We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanchanaburi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oriental Kwai Resort
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2010

This resort is an oasis in the middle of nowhere, the cottages are well equipped and the resort caters to all needs. Would recommend a long tail boat ride into Kanchanaburi that can be order from reception. Peaceful surroundings, good food , great staff and cheap price. Highly recommend. Family friendly resort, would stay again

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirtelDTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 874 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2010

This resort is an oasis in the middle of nowhere, the cottages are well equipped and the resort caters to all needs.
Would recommend a long tail boat ride into Kanchanaburi that can be order from reception.
Peaceful surroundings, good food , great staff and cheap price.
Highly recommend. Family friendly resort, would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We just returned from a two week trip around Thailand. We stayed at the Oriental Kwai after a couple of days in Bangkok for 4 nights. You can reach Kanchanburi either by train or taxi( train about £4.00 and taxi about £40.00). The Oriental Kwai is in quite a secluded spot but well worth the journey. You are greeted by the staff with a welcome drink and then on check in your luggge is taken to the room.
The bungalows are well set apart from each other and are a very good size. There is plenty of light and facilities are excellent. There is plenty of storage, a fridge, TV and hairdryer. Each bungalow also has it's own porch with seating. All in all the rooms are a perfect base. The whole place has lots of tasteful touches and is really well put together.
The Oriental Kwai has a good sized pool and plenty of chairs/loungers. There are also children's pool toys etc. What we also liked is that the pool area has it'sown toilets and changing room, so you don't need to go back to your room if you need the loo.
The hotel has an excellent chef and food was of an excellent standard. What surprised us is that as the town is a taxi ride away we thought maybe the hotel food would be expensive, as you are a captive audiance so to speak. The food was very reasonable and better than in some expensive Thai places we tried. Service was prompt and attentive without being intrusive. Breakfast was also included in our booking, plenty of choice and veyr good again.
The hotel also offers day trips out that they can book for you. We did the Elephant swimming and the Hellfire Pass day. Both of which were really good. I would especially recommend the Hellfire Pass as it was a moving and informative experience. The staff arrange for a bag of towels to go with you if you are doing a water based activity which again just shows the thoughtfulness of the management.
Try the spa up the road run by the owners friends - well worth a visit and again reasonable.
Overall we thought that Djo and Evelyien have got this place just right. Offered here is luxury and excellent service, all for a very reasonable price. It was by far the best place we stayed during out trip. For a 30 something couple it ticked all the boxes but if your a family you would do well to book as it is child friendly. We would not hesitate to recommend the Oriental Kwai and wish the management all the best for the future and thank them for a memorable trip. It deserves all the excellent tripadvisor press it gets. We could also see why the Oriental Kwai has been awarded two Tripadvisor awards!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayneclive8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

This hotel is situated in a great location right on the River Kwai, 15 minutes drive from Kanchanaburi.

The hosts are very welcoming and offer great advice on what to see and do in the area.
All the staff are friendly and efficient. The food in this place is excellent with a great choice of different types of breakfast (I highly recommend trying the Thai fried rice option) and all the evening meals we had were very tasty. Neither the food nor the drink were too pricey (it makes a change to stay in a hotel where they don't mark the price of the drink up too much!).

The individual villas were a good size but could do with more surface area (i.e table tops) to put things down/ make tea and coffee.

As the TV did not have international channels it was good to be able to borrow DVDs to watch in the evenings and there was a great selection to choose from.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treborvfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Returned to this "Hidden Gem" for 8 nights in February after enjoying our first visit there in November 2009.
From the moment we arrived we could not help but feel completely relaxed in the beautiful tropical gardens with the well equipped bungalows dotted around. It was a pleasure to meet Evelien,Djo,their young children and friendly staff again. They do everything they can to make your stay a memorable one and fully deserve the awards and accolades they receive.
We moved to Samui for the latter part of the holiday, big mistake, more expensive accommodation, but they did not deliver the high standards we enjoyed at OK resort. Hopefully we will be returning again,to OK resort, later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacknam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We chose this resort for the first part of our honeymoon - we stayed for 5 nights in November 2009. This place was simply awesome, by far the best place we've ever been to, and I wish we could have stayed more.

The whole resort is like a park, with the cottages spread through it. It's great to take a walk looking at the tall plants and walk near small fish-ponds. The rooms are very big and clean, and you never miss bottled water (which is on the house). You can borrow DVDs from the resort's library if you're not a fan of Thai-TV :)

The staff pays close attention to details - if you go to the pool before breakfast, they will bring you coffee/tee. They offer you towels if you go in a trip where it's likely to take a bath. When they see you returning, they welcome you and bring you the room key... and so many more. These small details really make you feel welcome.

The food is great. They have a variety of Thai food (from the most spicy - to the non-spicy food which Europeans can eat!), but they also have European food. And the wait time is minimal. When you sit yourself to eat, a waiter immediately comes to bring you the menus and take your order. The food also comes quickly, and everything served has a flower on the side - another great little detail!

Besides the service being excellent, there is also the location. There are loads of trips available, and the resort will give you a catalog where you can chose. In our 6 days stay, we didn't have time to visit everything! You can either take a half-a-day or full-day trips (which include a guide), or plan your own trip. If you want to plan your own, the resort will call you a cab (with pre-negociated pay - so you can't get scammed). The cab drivers are very kind and patient. They will take you to all the objectives you want to see, and wait for you to finish your visit. One driver even took us to an unplanned objective, and didn't ask for any extra fee.

Paying everything is very easy - you pay for all your expenses at the resort in the end! Which is great, since you don't have to carry cash with you all the time. Oh.. and you won't have any trouble making yourself understood at the resort. Evelyn (who is running the place) is European and she speaks great English.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esk7140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

On our arrival we were welcomed by Evelein and her staff, given a lovely glass of lemongrass drink and our bags taken to our room while we checked in. We were then shown to our beautiful room which is one of 12 detached rooms in the complex so no noisy neighbours. The resort is set in a great location on the river kwai about 15 minutes from kanchanaburi. It has beautiful gardens with plenty of seating and sun loungers placed around. The pool area is also stunning. This place works really well as it is a well run friendly family business. Jo and Evelein provide great personal feel at the resort which makes it so welcoming. All the staff are so friendly and helpful. Jo and evelein are also great at advising what tours to do, organising transport and we were even able to hire mopeds at the resort.
We ate at the resort restaurant every night and with food that good there was no need to go elsewhere. Again everything had a personal touch to it. We had an absolutely amazing time here and will definitely return. Thanks again jo and Evelein for everything.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigShow71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
6.1 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,056 reviews
5.4 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
349 reviews
8.4 mi away
X2 River Kwai Resort
X2 River Kwai Resort
#5 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
6.6 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#11 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
168 reviews
7.1 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#6 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Kwai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Kwai Resort

Address: 194/5 Moo 1 | Ladya Subdistrict, Kanchanaburi 71190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $48 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and peaceful resort at the famous River Kwai, centrally located at only 15 min. drive from Kanchanaburi downtown and on the way to sights as Erawan waterfalls, Elephants world & Hellfire pass. The 12 cottages are spread throughout a teak forest and beautiful tropical garden. The cottages have all facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible and are designed in a warm Thai style. The resort has a cozy restaurant on site that overlooks the River Kwai and in the garden you'll find a lovely swimming pool. Tour, local taxi and transfer service available. Massage facility available at Jay's Spa and free fitness room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oriental Kwai Hotel Kanchanaburi
Hotel Oriental Kwai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing