi)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
River Guest House(Kanchanaburi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Kwae Riverside Resort(Kanchanaburi)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Hop Inn Kanchanaburi(Kanchanaburi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
M.K. Hotel(Kanchanaburi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
17
92
99
45
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
92
99
45
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshall carpetsrailway tracknight marketegg stationrooms are cleanbreakfast buffetthai foodtuks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 277 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed for two nights. We had a newly renovated room and I was pleased with it. Clean, enough space for two of us, and nicely decorated. Staff at the front desk spoke good English and were helpful. Breakfast was very good with many choices. Pool was nice. Its only a 10 minute walk from the bus station. It's a 15 minute walk past the War Cemetery to get to many great restaurants.

The hotel restaurant is expensive. The bar/restaurant outside the hotel had good food and good live music. Yes the disco was loud and we could hear it from our room; but we were still able to sleep. Probably not the best for a family with young children though, maybe request a room facing the other direction.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Boom! Boom! Boom! till 2am every night of the week.
A disco located at the front of the hotel and karaoke at the back echo throughout this concrete sound box.
Apart from the noise, we had to move rooms three times in one night due to various other disturbances and annoyances, one of which included being placed on a floor that was later swarmed with a boys' school sports team. The staff seemed willing to help, but had little foresight.
Coffee was good. And needed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The River Kwai Hotel is about a 10 to 15 minute walk to/from the bus station. This was the reason we selected it as we took a bus to Kanchanaburi from Bangkok to go and enjoy the Erawan Water Falls. The River Kwai Hotel is in a good location with 7-Eleven across the street, and a restaurant right next store. From here, you can also walk about 10-15 minutes further to historical sites, night market, and more restaurants. Good AC, WIFI, Comfortable Bed, free waters (2) in room, and very friendly front desk staff (everyone was so pleasant). Breakfast was okay, my friend had a made to order omelette otherwise more Asian options. Negative was that we were put in a room in the front of the hotel and music played extremely loud until 2 or 3 am (karaoke bar to left and restaurant/bar is on the right). Would recommend to request a room in the back. We paid 1100 baht (EUR 27). We inquired to stay a 2nd night, but were informed it was now 1500 baht because it was a Friday night before the holidays. For this area and noise, we wouldnt pay this rate so went next door to their sister hotel and paid 800 baht. We thought it was really nice of the front desk staff to even inform us to go to their sister hotel (River Inn). Tip: Bus Station offers transport to and from Erawan Falls / no need to book a tour!

Room Tip: Back of Hotel must be more quieter than front!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solo_traveler_girlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

If I could add an audio file to this review all you hear is the repetitive bass of the awful club underneath the hotel. As long as the club exists this will always be a crap hotel. Find anywhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollyknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed for a night whilst tour Kanchannaburi. Good selling point as free wifi in all rooms.

Good location and lots of road-side store in the evening selling good food.

Breakfast was average. Front desk staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMWEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews