We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oriental Kwai Resort
Nearby Hotels
$59
$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Guesthouse(Kanchanaburi)
$10
$9
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Good Times Resort(Kanchanaburi)
$40
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$62
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$50
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bamboo House(Kanchanaburi)(Great Value!)
$26
$8
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tara Bed & Breakfast(Kanchanaburi)(Great Value!)
$19
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Boutique Raft Resort(Kanchanaburi)
$59
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
X2 River Kwai Resort(Kanchanaburi)
$172
$145
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (932)
Filter reviews
932 results
Traveler rating
879
46
5
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
879
46
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesfamily cottagedutch coupleowners and staffthe riverlong tail boathellfire passrotiday triperawan fallsstayed longerbanana pancakeslovely poolthree nightsbangkok airportkanchanaburi areaaway from the hustle and bustle
Filter
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 932 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

This is simply a beautiful boutique resort. It has 12 bungalows in lush tropical gardens. We were in cottage no.1 which directly overlooked the river kwai. The rooms were impeccably clean, spacious, modern thai style. Just lovely to stay in. All the staff were very friendly and did their utmost to provide us with everything we needed. Evelyn the owner was fantastic. She gave us alot of information on where to go and what to do. Even the resort dog became our adopted pet! Our only regret was that we didn't stay long enough. The resort is approximately 20 min out of town so you will need to catch a taxi in. Would highly recommend staying at least 3 full days here doing Hellfirepass Memorial and a waterfall visit one day, Kanchanaburi War Cemetery, Thai Burma railway museum and town visit the next. Although we did not do it, we wish we had done the day visit to the local elephant camp. Everyone raved about it. We chose a commercial elephant trek company and were saddened to see the elephants chained up. Apart from this, we loved Kanchanaburi and the Oriental Kwai was the perfect place to come back to in the afternoon for a swim, have a few drinks and a beautiful meal at night. Thanks to all at the Oriental Kwai!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey-11-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, I definitely wish we could have stayed longer. Where to start reviewing this amazing place? When something is marked as number one on trip advisor, it's always for a good reason. From the moment we were welcomed on the steps of the resort to the moment we left, the staff were most professional, accommodating, smiling, and just all round brilliant. We arrived Wednesday 18th of September, and allocated room number six. This has a view of the lush gardens. The room was spotlessly clean and very well appointed. The attention to detail here in the room and throughout the whole resort give such a wonderful feeling to guests. There are opportunities to walk to other places or hire bikes, but we decided to spend the time in the resort as it was so good. The breakfast lunch and dinner we had across the two days were of excellent standard. Being only able to book direct with this hotel meant that prices are kept low, and built up the personal rapport between guest and owner from the first instance. A welcome change !!!
We would without doubt, recommend this is a great place to chill out for as many days as you can get to spent in two days just never seemed to be enough. We plan to return soon

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianbeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the oriental kwai for 4 nights back in June. We were delighted to see that it is quite an intimate setting, with i think no more than 12 bungalows. The restaurant has a beautiful view of the river, and the rooms are stunning. What we appreciated more than anything with this place is their attention to every little detail. The decor in the rooms, the gardening, the decorations, the service, it is all perfection. We happened to arrive on my birthday, and within half an hour of checking in, a huge bouquet of flowers had appeared in our room with a note from the owners. How thoughtful and kind. They also gave us a lot of information and tips about the area, and trusted us with their own motorbikes to explore. I would completely recommend this resort, and we have already booked to come back again in september with another family member since we were so impressed. My partner and I are travelling the world for a year, and this has been the best so far. In 3 months we have stayed in over 35 hotels!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nikkienooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here for the 2nd time.
Wish I could have stayed here longer than 3 nights.
Bungalows are nice and clean.
Choice and variety of food and drinks are more than sufficient.
The quality, taste and presentation of, especially, the Thai food is very good.
But most of all, the friendliness, service and attention of all staff is superb.

Via the resort, you can easily book all the trips and excursions in the area.

If you are travelling in the Kanchanaburi area and are looking for a place to stay, I very much recommend you to book this resort.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank JanWillem69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, wish it was 30. Beautiful gardens, bungalows and restaurant overlooking the river. Service is outstanding, all the staff are happy and helpful. It is 15 minutes out of town but a taxi (organised by the hotel) is only 200B and part of the resort's charm is the peaceful feel of it. Lovely pool and the food is great. We would definitely stay again if we came back to Kanchanaburi.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews