We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute bliss!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanchanaburi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oriental Kwai Resort
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Unfortunately we only could stay for one night at the Oriental Kwai Resort on our short trip to Kanchanaburi. This place far exceeded our expectations and was the best hotel on our 3 week trip in Thailand. The atmosphere cannot be beat with beautiful grounds set at the foot of the river. Our cottage had an amazing, peaceful view. The breakfast overlooking the river was delicious and the service was second to none. I would definitely recommend a stay here if you are planning a trip to this area of Thailand.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luv2getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 867 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome. A lovely resort, right by the river, a little way out of town, but nice and quiet. Beautifully furnished cottages in immaculately kept gardens. Excellent breakfasts, delicious lunches and dinners. Trips were arranged seamlessly, and at very good prices. Would love to return. Thank you Evelien for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DinahandRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I can say only that Oriental Kwai better than 5 stars from reviews that people gave, better than all luxus hotel as many people dream for, great place for heart and mind and setted in a peaceful location ever! This small hotel that located away from Kanchanaburi city, Hotel that good taste Thai Style full furnished and exellent garden planed, I was booked because lot of great reviews here and 8 nights I was there with my husband...unbeleiveable, cant describe all how much I feel but Its was beyond GREAT. Fora couple, for family or single traveller... just perfect for all of you. Nice owner as Evelin and Jo with their lovely full of "heart work and serviced" that you will never get from anothers hotel but here they served us endless great service. Taxi driver of the hotel Mr.Pisit ( hopefully I can remember correct name ) is one of the best taxi ever since 6 years long of my Thailand travelling life! Resonable prise of hotel room, top service, lot of smile from co worker, also lovely dogs that belonging to hotel impressed me deeply. I can confirm again and again that not much place in the world can give you a peaceful, can be full of relax, but here is one of not much hotel can pleasure your holiday can be "meanful holiday" really! I promised myself to be there again soon.

Room Tip: Cottage number 4 in the middle of beautyful garden surrounded by good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Behambiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Wonderful resort - from the welcome, to the beautiful spacious rooms, to the excellent staff and the peaceful, gorgeous gardens and pool - I can not fault this resort. The owners and staff take care of every request in record time, the food is wonderful and the setting is superb. Stayed here with my elderly parents and my 3 children (all under 12) and every one of us did not want to leave :)))
Totally agree with review by Rhonda & Bossette & Claudia & ...

Room Tip: Beds are usual firm mattress like most Thai beds, but owners added softer bedding to Grandma's b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our second visit to the Oriental Kwai in six months - the place is definitely addictive. The peace and tranquility are second to none, the staff amazing and the hosts Evelein and Djo simply wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble - the staff seem to know exactly what you want (sometimes before you've even realised!!!!) The cottages and the resort so picturesque and ideally situated outside Kanchanaburi. If you want a relaxing break, with a wealth of attractions close at hand, being looked after by amazing people, then this is the resort for you. We are making our plans to return!!!

Room Tip: River cottage 1 or 2 have views over the River Kwai
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RhondaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2012. It is a little out of town but is perfect if you are after a bit of peace and quiet and don't mind catching transport into the main town.

The resort is well managed by Djo and Evelien. The rooms are clean and spacious and the grounds are lovely. Food is available from the restaurant overlooking the river and breakfast came from a menu rather than the standard buffet choices which was a nice change.

Evelien pointed us in the right direction for markets and a restaurant in town and Djo helped plan some tours and transport. Our day trips were perfect for what we wanted - we saw what we wanted to see without being overly rushed.

TIP - ask Evelien or Djo to organise a longtail to take you down the river to the Bridge. Although more expensive than catching a taxi into town it was well worth it.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Bossette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wonderful cottages, wonderful garden, wonderful food!
You should book before getting there.




Wonderful cottages, wonderful garden, wonderful food!
You should book before getting there.

Wonderful cottages, wonderful garden, wonderful food!
You should book before getting there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
6.1 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,037 reviews
5.4 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
339 reviews
6.0 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
168 reviews
8.4 mi away
X2 River Kwai Resort
X2 River Kwai Resort
#6 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
109 reviews
7.1 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Kwai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Kwai Resort

Address: 194/5 Moo 1 | Ladya Subdistrict, Kanchanaburi 71190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#1 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $48 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and peaceful resort at the famous River Kwai, centrally located at only 15 min. drive from Kanchanaburi downtown and on the way to sights as Erawan waterfalls, Elephants world & Hellfire pass. The 12 cottages are spread throughout a teak forest and beautiful tropical garden. The cottages have all facilities to make your stay as comfortable as possible and are designed in a warm Thai style. The resort has a cozy restaurant on site that overlooks the River Kwai and in the garden you'll find a lovely swimming pool. Tour, local taxi and transfer service available. Massage facility available at Jay's Spa and free fitness room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oriental Kwai Hotel Kanchanaburi
Hotel Oriental Kwai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing