We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel by the river out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2011

hotel is locate by the river with nice garden and pool. Food is too expensive and not well cook. its ok if you have your own car then you can find many nicer restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 415 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2011

I stayed here as for one night as part of a cycling tour from Chiang Mai to Bangkok with SPICEROADS.
The hotel was evidently a popular with the business cleintele' as there were lots of business/professional staying at the hotel and the breakfast area was awash with suited residents. That said breakfast was good, and the eggs were cooked as you like them, with pastries for the continental lovers there was also traditional thai breakfast fairings.
The rooms were clean and well presented, however the bathroom was lacking some shelf space for your toiletries. The balcony of my twin room looked out over the pool area, which itself was plesant.
There is a quiet, well lit promenade at the back of the hotel that stretches along the river which is nice for a stroll. There are lots of mosquitos so beware.
Our small cycle group ate at the restaurant down by the river, where the staff were exceptional and very attentive. The food was also very delicious.
Free wi-fi for those with smartphones or laptops, as with all the hotels in Thailand.
We didnt travel out of the hotel so I could not comment on its proximity to the nearest town, but I believe it was 5km down the road..
All in all a pleasant stay at this hotel.
The only comment I could make about value for money is that I believe the hotel prices are much cheaper on Agodo, at a sminch of £38 a night.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicki1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The hotel is located in a calm stretch of the river, with well manicured gardens and a nice river-front promenade. Standard rooms are simple and clean. Indeed, value for money.

The breakfast is clearly focused on the Thai public, with lots of Thai food. There were only a few items that a foreigner would expect in an buffet breakfast.

Some negative points: shower was lukewarm to cold, bed-sheets and towels were not so new and had stains, our bathroom had a smelly water leakage, reception staff were confused and not so helpful.

The location is good if you have a car. The hotel is a few kilometers away from the touristy down-town (River Kwai Bridge area) and in the route to the main touristic attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dayyan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel in early November.
The rooms were a nice size.
Food was good, lots of choice for the buffet breakfast and dinner was also nice.
The only downsides:
our shower was cold, occasionally it reached luke warm but speaking to friends their room on the other side of the complex always had a hot shower.
The english spoken at reception is extremely limited and it is hard to ask for anything.
Taxi to town will cost 200 Baht (about £4)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muzzleflash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Rooms are clean and tidy and its a beautiful resort. The pool is lovely. Just a bit too far away from everything. Apart from that it was a nice place to stay :)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

we were a group of tourists stayed at the Royal River Kwaii Hotel and Spa in October 2011 and stayed there for 03 nights. at the time of check out, they charged Bahtt 150.- for a small hand towel used by one of our friends saying it was dirty. They had used it to wipe the hand after eating some fruits and for that charging 150 Baht was unreasonable. There was no choice but to pay for it. Another room was told to pay for mineral water but they showed that they brought enough mineral water with them and did not use the Mineral water from the Mini Bar. so be careful at the time of check out. The Hotel was nice, the towels in the room was dirty and very old. so better take your own towels! Food is too expensive but there is little choice left as the closest restaurant must be at least 7 kms from the Hotel.
a small sandwich with just 02 slices of bread and a piece of ham and little cheese costs Baht 190.- which was very very very expensive for a 3 star Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here as part of a cycling trip round central Thailand with a group of friends.
Nice setting on the bank of the River Kwai. Lots of different outdoor areas with an area down by the river, seperate pool area and restaraunt/bar up towards the reception area.

Staff were great and allowed us to stay up quite late having a few quite drinks in the outdoor bar (we were not being noisy). Food in the restaraunt was also excellent.

Great clean and tidy rooms with plenty of space and medium size balcony.

Nice spa setup. Didn't have a full massage myself, but some the others did and said it was good.

Was the best of 5 places we during our trip (and none were bad)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubesNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
3.2 mi away
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
U Inchantree Kanchanaburi
#2 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
1,026 reviews
3.1 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
3.6 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Dheva Mantra Resort
Dheva Mantra Resort
#4 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
338 reviews
3.6 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#11 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
224 reviews
4.1 mi away
Thai Garden Inn
Thai Garden Inn
#6 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa

Address: 88 Moo 2 Kangsean,Kanchanaburi-Saiyok Road, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#2 Spa Hotel in Kanchanaburi
#8 Best Value Hotel in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $48 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal River Kwai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal River Kwai Resort And Spa
Royal River Kwai Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing