We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Cane Guest House 2
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Myself and my partner (26 and 29) stayed at Sugar cane 2 for about a week. It is a perfect inbetween location taking only a 5/10 min walk in either direction, one to the bridge and one to the night life.

You can chose a cheap 200baht option which is a small room but still about 10 steps to a shared decking on the river or you can pay 550baht for the floating rooms which are a great size and you have own balcony on river.

One staff member spoke very good English and despite the others having only menu basic they were all very helpful.

Please be aware that there are loads of geckos so if you are really scared of them do not stay in the floating ones. That said also most of the negative comments regarding this place are due to the fact that they are city people, you are more in country here.

The only downside which is very little is that the staff are almost too relaxed, there is no room clean (not that you need it if your a normal human being), we looked at the cheaper room which needed some TLC so stayed on river room, the last two nights a family that occupied two if the rooms either side of us, who were friends of the staff were very noisy and amplified due to thin walls.

The bed was hard (personal opinion) and pillow flat but asked for another which they gave without hesitation.

All in all a good stay. If your not fussed about staying in a floating room check out the bigger resort next door, not sure on price but they have a pool table and pool if your more a stay at home kinda person :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joandrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 74 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

Originally planned to stay two nights but ultimately went back to Bangkok early instead. I just wasn't impressed with Kanchanaburi in general and this hotel fit right in with that over all sense of 'eh' (and a very strong distaste for the tourist area around the Death Railway/Bridge on the River Kwai).

Good Points:
- Sugar Cane 2 is on the river, and the food was fine. I enjoyed the vegetable Panang curry but it needed more hearty vegetables, maybe a sweet potato or pumpkin.
- The reception staff was nice. One man spoke English well enough to help me order a mini-van back to Bangkok (200bt to Mo Chit, which may or may not have been 50b too much) (he might have spoken more English, I didn't really try to ask him anything else).

Bad Points:
- Bring a towel (not provided) and probably your own sheets. There were small ants or some kind of similar bug on the bed and made me feel like ants or spiders were crawling on me all night. There weren't that many, so I doubt there were actual bugs crawling on me (no bug bites when I woke up) but seeing them made it hard not to imagine. There were spider webs hanging from the curtains to the light fixture, which didn't help.
- The light didn't always work. I think it had problems working when the fan was on high. I just switched everything off, waited a minute, and tried again and then it worked, but still...
- The location isn't great. It is about 10-15 minutes from the Bridge but that also means it is about 25 minutes from the train station. The bus station is a 10-15 minute tuktuk ride so not sure if it is walkable. It is just far enough from all of the other restaurants and bars that it seems inconvenient even though it really isn't actually far at all. Sugar Cane 1 is much more in the thick of things (closer to restaurants and bars and the stations) and isn't 100m down a dirt road towards the river like Sugar Cane 2.
- Bring your own bug spray because they won't provide any for when you're sitting at the patio restaurant. The setting was fairly lovely but I can imagine it would be terrible during rainy season (mosquito season).
- There was thumping distant music playing nearly all night (or at least until about midnight when I finally fell asleep). No idea where it is coming from and all you can hear is the bass.

Overall, cheap and can be booked on agoda.com so that's a huge plus but otherwise, I wouldn't stay there again unless all of the other 250b guesthouses are booked full.

Room Tip: There are only two actual rooms on rafts on the river so don't get fooled by other posts/descrip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atestafl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

All ages love this place. Calm and nice. Very affordable price. Good staff. If you go to Kanchanabury this is one of the best places to stay. You can choose very low priced eco-room or slightly high floating apartment. Food is available at affordable prices. Sugar Cane 1 and 2 are managed by the same party.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longleg-UW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

So cheap and so lovely. We travel full time with the kids and sugar cane became our home in Kanchanaburi. Perfect riverside guest house, nice restaurant, good wifi, simple rooms but a paradise setting. Will be back next time we're in Thailand.
Alyson World Travel Family

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lost66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

After staying in a sub-par hostel our first night in Kanchanaburi, Sugar Cane was an excellent find. For only slightly more than our previous hostel, we had a spectacular floating room on the River Kwai! The room was cheap, but still managed to come with a comfortable bed and a modern shower. In addition to the rooms on the river, there was a floating dock with chairs and tables to relax. Sugar Cane has a cafe overlooking the river as well; I still don't know which was nicer, watching the sun set while sipping a pineapple shake in the cafe or seeing the river at dawn from the front door of the bungalow. Definitely staying here our next time in Kanchanaburi!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlnAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

For such a small price, you can have a private floating room on the river Kwai! What more could you ask for really! It even comes with air conditioning and your own back veranda, from which you get an amazing sunset and views of the river and some monuments further downstream. Despite the amenities not being modern, it was the most amazing place we stayed in Asia simply for the views. Our cabin was one of the furthest out into the water, so our view wasn't blocked by other cabins. I definitely intend to stay here again on my next visit to kanchanaburi

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateV662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I cannot remember every staying somewhere so unique, awe inspiring, and relaxing as this hotel. We stayed on one of the floating bungalows one night and then in one of the lodges the second. The rooms are typical of Thailand; the toilets were pretty poor - although Thai piping is smaller than Western piping anyway so this is expected - and the rooms were simple. Nothing fancy, just plain value.

You are paying for an experience, not a luxury apartment. If you travel to Thailand for cheap luxury hotels, jacuzzi spa's, and fine dining, then stay in Bangkok or travel down to Phucket. You might be forgoing the true culture and spirit of Thailand, but if that's what your about then go elsewhere (if that is you then I truly pity you). I however am looking to experience true Thailand; quirky and simple.

That epitomises this hotel; quirky and simple. The rooms aren't spotless, the beds don't feature Egyptian cotton, the rooms are not huge, but it is cheap, certainly cheerful, and the food is well cooked and presented to you by typically friendly Thai owners.

Please visit this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the bungalows. If you don't mind lizards (they generally stay out of the rooms and on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alec j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanchanaburi hotels
0.9 mi away
Bamboo House
Bamboo House
#10 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
169 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hop Inn Kanchanaburi
Hop Inn Kanchanaburi
#13 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
72 reviews
1 mi away
River Kwai Bridge Resort
River Kwai Bridge Resort
#9 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
River Kwai Hotel
River Kwai Hotel
#43 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
271 reviews
1.5 mi away
Felix River Kwai Resort - Kanchanaburi
1.7 mi away
Kasem Island Resort
Kasem Island Resort
#17 of 81 in Kanchanaburi
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Cane Guest House 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Cane Guest House 2

Address: 7 Soi Cambodia, Kanchanaburi, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Kanchanaburi Province > Kanchanaburi
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in Kanchanaburi
Number of rooms: 159
Also Known As:
Sugar Cane Guest House 2 Hotel Kanchanaburi
Sugar Cane Hotel 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing