We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanchanaburi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oriental Kwai Resort
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 17, 2011

It was almost a year ago we ended up in Oriental Kwai after the Icelandic Volcano forced us to stay in Thailand one extra week. However it turned out to be one great week! We booked the beatiful family bungalow by the river, then we went out rafting which was great fun (if you have the stamina). I also fully recommend to book a taxi and go to the seven steps waterfall (preferably early in the morning), it is amazing.

The hotel was easily the best I visited in Thailand and the surroundings are beautiful, please note that this is a small family hotel and not a huge Sheraton.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    45
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
334
363
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed in the family room in January. We enjoyed all aspects of the resort. After visiting the amazing local attractions until late afternoon we where happy to laze by the pool & then eat in.The staff never asked for your name or room number when ordering drinks by the pool, but clearly they new as at the end of dinner the bill would include any orders thru the day, what a great system. The resort ticked all the right boxes, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnHolidays247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

A perfect getaway for couples or families who love nature. I was impressed by a dozen of bungalows with tropical gardens and teak forest on the banks of river Kwai. My girl friend really loves the pool and the open air restaurant with great views of the river. Besides, the staffs are friendly and welcoming. They always served with smiles. You can also book daily trips and taxis anytime. Fantastic assortment of food and drinks was available every time. We appreciated it all! A two-day trip was too short with us and next time we think we’ll plan for at least one week in Oriental Kwai.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jansons_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanchanaburi, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed 7 days at Oriental Kwai Resort with our three children aged 1, 7 and 8 years.

It turned out to be the perfect place for us. The owners, Evelyn and Joe, are exceptional good at making you feel at home, and they provide tour information of high quality, which is fundamental, when you are planning a holiday with three children. The staff are in another league compared to what we met other places during our six weeks of vacation. They are attentive in a very discrete way. The food is good, and the banana pancakes with ice and the spring rolls are excellent.

The hotel is placed quite a bit from Kanchanaburi down town. After a few days we began to see this as a strength - more than a weakness. The atmosphere is peaceful, and the views to the river and surrounding mountains are stunning. At the same time you are within half an hour drive of many attractions - elephant camp, temples, tigers etc. If you wish to go to Kanchanaburi town, you can go by long tail boat directly from the pier at the hotel to the River Kwai Bridge (or you can of course take a taxi)

The hotel area is in itself an attraction. The garden is lush and well kept, and the pool is wonderful.

We really felt at home.

Anne Marie and Thomas (Denmark)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas297924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We only stayed here three nights (September 2010) as we were not sure what to expect in Thailand, but we wish we had stayed longer!

We spent a hectic three nights in Bangkok, missed our train to Kanchanaburi however, managed to get the coach. Once we reached the bus station we called the Oriental Kwai and they sent someone to come pick us up - brilliant!

We really weren't sure what to expect, I had told my friends about the reviews and the pictures, but in reality, they did not do the place justice. It is amazing.

Once we arrived we were warmly welcomed, spent time around the resort and organised some day trips out - I highly recommend the packages as they are amazing, Elephant Trekking, Bamboo rafting, The Bridge over the River Kwai, Death Valley, Tiger Temple - truly amazing!

The staff were extermely friendly and always had a smile for us. We played badmington, dipped in the pool and even managed to get the owners to get a 'pool ball' from their children for us (I have a package on route to you for this!).

All in all it was such a perfect stay, very relaxing and next time we come to Thailand we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gurp_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

This hotel is the best kept secret in Kanchanaburi! We left the hustle, dirt, and crowds of Kanchanaburi behind and landed in an oasis. The hotel is located on the Kwai River, and consists of small and beautifully furnished cottages. It's a little piece of heaven! We spent an afternoon at a neighboring spa, amazing. Since there isn't a town nearby, we relied on the hotel's restaurant. Thankfully, the food was delicious. If you take a tour of the area, the tour company will pick you up and bring you back. The rest of the time, this is the place to relax and rejuvenate.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCTedUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed here for the first time between Christmas and New Year. Living in Bangkok we're always looking for somewhere close to escape to and this was perfect. If you can book cottage number 1 - it looks right on the river kwai. A peaceful place, beautiful grounds, lovely cottages. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ehlbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
6.1 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
983 reviews
5.4 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
320 reviews
6.0 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
158 reviews
7.1 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
360 reviews
6.5 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Kwai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Kwai Resort

Property: Oriental Kwai Resort
Address: 194/5 Moo 1 | Ladya Subdistrict, Kanchanaburi 71190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and peaceful resort at the famous River Kwai, centrally located at only 15 min. drive from Kanchanaburi downtown and on the way to sights as Erawan waterfalls, Elephants world & Hellfire pass. The 12 cottages are spread throughout a teak forest and beautiful tropical garden. The cottages have all facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible and are designed in a warm Thai style. The resort has a cozy restaurant on site that overlooks the River Kwai and in the garden you'll find a lovely swimming pool. Tour, local taxi and transfer service available. Massage facility available at Jay's Spa and free fitness room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oriental Kwai Hotel Kanchanaburi
Hotel Oriental Kwai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing