We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our biggest mistake - only staying 1 night!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanchanaburi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oriental Kwai Resort
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We stayed at this lovely resort last October, unfortunately only for one night. Our Thailand holiday had been booked through a travel agent at home, we wanted to do some tours of the Kanchanaburi region but none of the organised tours our agent showed us covered everything we wanted to see so we decided to organised that part of the trip ourselves.

Well as it turned out it was one of the best parts of our holiday and it all went like clockwork.
I emailed the resort from home (Australia) and got a reply within hours. I rang them and arranged a booking, easy. We arranged a transfer to the resort from our hotel in Bangkok the night before we had to leave, the taxi picked us up early the next morning and we were off, (at a considerable pace I might add), and after a slight diversion to the floating market, our driver delivered us to the Kanchanaburi bus station.
We had phoned the resort just before arriving in Kanchanaburi so they arranged for a taxi driver to meet us at the bus station who took us straight to the resort, free of charge.
What a beautiful surprise this resort was. Quite small (which suited us), just lovely gardens and individual cabins right on the river Kwai. Lovely hosts and staff as well. The cabins were very comfortable and beautifully designed. There was no TV reception but the resort had a wide selection of DVD's you could borrow if you wished.
We dropped off our baggage, we were keen to get exploring the area so the owners organised for our driver to take us to all the sights we wanted to visit. On the afternoon of our arrival we visited the Tiger Temple, the Bridge over the River Kwai and the JEATH museum at Kanchanburi. We then went back to the resort for a bit of lounging around and a lovely meal.
We spoke to the owners and told them what sights we wanted to see the next day and also that we were keen to travel back to Bangkok using the public transport the locals use. They gave us some advice and which bus to catch and reassured us that the public transport was safe and reliable, we were given specific advise to get one of the mini buses as the larger buses can take all day to get to Bangkok.
The next day the resort owners organised another Taxi take us to the Hellfire Pass Museum and the trestle bridge on the Death Railway. He then delivered us to the bus station at Kanchanaburi, showed us which was the correct bus to get on, spoke to the ticket seller, helped us buy our tickets, put our luggage on the bus and waived us goodbye. (As a side note, the toilets at the station & the trestle bridge were squat toilets, I suggest you put some toilet paper or tissues in your bag in case you come across these toilets as there is usually none provide, also at the trestle bridge you have to pay a small amount to use them so have a few coins on you)
The bus ride back to Bangkok was a great experience. We were the only tourists, all of the other passengers were locals. I must say I felt safer on this trip with the bus stopping at each town along the way, than I did in our private taxi hooning along at 130 kph! There was also no pressure to stop off at the tourist spots.
We were a little bit concerned about what we were going to about finding a taxi when we got to Bangkok, but we knew we had lots of time so it didn't really matter if it took us a while to get back the hotel. If we had to walk to find a taxi so be it.
When we got to Bangkok, our bus pulled into a massive roundabout absolutely full of buses and taxis and people, it looked like chaos, we didn't know if we could even get off the bus without being run over!
Well!!! Our bus pulled up, our bus driver indicated to us to handover the directions to our hotel (hotels in Bangkok give you little business cards to show taxi drivers where to take you), he got out in the middle of the traffic, flagged down a taxi, told the driver where to take us, told us to quickly get off the bus, he grabbed our luggage, threw it into the taxi with us throwing ourselves quickly in behind it. The whole changeover took less than 30 seconds. In the taxi I turned to my husband and said "that was too easy!". We were whisked off into the traffic by the taxi driver (who used his meter) back to our hotel. The whole trip from Kanchanburi to the Radission hotel for two of us cost 280 bht!
Our hosts at the Oriental Kwai Resort and our drivers made this whole experience just terrific.
I am so glad now that we didn't go on an organised tour, we had lots of time to stop and look at whatever we wanted to, we didn't have to stop at places we weren't interested in and we got to experience a little bit of the locals daily lives by travelling on their public transport.
So I can definately recommend you stay at this resort and consider taking the slow road so you can experience a little bit of the real Thailand.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shino1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
There are newer reviews for Oriental Kwai Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 864 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2011

It was almost a year ago we ended up in Oriental Kwai after the Icelandic Volcano forced us to stay in Thailand one extra week. However it turned out to be one great week! We booked the beatiful family bungalow by the river, then we went out rafting which was great fun (if you have the stamina). I also fully recommend to book a taxi and go to the seven steps waterfall (preferably early in the morning), it is amazing.

The hotel was easily the best I visited in Thailand and the surroundings are beautiful, please note that this is a small family hotel and not a huge Sheraton.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magnus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed in the family room in January. We enjoyed all aspects of the resort. After visiting the amazing local attractions until late afternoon we where happy to laze by the pool & then eat in.The staff never asked for your name or room number when ordering drinks by the pool, but clearly they new as at the end of dinner the bill would include any orders thru the day, what a great system. The resort ticked all the right boxes, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnHolidays247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

A perfect getaway for couples or families who love nature. I was impressed by a dozen of bungalows with tropical gardens and teak forest on the banks of river Kwai. My girl friend really loves the pool and the open air restaurant with great views of the river. Besides, the staffs are friendly and welcoming. They always served with smiles. You can also book daily trips and taxis anytime. Fantastic assortment of food and drinks was available every time. We appreciated it all! A two-day trip was too short with us and next time we think we’ll plan for at least one week in Oriental Kwai.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jansons_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed 7 days at Oriental Kwai Resort with our three children aged 1, 7 and 8 years.

It turned out to be the perfect place for us. The owners, Evelyn and Joe, are exceptional good at making you feel at home, and they provide tour information of high quality, which is fundamental, when you are planning a holiday with three children. The staff are in another league compared to what we met other places during our six weeks of vacation. They are attentive in a very discrete way. The food is good, and the banana pancakes with ice and the spring rolls are excellent.

The hotel is placed quite a bit from Kanchanaburi down town. After a few days we began to see this as a strength - more than a weakness. The atmosphere is peaceful, and the views to the river and surrounding mountains are stunning. At the same time you are within half an hour drive of many attractions - elephant camp, temples, tigers etc. If you wish to go to Kanchanaburi town, you can go by long tail boat directly from the pier at the hotel to the River Kwai Bridge (or you can of course take a taxi)

The hotel area is in itself an attraction. The garden is lush and well kept, and the pool is wonderful.

We really felt at home.

Anne Marie and Thomas (Denmark)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas297924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We only stayed here three nights (September 2010) as we were not sure what to expect in Thailand, but we wish we had stayed longer!

We spent a hectic three nights in Bangkok, missed our train to Kanchanaburi however, managed to get the coach. Once we reached the bus station we called the Oriental Kwai and they sent someone to come pick us up - brilliant!

We really weren't sure what to expect, I had told my friends about the reviews and the pictures, but in reality, they did not do the place justice. It is amazing.

Once we arrived we were warmly welcomed, spent time around the resort and organised some day trips out - I highly recommend the packages as they are amazing, Elephant Trekking, Bamboo rafting, The Bridge over the River Kwai, Death Valley, Tiger Temple - truly amazing!

The staff were extermely friendly and always had a smile for us. We played badmington, dipped in the pool and even managed to get the owners to get a 'pool ball' from their children for us (I have a package on route to you for this!).

All in all it was such a perfect stay, very relaxing and next time we come to Thailand we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gurp_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

This hotel is the best kept secret in Kanchanaburi! We left the hustle, dirt, and crowds of Kanchanaburi behind and landed in an oasis. The hotel is located on the Kwai River, and consists of small and beautifully furnished cottages. It's a little piece of heaven! We spent an afternoon at a neighboring spa, amazing. Since there isn't a town nearby, we relied on the hotel's restaurant. Thankfully, the food was delicious. If you take a tour of the area, the tour company will pick you up and bring you back. The rest of the time, this is the place to relax and rejuvenate.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCTedUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
6.1 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,026 reviews
5.4 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
338 reviews
6.0 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
167 reviews
7.1 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#6 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
371 reviews
8.4 mi away
X2 River Kwai Resort
X2 River Kwai Resort
#5 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Kwai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Kwai Resort

Address: 194/5 Moo 1 | Ladya Subdistrict, Kanchanaburi 71190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $48 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and peaceful resort at the famous River Kwai, centrally located at only 15 min. drive from Kanchanaburi downtown and on the way to sights as Erawan waterfalls, Elephants world & Hellfire pass. The 12 cottages are spread throughout a teak forest and beautiful tropical garden. The cottages have all facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible and are designed in a warm Thai style. The resort has a cozy restaurant on site that overlooks the River Kwai and in the garden you'll find a lovely swimming pool. Tour, local taxi and transfer service available. Massage facility available at Jay's Spa and free fitness room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oriental Kwai Hotel Kanchanaburi
Hotel Oriental Kwai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing