We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Star Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Kanchanaburi
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
M.K. Hotel(Kanchanaburi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Thai Garden Inn(Kanchanaburi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
River Guest House(Kanchanaburi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Bamboo House(Kanchanaburi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siamburi Resort(Kanchanaburi)
View Hotel
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveler rating
79
120
48
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
120
48
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson stiltsthe riverguesthouse staffnice bungalowsnight markettwin bed roomtuk tuk driverfree wifimain buildingcable tvrooms are basictrain stationhot showerbluestarbahtfanmosquitoes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 271 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

If you are a solo backpacker and looking for cheap budget accommodation then log cabins are the place. They do have other accommodation options if you are looking for something more than a basic fan room with attached bathroom (cold showers) Close to the backpacker ghetto and yet a bit inside from the main street its a quiet place. They have log cabins built over water and marshes. You might expect lots of mosquitos and insects but not as many as you expect if you keep the door of your room closed after the sunset. If you do not need/care about/ can put up with
- room service or changing of sheets/towels
- wifi in your room (It is available in the reception area)
- croaking of frogs and all the insect sound's while you sleep
- feel that a mild earthquake has struck if you someone walks a bit hard on the wooden bridge to the log cabins
then you won't be disappointed.
It is not a great place but not bad either. For me it had everything I needed and nothing I didn't so pretty good deal for 200B,

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venkat Ganesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

This place is lovely, the rooms are inside log cabin style and are situated over water. There are fewer bugs than you'd expect, there are also nets on the window to keep them out but make sure you take bug spray.

Wifi works well but is available in reception only. The owners are very friendly and speak enough English to help you with your many questions.

Overall lovely place that shouldn't be missed.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

A stunning wee gem in the centre of Kanchanaburi, only 550THB per night for a spacious over water log cabin.
Its like stepping into another world, totally peaceful and tranquil. Although it is no the river, it is not directly on the river Kwai, rather a smaller river that runs off the river kwai, this is a bonus as you don't have the disturbance of the noisy boats that run up and down the river constantly.

Clean rooms, pleasant staff and free wifi in the lobby.

Room Tip: Request the cabins at the bottom with an unblocked view over the river.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank on_da_edge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

we stayed here for 1 night, everything was average, there were no WOW factors. Shower was cold, the bathroom was all worn out. No wifi in room, but is available in the court yard. Lots of mosquitos while I was using the internet sitting there.

But all we want was just a bed to sleep over night so we weren't too worry.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saleigh1233211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had the room for 450 baht. This was a really nice bungalow. It was clean and looked nice. Nice beds. Off course there where musquitos because the guesthouse is near the river. But in the bungalow there where none. The staff was really nice and they can tell you where to go and what the best way is. And also the food is nice.
Just across the street is also a nice restaurant.

Room Tip: The cheapest ones are always less nicer. But i reccomend the middle ones.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews