We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better but is ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
463 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Could be better but is ok.”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night & I was quite glad we weren't there longer, although it was ok.
Cons - there is nothing anywhere near it so you really have to eat there. The food was very good, but UK prices - which is ridiculous in Thailand.
There is NO ROOM SAFE, which given a previous review I wasn't happy about - we kept our cases locked.
The room was a bit tatty round the edges, especially in the bathroom, & the hot water ran out in the morning.
We didn't use the spa as it was the most expensive we came across, but it looked a lovely environment.
Pro's - beautiful grounds & pool. The bar/restaurant & the riverside bar area are lovely - but you will need mossie deterrent.
The bed was hard, but we found it surprisingly comfy - we slept like logs.
Check in/out could have been better - we had asked them to split the evenings bar bill between 3 rooms - but on check out we found it all on our bill. Luckily the other 2 couples were still there!
Honestly - I wouldn't go back, but it was ok for 1 night.

Room Tip: Get a 1st floor room for added security & reduced bugs - but no lifts that we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducatibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    191
    64
    15
    5
See reviews for
119
162
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed 21 march 2012 on our way through after visitting the bridge and the cemetry. The hotel looks and is very pretty located by the river with a fantastic pool and well kept gardens. A very pleasant stay. Our only gripe was the beds which were so hard you may as well have slept on the floor. We ate in their restaurant and the food was good and a nice variety of thai and western dishes. It was a little expensive in comparison and they were in a rush to kick us out of the restaurant at 10pm closing time. The bar is part of the restaurant so if you want a drink after this time then you are unlikely to get one. Overall a very pleasant stay although it was also underoccupied - only our group of 12 and possibly 6 others. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This place could be remarkable just from the views and pool alone, but everything they do is incompetent. They desperately need new management to fix things. I'll just list a few: [1] everyone who stays there is foreign, their common language is English, but the staff doesn't. You can't communicate with them and they can't take orders correctly. And it is IMPOSSIBLE to get them to bring everyone's dinner at the same time no matter how much you beg. [2] there is no hot water, it is barely tepid. They use the same electric instant hot water system like everyone does in Thailand, but here one device serves several rooms an you can't get to it to adjust the temperature. [3] the hotel advertises free internet but it does not work. You know it is a constant problem because they give you a print-out of how to reset your PPoE addresses, but you shouldn't have to do that and it doesn't solve the problem anyway. The manager attempted to reset my Apple Mac and totally screwed it up. [4] there were never enough pool towels. [5] the pool has a teak deck but they haven't taken care of it so that it is a "splinter waiting to happen" if you walk on it.

They could get twice as much a day fo the place f they simply changed management and addressed their customer-care issues. Until they do I would go elsewhere.In fact, we checked out after two days and went into town to the U Inchantree. a place that cost more than twice as much but where they actually knew how to take care of their guests.

Room Tip: The best way to get a good room and have a good experience is to go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank overbid2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Room is quite comfortable. Nice river view of river. The garden and pool are the best of the hotel.
Breakfast line was ok.

Room Tip: Upstair have private balcony. Downstairs has no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChartayaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

On 27th January 2012 I was staying at this resort for a company function. Both a colleague and I had our rooms robbed while we were there. He lost a large sum of money in foreign currency I lost my money and my sapphire and diamond jewellery. The thief went through my purse and selected the currency they wanted.My colleague and I were each left with HKD 20. My colleague and I were staying at opposite ends of the resort. The police were involved and the hotel staff were helpful. I am not saying do not go but be aware that the detective said that door and balcony locks were of poor standard, the rooms do not have a safe so you will need to use the hotel reception safe.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Very nice hotel on the river. Grounds well kept and rooms neat and tidy. Scenic pool over looking the river. Whilst I did not use the spa, my travelling companions did and they were very happy with the service and the price (I think a little expensive but they were happy). The food is ok to good for some dishes. Prices for food are a little rich for the quality and the location, prices are nearly on par with Bangkok 4 to 5 star hotels. Rooms are tidy, little sparse but fine. We paid THB 1,750 per night for deluxe rooms, price not the cheapest for what you get but nice all the same. Obviously a popular hotel so they can charge a little more. Staff were very nice and helpful. We were there just for visiting the Kanchanaburi area so spent little time at the hotel other than sleeping and eating of an evening. Did not find too much close outside of the hotel but we did not go looking to far. If you want alternatives for eating of an evening then better to stay a little closer to the town of Kanchanaburi. The hotel is 20 or so minutes out of town. This is nice hotel and I would go back and spend a few days just relaxing at the hotel and not go anywhere.

There is only one English channel on the in-house television and this is a movie channel. I personally like to see the news in the morning from around the world so I did miss this at the hotel.

We decided to travel by the train from BKK, this proved to be a task to find the train to Kanchanaburi and we missed the departure and took a taxi to Nathom Pathom, THB 600 to get there. The train was 3rd class but was fine and you travel with locals and you can purchase food and drinks from vendors on the train. Train takes a little over 3 hours to get to Kanchanaburi.

At the station we got a local taxi to the hotel just THB 200. Through this driver we organised a local guy to take us to the tourist spots over two days. We had the driver for over 9 hours each day in a comfortable (new) vehicle (Camry first day and Fortunner second day) cost split between the three of us was only THB 1,900 per day. Driver was very safe and polite, his English was also ok so we could communicate. He did not mind if we lingered a little longer at one place than we had said, even when we changed the order of visiting he was ok with this also. Very helpful and accommodating. I would be happy to pass on his details if anyone would like to contact him.

Lots to see in Kanchanaburi..Tiger Temple..Hell Fire Pass..Erawan Falls..Bridge...Markets at Kanchanaburi...and lots more.

We were going to take the train back but changed this as we wanted to spend a little more time in the town of Kanchanaburi and the train was leaving at 2:45pm. Instead there are air conditioned buses back to Bangkok and they are very cheap THB 99, they said it would take two hours we found it was more like 2 hours and 45 minutes. The bus station is near to Pink Lao which is on the northern side of Bangkok. We arrived back on a Friday night so traffic was bad, it took another taxi ride to get back to Sukhumvit area (but only THB 160). The bus station is next to a shopping centre so there are plenty of local buses and taxis.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MG22Bangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanchanaburi, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Very nice hotel, good staff, nice atmosphere,.
Very real.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oracha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
3.2 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
983 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#3 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
320 reviews
3.1 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#8 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
158 reviews
3.6 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
218 reviews
4.1 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#5 of 78 in Kanchanaburi
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa

Property: Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Address: 88 Moo 2 Kangsean,Kanchanaburi-Saiyok Road, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#3 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal River Kwai Resort And Spa
Royal River Kwai Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing