We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and rundown hotel - best avoided”
Review of River Kwai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River Kwai Hotel
Ranked #51 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tired and rundown hotel - best avoided”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this hotel in July. On the positive side the hotel is centrally located in Kanchanaburi, the rooms were reasonably priced (1,000 baht per night) and fairly clean, and the swimming pool is decent. On the negative side the hotel is quite tired and rundown, and has a bit of a hospital smell to it. Would it hurt to buy new tablecloths for the dining room so you’re not looking at a bunch of stains while you’re eating? Or to fix the floor tiles to avoid tripping? A major annoyance was the loud live music playing right next to the hotel. When I complained at 1am (!) that it was keeping me awake, the staff didn’t seem too bothered, saying “only another 30 minutes, kha”. Surely there must be better hotel choices in the area!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, away from any noisy bars with live music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ellenbee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    88
    88
    42
    23
See reviews for
35
54
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
bancock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

the room was dirty, the staff was having a contest to see who could be the most unhelpful,
the laundry was more expensive then i paid for the clothing.
the food was uneatable
Ive never written a review before but if you stay here it in my opinion it could spoil your holiday,

Room Tip: go across the road, good food, reasonable rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank sophyney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kanchanaburi hotels

Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 1 night after catching the train from Bangkok and used the hotel as a base to visit hellfire pass, the bridge on the river Kwai and the Namtok waterfalls.

Beware the local taxis that are just utes with a canopy on the back- very slow and uncomfortable. Insist on an air conditioned car if travelling to the hills.

The hotel was just average but reasonable value for the price. The staff in the restaurant spoke poor English and we had several misunderstandings but they did their best to make us happy. The meals were tasty and good value with a 2 course meal for 2 with drinks costing $35 Australian dollars.

Comfortable enough for a quick stop over but wouldn't want to have an extended stay. Suggest you look for something a bit newer.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel isn't in a bad position, it does have a pool but we never got around to using it. What deters us from staying here in the future:
1. The included breakfast was the worst we've ever had. The omlettes smelt like someone had thrown up, possibly off milk, but this was every day. Besides some odd cereals, the breakfast caterred only for Thais. No continental or western choices. And of the Thai selections available, the food looked like and tasted like yesterday's left overs. No sausage, bacon, unsugared bread or butters were available. We ended up eating elsewhere for breakfast
2. The beer garden/bistro was no better. My wife had a Thai pork dish and the poor was definitely past it's best before date. I had a stuffed chicken dish which was over cooked to the point of leather, or it too was a reheated dish from days old.
3. The beer garden had a choice of Heineken or Singha full stop.
4. The room was clean and tidy, but the air conditioner would not go below 25 degrees. On very hot days (everyday), the room offered little comfort taking more than 3 hours to get to a comfortable setting. We complained about this on the first evening and although a maintenance man came and had a look at it, nothing improved. He stated he would turn it down for us (he didn't) he also said someone will fix it tomorrow (they didn't). We complained a second time and noone bothered to come at all.
5. A very noisy night club outside the hotel means that you have to be careful where you park the car. If you want to go out during the evening, you have to park elsewhere otherwise your car will get parked in. This can be quite annoying.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank madivad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is a Thai standard mid range business hotel and that is what you should expect of it. I.e. pretty worn down and quite unfresh rooms compared to western standards, but all services of a business hotel available and good wifi connection. Buffet breakfast, both continental and Asian, OK but nothing to write home about. Big plus for the hotel is their big pool (clorine free, cleaned with ozon) set among many lotus trees, so you can take a dip in the evening after touring the area. (Even though it stated the pool was open until 19, it was always closed and lights out when we came down at 18. But we just pointed it out in the restaurant and they lit the lights and gave us towels. Same happened both nights when we were there…)
We stayed there with our two kids and found it ok for a couple of nights when we needed to stay close to the bus station.
It is a good starting point to explore the “the bridge over the river kwai” (some 10 minutes drive), Erawan National Park and e.g. Elephant’s World (they pick you up at the hotel), which I can really warmly recommend.
It is also about 5 minutes drive from the bus station, and from Pizza Company if you start craving western food. Not so many restaurants that we saw nearby, only food stalls. Maybe next time we’d rather choose the backpacker area of Kanchanaburi with more shops, restaurants and life in the evening. For visiting Erawan, Hellfire Pass etc we’d rather recommend staying closer to those places, somewhere in the jungle by the river Kwai. Much nicer places to relax.

Room Tip: We saw that they were removing carpets from some rooms and putting new floor. Ask for those rooms if...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Break12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in March 2012 and enjoyed aour stay. The room was basic and after a few days travelling we needed some clothes laundered but could not speak Thai so had a LOT OF TROUBLE communicating. But eventually I just carried my laundry to the front desk and instantly smiles and understanding. The pool is the best feature of the hotel. It was wonderful to relax in the pool after a day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: Excellent Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IamFossil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

this is our 2 nd time in Thailand & have stayed at some very nice places & some very poor places. This hotel is very run down & the service is just not there for the 60.00 US dollars we paid per night. the admenities are very limited. I would think the hotel would be clean & updated for the price that is paid. Our beds are like sleeping on a piece of plywood. So hard there is absolutely NO give to them. If they tended to the building like they do the plants it would probably be a nice place. The pool is good as well as the location. I would not stay here again. I rate it as a 2 star. Thank goodness we are leaving tomorrow. I don't think I could do another night on those horrible bed.
Shelby from davenport, WA USA

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srborden57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
1.9 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
217 reviews
2.4 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
1.4 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
A&S Residence Kanchanaburi
A&S Residence Kanchanaburi
#17 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
9 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hop Inn Kanchanaburi
Hop Inn Kanchanaburi
#13 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Kwai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Kwai Hotel

Property: River Kwai Hotel
Address: 284/15-16 Sang Chuto Road, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — River Kwai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your River Kwai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Kwai Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing