We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointing”
Review of Sam's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sam's Guesthouse
Ranked #42 of 106 Kanchanaburi B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Disappointed by this place. They didn't have our booking when we arrived (even though we booked over a week in advance) so we got a twin room rather than a double. It didn't have a view of any kind and was in more of a swamp than the river. The kids, dogs and lack of bedding were all a bit of an annoyance. You just felt that you were an intruder in someone else's home, rather than a guest. Think we will stick to our usual haunt next time we are in Kanchanaburi (unfortunately it was fully booked for New Year)

Room Tip: Book one of the top 5 on tripadvisor NOT this place!
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theshawsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Sam's Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 109 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2011

We have booked a bungalow room for three people through Agoda. On arrival the reception, women couldn't understand much English and Thai gave us a room with one bed and a mat. I said we booked a room for three adults, twin beds with one extra bed. Later on we met the owner and he told us the mat is supposed for a child only, we should book the room on his website as we can book room with three beds. He run this place for ten years, we were the first people who complaint ed about the mat. Thai people are easy going....people with too much complaints no good, he felt very unhappy and headache.... What you pay is what you get, if we pay VIP price, we get VIP service. I pointed to him that what we have booked was one room for three people, adults, which included an extra BED, not a mat on the floor. He said there's nothing he could do on Agoda website, we could pay extra 300 bahts for a 3 beds room. He couldn't make money and we're not logic to criticise that.

The guesthouse was surrounded by over-grown weeds or plants, the room itself was tiny even for two people, it's dark and the bamboo wall were covered with stains, the bathroom was very run down need upgrading, water pressure was slow, water became lukewarm once when it was turned up. The worst part was the air con, it was set to (or maybe because it was too old) a power saving mode, so it turned on and turned off constantly, each time it created a big noise. At the end we had to turn it off in order to stop the noise. It was the worst night we had for the ten days in Thailand( we stayed at six places). Terrible experience!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rover_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I stayed at Sam's for a few days while in Kanchanaburi. It's nothing above basic but I knew that before arriving. Overall it was pretty clean and quiet, nice little stream that ran through the place. The food was good and reasonably priced and the rooms were enough for a good night's sleep. I stayed in an air con room and a fan room and both were ok if you don't mind sharing with geckos. I think they're cute. Staff spoke workable English and were helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joblogs83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

Location is fine, but the rooms NOT located on the water (i.e. in the wing called "AIR") are horrendous little hovels. Better to get a bungalow on the water, but be forewarned - though there are bathtubs in those, if you want to shower in them, the hose for the water is only long enough to reach your head if you're kneeling. Also, be sure to plug the tub's drain at night because it opens onto the river/swamp and the mosquitos that live on the water can come straight through.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snuffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2006

I initially chose this place, due to a family room for 4 on the website. But when we arrived, the small bungalow for 4 was way TOO small, but luckily they were willing to give us 2 bungalows for the same price.

Part of me really liked this place. The wooden huts over the swamp looked magical in the photos and the reviews I found were ok. But you get what you pay for - and this was a very cheap/ backpackers place = sheets with tears, and the creatures living in the ceiling caused some unwelcome rocking! :0. (dont ask).

For 2 nights it suited us just fine. The location was brilliant - close to food, massage, night markets! and not too far from the bridge. And close to all companies offering tours (we recommend Good Times).

ps dont eat in the restaurant. go out for breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DorineLstmnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeulandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.0 mi away
Canaan Guesthouse
Canaan Guesthouse
#3 of 106 in Kanchanaburi
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pong Phen Guesthouse and Bungalows
0.0 mi away
Sugar Cane Guest House 1
Sugar Cane Guest House 1
#20 of 106 in Kanchanaburi
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tara Bed & Breakfast
Tara Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 106 in Kanchanaburi
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
P and P Place
P and P Place
#13 of 106 in Kanchanaburi
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
D Hostel
D Hostel
#6 of 80 in Kanchanaburi
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Guesthouse

Address: 14/2 Moo 1 | T. Thamakarm, Kanchanaburi 71000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Kanchanaburi
Price Range: $15 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam's Guesthouse Kanchanaburi (west Bangkok), Thailand. Located in Kanchanaburi province 120 kms west of Bangkok. Very beautifully set up wood bungalow with A/C and hot water next to the River Kwai and 2 kms from the River Kwai bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sam's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sam`s Guesthouse Hotel Kanchanaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing